We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved St. George Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added St. George Inn to your Saves list
St. George Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 St George St 101, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved St. George Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We arrived on a Monday afternoon at 3, we had already read how to do the drop off for the luggage and check in, which was to park on the yellow lines outside of the hotel registration. Immediately someone was outside to check us in and take our bags, they also offered to drop the car off for us at the parking garage but I preferred to take it myself.The hotel covers the cost of the garage so you do not have to pay for the parking. Once you come back from the parking garage, which is exactly one block from the hotel, you find that your bags are already in your room and one of the hotel employees give you a map and takes you to your room. I loved how the rooms are spread around over all the shops. All rooms except the ones on the third floor lead directly to a balcony, the ones on the third floor lead to a hallway and then you can walk out to the balcony which is on the second floor. The balcony has tables and some rocking chairs. The weather was beautiful and chilly, so I wanted to leave the windows open to get some fresh air but I discovered that the windows did not have screens so I was unable to leave them open for fear of squirrels and other critters getting into the room. This was my only complaint about the St. George Inn, I love fresh air and the cool weather and could not enjoy it from our room. I loved how the room was set up, it felt like a country inn without having to share space with other guests.The room was a little pricey but it helps if you go in the off season as well as during the week, it was totally worth it being so close to everything. The included continental breakfast was simple but filling and included cold cuts, cheeses, muffins, bagels, coffee and orange juice, a great start to the day before walking everywhere. We left our car in the garage for the entire trip and walked to all attractions. The farthest from St. George in was the Alligator Farm/beaches, and the Winery, I would suggest for these you take your own car or go ahead and get the trolley. We got the trolley in case we got too tired and still mostly only walked. Hotel staff was very knowledgeable and helped us decide on where to dine as well as how to get to attractions quickest. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: If you want a specific view I would ask for it when making the reservation, otherwise you get whatev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    141
    41
    11
    0
See reviews for
153
329
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We loved our one-night stay at the St. George Inn. Stay here, park your car, and walk to everything. Our spacious two-story room included everything we needed for a comfortable stay -- plus a beautiful view of the Castillo de San Marcos across the street. Be prepared for some street noise and the sound of live music, depending on your room's location. In-room Starbucks coffee was a wonderful touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

From my first communication with the St. George Inn I was met with helpful staff who assisted me above and beyond with customer service.

Upon our arrival, the front desk staff immediately welcomed us warmly and offered helpful instructions on parking and unloading.

The staff allowed us an early check-in, which was a huge help for us. They also assisted in carrying up all of our luggage to the room.

The room was so beautiful! Very spacious with lovely views of historic downtown. The bathroom was large with beautiful tile mosaic and a jetted tub.

The bed was large and very cozy. We had access to a mini fridge and even Starbucks coffee packets with the coffee maker.

With every question or request we were met with stellar customer service and flexibility. By far, the best customer service I have ever experienced at a hotel.

This is the perfect getaway spot!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and it didn't disappoint. The staff, to a person, was friendly and very accommodating. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We expected the continental breakfast to be coffee, juice and rolls. It was much more: fruit, breads, bagels, spreads, meats, cheese, etc. It was a "European continental breakfast." The value for the cost was appropriate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is our second visit to the St George Inn. This time was while visiting Flagler with our girls. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating. Super Friendly!! Would highly recommend anyone visiting St Augustine to stay at the St George Inn. Location is wonderful. We'll be back Im sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The staff were ultra friendly and very helpful but I think for what we paid, I was expecting a little more- namely with the breakfast. It was simple and seemed base-line.
The rooms felt very historic and we enjoyed over looking the court yard. We didn't have the best weather but it was nice to walk the old town in the evening and we had access to good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

While this hotel is a great find and is located right in the middle of the action in St Augustine, FLA, there are a few things I would like the hotel to improve in order to merit more stars

The cost of the hotel seemed expensive when you compare the breakfast that is offered - a simple continental breakfast that is carb heavy and lacking in any fresh, organic, healthy food
There was no water in the room. It's a small thing but after a long day, I would expect 2 complimentary bottles of water

Besides these small things, I think the hotel is great. If they can improve the breakfast experience, the hotel will go from strength to strength.

Room Tip: There are some great restaurants in town. The staff in this hotel is fantastic; ask them to recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Address: 4 St George St 101, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. George Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.