We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent location and gorgeous view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Inn to your Saves list
Edgewater Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2 St. Augustine Blvd., Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, excellent location and gorgeous view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I live about 20 minutes north of St. Augustine and visit regularly. Typically we stay at the Casa Monica but were looking for somewhere to spend our 9th anniversary where we could eventually take our daughter, get a better value and a better view. We had driven by the Edgewater Inn many times and I always wanted to stay there as the balcony overlooking the water with white rockers looked so inviting. I was so glad we tried it out! The walk over the bridge was just gorgeous and it only took 7 minutes. We had room 103, a waterfront room with a king size bed. The room was older but was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the view was amazing. There IS still a barge in the water but the view to the left and right was perfect. We will DEFINITELY stay there again and I will recommend it to all my friends!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    39
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Going by the reviews I read here and information on their website, I made reservations to stay at the Edgewater Inn. The hotel is right on the water, beside the Bridge of Lyons, and directly across from Historic downtown St. Augustine. Upon checking in we went to the room and "dated" is not how I would describe the room, as others on here have described. Old and dirty feeling would be more of an accurate description of the room. The carpet had stains all over the place, the bed was hard as a rock, the bathroom was a throwback to the 60's that had stains all over the grout and cracked tiles. We then opened up the backdoor to check out the magnificent view of the harbor, downtown and dolphins swimming in the harbor. Instead our view consisted of a huge crane 30 yards from our door and construction boats that are working on the Bridge of Lyons in front of us, all blocking our "magnificent" view that was described on their website. We might have been able to deal with the older accomodations, but all of the sights and sounds of the construction going on was the straw that broke the camels back. Needless to say, back to the front desk I went and explained that this is not what we where expecting, nor desiring on our vacation and was the reason we could not stay there. Surprisingly the nice lady at the counter completely understood and issued us a FULL refund and did not charge us anything. IF YOU ARE PLANNING ON STAYING HERE, I would call first and make sure all of the construction has ended, so you have a view of something other than just construction equipment and I would make sure to get one the newly refurbished rooms. We didn't see the refurbished rooms, but anything would have been better than what we had.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

I have stayed at the Edgewater many times and have always been pleased. It is perfect for walking accross the bridge to go to the downtown attractions and bars. We stay here at least 2 times a year just to enjoy the short walk to all the restaurants and Tradewinds Lounge for some entertainment. This is an older hotel and it does show its age. But it is always clean and comfortable. If your are looking for luxury go to the Casa Monica if you are looking a great place to stay in the middle of St. Augustine at a great price stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytona beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

While the inn was on the water with most rooms having a view of the intracoastal waterway, the furniture was ripped, stained and outdated. There was paint splatter on the wall and layers of grime on top of the tile in the bathroom. The room was non-smoking but it smelled of old cigarettes. The price was low but I will never stay there again. The room seemed unhealthy.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We spent three nights at the Edgewater Inn recently. The room itself was nothing special but a decent place to spend the night - clean, not smelly, TV, new towels. The bed I would say was neer the end of its lifecycle - still ok but should be replaced soon. The only thing we really didn't like was the air condition which was a bit on the noisy side and quite tricky to control the desired temperature.
But apart from that, the Edgewater Inn is a nice Motel. Most rooms have access to a shared deck with rocker chairs that stretches all along the back of the hotel and is located directly on the water. Very nice to sit there, watch the sunset over the city and enjoy a glass of wine (bring your own wine glasses though).
If your looking for a charming traditional downtown inn - look further, this isn't the right place. If your looking for decent budget accomodation you won't be disappointed.
Breakfast tips: "Bistro de Leon" across the bridge (12 Cathedral Pl) serves great french breakfast all week long and "Zhänras" next door (108 Anastasia Blvd) offers excellent breakfast buffet for $10 on Sundays

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I don't know what the other rooms are like, but we got #113, paying more for a 1-bedroom suite ($99/night on their web site). Wow. It was huge. Giant living/dining room with a bank of bay windows directly on the water, great view facing west, back door opens onto the deck over the water. Easy 6-minute walk over the bridge into old town, though I will tell you my companions (1 adult, 1 teen) wouldn't do it till the last day because it was hot out & I guess they thought it was going to be exhausting. Ample bedroom w/ a separate A/C unit to keep things extra-cool, smallish bathroom which was more than adequate, and a giant kitchen with big fridge, toaster oven, microwave, coffeemaker, dishwasher, garbage disposal. Nice little private library of paperback books and magazines.

Those seeking luxury may not like the room b/c the carpet was very stained, blankets are clean but stained, and the kitchen floor could have done with another mopping. It's an old-style Florida motel with the pool in the center of the parking lot, no landscaping. When you look at the outside you think, ok, this isn't going to be fabulous. However, it was great for us. Free parking, easy drive to St. Augustine Beach too (which has a section you can drive on with a beach pass, though we never did figure out where to get a pass).

Take note, though, that if you are getting a regular room (much cheaper), it's not going to be like this. Most of those rooms have a back door onto the same deck, but with 2 small windows it's not going to be the same view (though you can just step outside and sit on your rocking chair). They also don't have fridges or microwaves and they appear to be a regular hotel room size.

I couldn't get the Internet in the room to work, and the front desk had no idea.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Excluding maneuvering some construction blocking the entrance, my family and I enjoyed our stay at Edgewater Inn. We arrived at 130 and the front desk clerk had no problem letting us check-in before the 3pm designated check-in. The place is older, clean, comfortable, but by no means fancy. Since we aren't the "fancy" type anyway and we only needed a room for sleeping, the room was more than accommodating. For right over the bridge, the price couldn't be beat and it's within walking distance to some incredible restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 2 St. Augustine Blvd., Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself rising from a restful sleep and gaze out the window of your waterfront room, catching first glimpse of the Nation's Oldest City. Sailboats are anchored in the Bay, while others make their way to the Atlantic Ocean. Imagine sitting in your rocking chair, enjoying a cup of coffee as graceful seagulls fly above and dolphins break the waves. It's the beginning of another perfect day. The Edgewater Inn offers a relaxing, scenic and historic escape in the heart of St. Augustine, Florida. Located just a short walk from historic downtown St. Augustine at the foot of the Bridge of Lions, you will find this to be the perfect escape for your next getaway. Our 19 rooms property is ready to provide you with outstanding hospitality for both the leisure and romantic traveler. Recently renovated, the Edgewater Inn offers stylish rooms, a waterfront guest lounge area, a Smart Start hot breakfast, and afternoon refreshments. Come and enjoy St. Augustine with a view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Saint Augustine
Edgewater Motel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.