We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite place in St. Augustine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Market on Granada

The Market on Granada
6 Granada Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904 823 9704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 51 Shopping in Saint Augustine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Market on Granada is a specialty store catering to both locals and visitors alike. Our inventory of goods ranges from personal care items, sundries and pharmacy goods to convenience food items, imported and domestic cheeses, pates, fresh local french baguettes and fruit, local food items, gourmet goods, beer and boutique wines. The Market offers wine tastings and cheese pairings daily all within a art gallery setting which showcases local art for sale as well as souvenirs and gift. We are conveniently located in the historic district within walking distance from most hotels and inns.
Martin, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“My new favorite place in St. Augustine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Recently I had the pleasure of my 2nd visit during the "corks & forks" tour. Mark has made an impressive step - up since our last visit a couple years ago (it was good then too). I felt like he really wanted you to taste the best he had to offer. Not just to push a sale. (Unlike our first stop).
He has become confident in his fare and has a nice pleasant sense of humor. OMG the addition of top shelf chocolate was genius!
I am currently enjoying my drunkin goat cheese and just had to write a review. Even if you don't do a tour, just go to this market. I can't wait to go back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malabar, Florida, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent wine tasting/pairing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first stop on the Vittles and Vino Tour. The proprietor, Mark was a very knowledgable and gracious host. He prepared a wine tasting of three wines with various cheeses. The experience was instructive and delicious. Mark has a great selection of boutique wines. We loved the 2012 French Picpoul de Pinet and the 2012 Argentinian Malbec. We discovered hot jellies and jams that get their heat from the locally grown Datil pepper. Very tasty! Mark also has a sizable collection of local artwork for sale. We highly recommend The Market on Granada and look forward to our next visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st augustine
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wine and Chocolate - what more can you ask?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our last visit was in September, but this is one of our favorite stops when we come to the Old Town. It is a nice relaxing, interesting environment and a great way to start a visit to the town. Mark has the most unusual wines to try and to buy (which we do often). He does the best job pairing the wine with either chocolate (which we usually do) or with cheese. His pairings bring out the best in the wine as well as food. How does he do that?

He also sells the cutest little wine paraphernalia along with the best French bread ever. We recommend making this one of your regular stops - just to relax, chat, and try some very interesting wine.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Fl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Picnic supplies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our favorite stop on The Tasting Tours Vino and Vittles horse drawn carriage tour. If you are in St Augustine and need provisions for your picnic, or to stock your romantic hotel or B and B room with yummy treats, this is the place! Mark will set you up with a boutique wine under $20, a perfect cheese pairing and fresh bread! What more could you want? Oh yes, chocolate! Just step to Claude's Chocolates in the back and you have a wide variety of unique chocolate flavors and even gourmet Popsicles! Support local business and definitely skip the chain stores!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkieMarket, Owner at The Market on Granada, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Specialty Gourmet Shop...we appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again...enjoyed our time together sharing good food and some laughs. Best regards from The Market on Granada and Claudes Chocolates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One Stop shopping for the visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Market on Granada is a must for visitor looking a variety of items: wine, cheese, snacks, local art work, and those small items you forgot to pack,ie toothpaste. We had the opportunity to visit this shop while on the Tasting Tour with our guide Jenn Shannon. Mark Constant, the owner, was very knowledge about the wines we tasted. He has a great selection and can give advice based on individual's taste. He paired the cheese with the wine which provided a delightful experience. On display is artwork for sale by local artist. Wine, cheese and the artwork made it a wonderful experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market on Granada also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to The Market on Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Market on Granada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.