We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pena-Peck House and Woman's Exchange of St Augustine
143 Saint George Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
+1 904-829-5064
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic House Museum of the First Spanish Period, circa 1750. Built of native coquina stone. Home of the Royal Spanish Treasurer and two British Governors, and the last seat of British Government south of Canada after the Revolutionary War (until 1785). Home of the Woman's Exchange of St. Augustine, established 1892 as a non-profit gift shop featuring handcrafted goods.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Poorly run museum--and avoid the gift shop altogether. It contains the typical over-priced items that one can find in dozens of gift shops throughout the country. The jewelry is atrocious--generic beaded pieces, silver-plated flatware that has been shaped into cheap bracelets, badly wire-wrapped pendants, etc. If you are looking for quality items to purchase as a memento of your trip to St. Augustine, check out one of the many galleries that line St. George Street.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaFayette, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Stumbled Upon A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We actually stumbled upon this attraction while just walking down historic St. George Street. It was getting a little hot outside, and so I was looking for a place that my wife, mother, and grandmother might want to step inside and shop when I saw the sign for the Woman's Exchange store. We stepped inside to look at a shop and ended up taking one of the best guided tours I have ever been on. The docent who lead the tour was an amazing guide. She provided us with a lot of information about the history of the house, its residents, and even the general history of the area. In addition to all of this she was able to answer several questions about the custums of the time (some of which were not specific to this house). If you love history and architecture (as I do) then you owe it to yourself to take this tour. There is no admissions fee to take the tour, but the Woman's Exchange (who own and operate the house) appreciate a donation (which, among other things, helps fund a scholarship for a woman who needs to return to college to better herself). The next time you are in the area drop in and take the tour. You will not be disappointed!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Free, but make a Donation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We wandered into this house while walking down St. George St., and are very glad we did. The house is full of furnishings and clothing owned by the Pecks, the family who lived there 100 years before giving it to the City in the 1930s. The docents are eager to share the house with visitors and take great pride in the structure and St. Augustine as a whole. They don't charge you to visit, but request a donation at the end, so be generous!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Woman's Exchange does a great job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This little house on St George St might get passed by if you didn't realize what it is. We had a earlier tour guide tell us to check it out and I am glad we did. You are greeted at the door by a member of the Exchange and offered a guided tour. There is no fee for this attraction but it is worth a fee. WE were escorted to the outer grounds and to the various rooms in the house that are much like they were when the granddaughter of the owner passed away and left it to the Women's Exchange. Our guide was a delightful woman who takes much pride in her volunteer work for the Exchange. She was knowledgeable and very nice to our girls and allowed me to give the girls a few extra history lessons. It was a joy a must see!!!! Be sure to leave them a little something in the donation jar and buy something in the gift shop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the highlights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Don't miss out on this historic house... It's a must do !!
First the tour guide was fantastic, she was so knowledgable about the time period and facts about the house and it's Occupants.
Also it's free but you should Make a donation at the end of the tour!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pena-Peck House and Woman's Exchange of St Augustine also viewed

 

Been to Pena-Peck House and Woman's Exchange of St Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pena-Peck House and Woman's Exchange of St Augustine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.