We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the acommodations & location; can be noisy...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. George Inn to your Saves list
St. George Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 St George St 101, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved the acommodations & location; can be noisy...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

St. George Inn was a terrific choice for acommodations. The inn keepers were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. We found the room to be very clean (though the housekeeping visit while we were there was not impressive) and very tastefully decorated with attention to detail and comfort. The breakfast buffet is great, with standard bagels, juice, coffee, muffins, etc.; the cheese is a nice addition. The toiletries were the best of any hotel I have stayed at. The bed was also very comfortable.

The location is ultimate - across the street is the Castillo San Marco and a couple of houses down are the Colonial Spanish Quarter, the Oldest Wooden School house and about 200 shops are at your doorstep. You will only need a car if you plan on crossing the bridge to St. Augustine Beach to visit the beaches, lighthouse and alligator farm.

While the location is a huge plus, with it comes noise...I would not recommend this inn for someone who goes to bed early (let's say 9:30 p.m.) or with children who need to nap during the day and cannot do so with noise. You will hear conversations, music, tour trolleys, car horns, etc., well until 11 p.m. or even after. We faced the street; perhaps a room facing the courtyard would be more quiet.

Also, while we stayed in a "none smoking" room, the balconies are not private...so if your neighbors choose to step outside their room and smoke, you'll know it.

Overall, however, we had a wonderful experience and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    129
    35
    11
    0
See reviews for
143
302
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, AL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

This was the first stop of an extended road trip. We spent only two nights at the St. George Inn and wished we could have stayed longer. The location can not be beat, everything is in walking distance. Parking is a short walk, but well lit and safe. The room was large and clean. The staff was very polite and helpful. We will return to the St. George Inn in the future.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

My husband and I recently stayed at the St. George Inn while he attended a meeting for work. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make you feel welcome.
The room was clean and spacious: the bed was very comfortable.
The Inn is located in the middle of great shopping, restaurants and sight seeing. I had a great time during the day while my husband attended his meetings. You can walk everywhere. We didn't drive our car til we left to come home.
I highly recommend this Inn. Our room was on the third floor. When you went out the door, you could walk or take the elevator down to a beautiful courtyard. I would go back again anytime.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

Room was comfortable and clean, although rather simple. Very comfortable beds. Adequate bath and towels. Pleasant, friendly staff.

Complimentary continental breakfast was simple but good: coffee, orange juice, croissants, fruit bread, toast, cheddar cheese. That's it, but all is very good quality and fresh. For instance, the croissants are from some good bakery, not from Sam's Wholesale Club.

Location at the end of St. George Street is ideal. Very close to the big new parking garage, so unload your bags at the hotel, park your car nearby and then leave it.

Hotel is close to many restaurants, lots of shopping, fort is across the street, Flagler nearby.

Although this is an inn, the experience is private and feels more like staying in a hotel/motel. I just mention this for those who fear that they might feel a little claustrophobic in B&Bs or small inns.

Our room did not have the sort of sumptuous decor or stunning antiques that you might expect in a fine historical inn. If that is important, you will want to check out one of the several more swankified B&Bs that we saw nearby.

We paid $179 per night for the first weekend in December, and reserved months in advance to get it.

Overall, an above-average stay, but in a EXCELLENT location in St. Augustine.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very small / limited public area; breakfast very limited with no fruit or cereal
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kannemartin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

I booked the Santa Maria room at the St. George Inn for two nights during Halloween. The inn, which is built like an inn but is, in fact, a hotel, sits at the corner of St. George Street, the quaint walking thoroughfare of Old St. Augustine. When we arrived, the staff earnestly took our luggage and delivered it to our second story room overlooking Ft. Matanzas and the water. Checking in took only minutes and we were issued a card-key pass for the city parking garage located about a block away. This at first seemed as if we were being given free parking; that is not the case. You will still be charged $5 a day.

The room was large and very clean. A note: I chose the largest (and most expensive) room, though there are suites available. This is unnecessary, as many of the rooms we looked at were spacious; you can save a few dollars by going with a smaller room that will still offer plenty of space. The décor was in keeping with the general atmosphere of St. Augustine and the porch, which was shared with two other rooms, had rocking chairs overlooking St. George Street. We had several large windows with heavy drapes that kept out light at night. The room had a small coffee maker, hairdryer and the nice surprise of a small refrigerator to store food.

We didn’t get a chance to sample the continental breakfast, but it looked adequate with selections of croissants, pastries, toast, cheese and condiments. Because it was a slower time of the season we had no immediate neighbors so noise levels were very low in the room. St. Augustine is a laid back, quaint town and during at least the Halloween season all shops closed by 6:00 p.m. Nearly everything is within walking distance and there are numerous dining choices available. We had drinks at the Mill Top Tavern on St. George Street, which has a deck facing the water. Good service and fair prices. We had lunch at the Café del Hildago, also on St. George. Great paninis and salads. Though it’s not much to look at, the Rendezvous Restaurant and bar features anywhere from 140-160 world beers depending on what publication you’re reading. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about the beers; they’ll offer you a card that can be punched each time you sample a new brew. Finish the tour and you get a personalized plaque on the wall. We had breakfast one morning at the Spanish Bakery. Good cinnamon buns, average coffee and a terrific sausage wrapped in a roll. It’s not like any sausage I’ve tried before. For a really great slice of New York style pizza, check out City Pizza on St. George Street.

We also sailed on the Ghost of the Matanzas, a one-hour nighttime tour of the bay with a ghostly pirate as our guide. The schooner tour is informative and very entertaining, as the crowd is invited to participate.

The St. George Inn is a great location to experience the old charm of St. Augustine. One portion sits across the street from the Huguenot cemetery, which has stoned dating back to the early 1800’s. The inn was clean with large rooms and a friendly staff. I would highly recommend it for a stay in St. Augustine.

  • Liked — Location, staff, atmosphere
  • Disliked — Because of the location, expect to pay more
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

We could stay only two nights in St. Augustine, so we wanted to be centrally located and near the gates. We felt the room at the St. George Inn was clean, spacious, and quite unique, with a balcony overlooking the historic school yard.
The staff couldn't have been more accommodating, carrying our bags up to the room while we parked our car, printing out maps for our journey to Tampa, providing a light breakfast that included cheese! How nice. We would definitely stay here again.
Because it's an old city, accessibility may be a problem for some. Parking for this hotel is down the street and costs $5 per day. However, since we were in the heart of the old town, we never needed a car and saved on gas.
Colombia Restaurant, recommended by so many, was just OK for us; the 1905 salad is very good, but we found our main meal to be underwhelming. Stop by the Spanish Bakery for a mid-day snack.
We were surprised to find that most shops closed for the day at 6 p.m. We ventured out at 10 p.m. for a cocktail and found the streets deserted. This may be different on weekends, but we were expecting more activity at night. We heard not a sound until the 8 a.m. street sweeping.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

What a lovely place! When I think back on our almost month long road trip this summer I have such good feelings thinking about this Inn. My 13 year old son and I drove all the way down from NY. Got a little lost as we were coming into the Inn and one of the owners was even waiting outside for us to guide us.

The place is just so charming and you have everything you need in the room. We did not hear the outside traffic too much. I was worried about hearing this in other reviews but noise did not bother us at all and I am usually very sensitive to it.

We had a nice conversation with the owner as we were leaving and found out that the room we stayed in was haunted (if you believe this sort of thing, we do) although we had no sightings when we were there. We did get some good pictures of orbs and one spirit next to my son at the city gates which is right across the street. Take tons of pics there. The city gates are supposed to be one of the most haunted places in St. Augustine, along with the old jail where we caught the orbs right above the gallows in the back.

Very interesting, fun experience there. Take the trolley around once and then you can get on an off to go to different places. We also took the ghost tour which was more funny then scary. I believe the walking tours that take you by the cemetary are the scariest.

We also ate at Columbia restaurant twice because we liked it so much. Everything is in walking distance or gotten to easily by trolley. We stayed for three days and did not use our car once. The waitress at the little deli a few doors up from the Inn was a little rude to us but that was the only negative experience we had.

Will definitely go back and stay at the St. George Inn again. This Inn is still #1 in the trip Advisor site for St. Augustine and has been since I booked it originally in around April or May. They are very consistent. Definitely go stay there.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Address: 4 St George St 101, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. George Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.