We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1302 Ponce De Leon Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #37 of 75 hotels in Saint Augustine
Lake Mary, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We had absolutely nothing to complain about during our stay at the Holiday Inn. We were most impressed with the front desk staff who helped with every request in a friendly and professional manner.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    148
    73
    43
    17
See reviews for
104
150
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Booked through Priceline and no choice for smoking or non smoking room. When checked in, only smoking room was available for the type of the room I booked. The staff upgraded my room to a suite for free after she heard I have tow young kids. the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

We got a couple of rooms since it was a bunch of us visiting the Old City. This is my second time visiting the H. Inn Historic District and will come back again if the price is right. I got my hotel throught another "name your price" place and was lucky I got this hotel because I knew it was a good choice. We didn't get the breakfast this time because we could get it somewhere else probably for cheaper. We got two queen size beds in each room which were nice and clean. The bathroom was also nice and clean. Do bring your toiletries as the ones they have a tiny and limited, but they should be enough for 2 people. The parking was spacious and the location of the hotel was just minutes away from the major sights (The Mission, the Castle, and Historic District). The one thing that cought my attention is that even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door, the maid did knock on the door at 8:30am to confirm if we were checking out at 11 that morning. Thank goodness I was just waking up, but why ask and disturb early morning if she had the info right on her paper!?

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

We have stayed in many Holiday Inns and this wasn't really up there with some of the nicer ones. It was rather far from the historic district, while it is walkable it does take a long time and you'll be exhausted. We had to drive several times.

There was a funky smell in the hotel room we think was from the water coming through the air conditioner, very unpleasant as it smelled like a septic tank. We had to use a lot of my wife's perfume to deal with this stench. You could tell they tried to cover it up with fragrance as the room smelled really nice when we got there.

The staff was friendly, and the breakfast buffet was just OK, but probably worth the $10 per person for everything included (coffee, OJ).

The room was nice and large, but the beds were really uncomfortable. The TV was an old tube style, these days flat panels are becoming the norm. Our room was on the first floor and the parking lot looked right into our room, in fact someone could literally pull up right to our window within inches. This caused us to keep our blinds closed the entire time to ensure our privacy, needless to say the room stayed very dark because of this.

The pool was small and the jacuzzi looked really gross. The bathroom also looked like it was dirty (even though it was clean) because of rust spots and stains.

The room did have a refridgerator and microwave which was nice.

The "fitness center" was a joke!! I work out every day, and this place was the size of my closet with one treadmill and a stairmaster or elliptical, I forget. I wound up jogging to St. Augustine and back (a nice half hour jog) which was better than working out in this sorry excuse for a fitness center.

All in all we weren't very happy with our experience here and weren't comfortable at all. We were glad to leave and definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in January, 2009. We had a nice, clean and quiet room. We found the staff very pleasant, especially the waitresses in the restaurant and the desk clerks. There were good cookies every night at the reception desk and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is in good condition and so was our room. We had booked our room through a discount website and the hotel allowed us to change the dates of our stay even though they did not have to.

We would definitely stay here again if we visit Saint Augustine in the future.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

The hotel itself was nice enough but I had thought it was closer to the down town area. I didn't find the front desk very helpful nor did our friends, when they called for directions to the hotel. They could not help her at all.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed at this property for Sunday and Monday nights of the 3-day MLK holiday weekend and had some small trepidation because of some mized reviews we'd read here; our experience on this visit was fine and we would certainly consider returning in the future. Our king-bed plus convertible sofa room was above average in size and contained a refrigerator, coffee-maker. and microwave, all in good working order. We found the bed particularly comfortable. The room was very clean and well-maintained, as was the property in general. We dealt with three desk clerks (for check-in, request for late check-out, and check-out) and two housekeepers; all were pleasant and efficient.

Except for the exterior, which is "Spanish-Colonial" themed, this is a classic interior-corridor, multi-story Holiday Inn with one central corridor and and multiple elevators, which are not banked, so they are convenient when entering from side entrances, which has been well maintained.

We did not use the hotel restaurant; St. Augustine has many restaurants, and we generally prepare our own breakfast.

Our only complaint during our two-night stay was that, shortly after the 11am check-out time both morinings, housekeepers knocked to ask if we'd be checking out; the first day we were not scheduled to check-out, and the second we'd already been granted a late check-out. In both cases they were courteous and apologetic, but it should not have been necessary.

While the property is not directly in the historic district, it was within a reasonable walk to it, and a short walk to a tour-train terminal. This is a modern motor hotel, not an historic bed-and-breakfast, but it was clean, efficient, convenient, and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, roomy.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District

Address: 1302 Ponce De Leon Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 75 hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...to the nation's oldest city, historic St. Augustine. You are invited to stay and relax in our full service hotel with restaurant on site; conveniently located near St. Augustine's rich history, attractions and shopping. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic is the perfect setting for a family vacation or the weary corporate traveler. Just minutes from the Castillo de San Marco, Flagler College and the Cathedral Bascillica. Other nearby favorites are the Lighthouse, Alligator Farm and the Lightner Museum, plus we are only a short drive to golf courses and the beaches.The Cafe St. Augustine Restaurant serves a Country Breakfast Buffet daily, and also offers room service and dinner. The Flagler Room offers the perfect setting for meetings and receptions. Sightseeing trains provide shuttle service from the hotel. Nearest major airports are Jacksonville, Daytona & Orlando.Favorite Special Events and Holidays are the Gamble Rogers Folk Festival, Nature & Birding Festival, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4th Fireworks Celebration, San Sebastian Wine Festival, Daytona 500 and TPC at Sawgrass.Let our friendly staff make a reservation for you today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.