We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and atmosphere!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barley Republic Public House

Barley Republic Public House
48 Spanish Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
9045472023
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 483 restaurants in Saint Augustine
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Barley Republic Irish Pub is located in historic downtown St. Augustine and offers great food, drinks and fun! Barley serves up traditional burgers and sandwiches as well as delicious Irish favorites like Shepherd’s Pie, Bangers and Mash, and Fish & Chips.We also have a brand new raw bar available everyday 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 a.m. with great specials during happy hour! Enjoy great Happy Hour specials everyday from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. including: 25% off ALL beer, $4 glasses of house wine, $1.00 Oysters and Shrimp, $7.00 Fish & Chips, $2.00 Beer Battered Bangers and $5.00 for a 1/2lb of Boneless Chicken Tenders!Additional specials include: Monday from 9 p.m. to close offers $1.50 Domestic Bottles and Thursdays from 7 p.m. to close offers $3.00 Guinness & Harp 20oz Imperial Pints, $12 Corned Beef & Cabbage Dinner and St. Augustine's only tradition Irish Seisuin music from 8 p.m. to 11 p.m.!We also have a Full Irish Breakfast available all day every weekend and $8.00 Bottomless Mimosa's & Bloody Mary's on Sunday's from 11:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Barley offers over 70 different kinds of beer & wine as well as live music and indoor and outdoor seating. We are located at 48 Spanish Street and have free customer parking right next door.
Ruskin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food and atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited for a few beers. The atmosphere was wonderful. Staff was great and the bartender was great! The food was awesome. The best lamb I have ever had....the Sheppard's Pie was very good too. Yummy oysters also!! We will definitely be back when we visit again..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    156
    74
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little Irish style in the heat..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I visited this little bar, just down the street from Rhett's Piano Bar where I had dinner with my girlfriend, and we decided to visit it in the light rain. We found it to be a fun place with a lively band and very good beer selection. My only regret was that we were unable to stay longer than a couple rounds with the bar.

In a mixed crowd of younger and older, I was surprised at how inexpensive the first-rate craft and import selections of beer were. It was also a surprise to find some of the tap selections were empty and had not been replaced, but there was an ample list to try things from.

Looking around, the venue seemed basic and clean, but more lively than some of the other places we had passed by. The bartender was also very friendly in welcoming us to the place, which I liked experiencing.

I look forward to returning to this little Irish-style bar under shady trees in St. Augustine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and cold drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have eaten here several times and at various times. Hands-down best late night place to go! Atmosphere is great, excellent beverage selections, always good food! Staff is also friendly and prompt with service. Favorite items: Truffle chips and BLAT sandwich. YUM

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great surprise on a back street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Saturday and sunday great irish breakfast all day!!!!! I got the oyster sampler great, the boston wedge salad great. Service was amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our visit to barley republic,we had some great fried pickles and a great twist on a BLT,service was efficient and very friendly,we will certainly return on our next visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Republic Public House also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Barley Republic Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barley Republic Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.