We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Blast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barley Republic Public House

Barley Republic Public House
48 Spanish Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
+1 904-547-2023
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 444 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Gastropub, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Saint Augustine's only Irish Gastro-pub. Enjoy Craft beer, Craft food and Craft Spirits. Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 5-7 pm. This Irish bar and pub serves up traditional and contemporary Irish favorites like Shepherd's Pie, Bangers and Mash, and Fish & Chips as well as burgers and sandwiches.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What A Blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous time here!
In town for a wedding, in the info from the hotel, we saw a pub that had Session music on Thursday night :)
My daughter is a competitive Irish Dancer so she loves a chance to jam with great music!

We found that!
Despite difficulties with their beer systems, the waitress was wonderful and smoothed it all out! The fried pickles were great and fun. Our dinners were excellent. The Lamb was perfect!
The musicians were so nice and they embraced my daughter and they all had a great jam!
The folks in the place were locals- that sums it up of what a great place we found!
Thanks for a memorable night!
We will go back whenever I am in St. Augustine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    105
    28
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Truffel fries and Irish egg, GO GET EM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were walking by and checked out the menu and saw Tuscan Truffel ribbon fries and we HAD to stop. I'm so glad we did! The fries were amazing!! Black Truffel oil, Puccini mushroom powder and parmasian shavings in top. To die for!. Good beer selection including "beer cocktails". Great atmosphere as well. We say outside and there was Irish music playing inside and out. We also tried an Irish egg, Barley Republics take on the Scotch egg. Also amazing. Inside and outside eating available. Great place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish pub in the heart of downtown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I was missing my time in Ireland so we stopped into Barley Republic for a pint and a bite to eat. I was not disappointed! Great service in a fairly authentic atmosphere! We spilt a burger and they cut it in half and brought us each our own portion of fries for no extra charge! Great customer service! Can't wait to go back for the Irish music night they have every week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Service was great. Beer meun has a great selection. Oysters were fresh. we stayed until the place closed had a great time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely a place to try again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

In all the years I have been to St Augustine, I had never ventured down this one side street past the shops. However, there is a wonderful restaurant Barley on the corner and across from it was the British Restaurant. We decided to go to Barley, we decided to sit inside since it was quite warm and possible rain. The inside was quaint and cozy but air was blowing way to hard on our table. We had dinner and the pork chop with the coffee molasses glaze was to die for and the Shepards Pie was awesome. Would definitely go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Republic Public House also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Barley Republic Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barley Republic Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.