We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barley Republic Public House

Barley Republic Public House
48 Spanish Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
9045472023
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 484 restaurants in Saint Augustine
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Barley Republic Irish Pub is located in historic downtown St. Augustine and offers great food, drinks and fun! Barley serves up traditional burgers and sandwiches as well as delicious Irish favorites like Shepherd’s Pie, Bangers and Mash, and Fish & Chips.We also have a brand new raw bar available everyday 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 a.m. with great specials during happy hour! Enjoy great Happy Hour specials everyday from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. including: 25% off ALL beer, $4 glasses of house wine, $1.00 Oysters and Shrimp, $7.00 Fish & Chips, $2.00 Beer Battered Bangers and $5.00 for a 1/2lb of Boneless Chicken Tenders!Additional specials include: Monday from 9 p.m. to close offers $1.50 Domestic Bottles and Thursdays from 7 p.m. to close offers $3.00 Guinness & Harp 20oz Imperial Pints, $12 Corned Beef & Cabbage Dinner and St. Augustine's only tradition Irish Seisuin music from 8 p.m. to 11 p.m.!We also have a Full Irish Breakfast available all day every weekend and $8.00 Bottomless Mimosa's & Bloody Mary's on Sunday's from 11:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Barley offers over 70 different kinds of beer & wine as well as live music and indoor and outdoor seating. We are located at 48 Spanish Street and have free customer parking right next door.
Pike Road
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Almost like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Got caught in the rain and jumped into the pub. Had a long talk with the owner about Boston and sports and also had some great beer. Good neighborhood bar atmosphere. Really enjoyed the time. Thanks for the rain.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    156
    74
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hammock Beach
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Humble Pub With A Big Heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Barley Republic Public House is a small and humble pub with big heart and rich flavor...making it stand out from the fancier smancier bars in St. Augustine.

The owners Red AKA Redford and Lauren, a husband and wife team, always make my guests feel great and supply an extensive and exotic array of beers. You can tell they put a lot of love and hard work into Barley Republic.

The lady folk love the Raspberry Lambic Belgium beer and the tangerine beer there. Irish Car Bombs were a BIG HIT among my guests as well. Hopefully, they might carry some Drunken Ponies in the future.

I have yet to sample the wonderful array of beers they have especially the blueberry ale, yet I have feasted on the Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes and truffle oil fries - pure yumminess.

Staff is warm and friendly. Patrons like Irish Shawn are a delight to meet and talk to on a late night.

Every time I go there, I know that everything will be fun yet safe and sound even on the most chaotic night. Everyone I bring there is welcomed, and they all leave the place happy and satisfied.

~ Love, Peace, and Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes ~

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An excellent choice...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I stumbled across The Barley Republic by accident and were charmed by the atmosphere and thoroughly enjoyed the food (I personally recommend the bangers and mash). It's towards the back of the St. Augustine historic district and the owners (Red & Lauren?) clearly know what they are doing. There were more beer choices than I've seen at much larger establishments and I sampled three, all were excellent. The prices were reasonable and the service was excellent. We visit St. Augustines occasionally and we will make it a point to come back here. If you like authentic Irish pubs (not the ersatz americanized versions), try this wonderful place out. Great atmosphere, personalized service, tasty food and great drink at a fair price make this a must try.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Daughter of one of the crew is the owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Laid over in St. Augustine due to tropical storm Alberto. One our crew's daughter and son-in-law are the owners. Surprised them for dinner. Great place, they've obviously put a lot of work into creating a great Irish Pub. Food was fantastic, beer selection was very extensive and I understand it changes quite frequently. Nice crowd inside and out, free parking which is rare in the old section of St. Augustine. I highly recommend it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We ended up here on a haunted pub crawl! The owner was awesome. Quaint and so much fun!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Republic Public House also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Barley Republic Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barley Republic Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.