We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare Pirate Treasures” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum

St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum
12 S Castillo Drive, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
877.467.5863
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Relive the Golden Age of Piracy at Pat Croce's St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum with the world's largest collection of authentic pirate artifacts; fun, interactive exhibits, including the award-winning Book of Pirates and the spine-tingling Disney Imagineer-designed Below Deck sound experience of Blackbeard’s last battle; the world’s only pirate treasure chest; one of only two existing 17th century Jolly Rogers; and rarely-seen shipwreck treasures from the Florida Division of Historical Resources.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Rare Pirate Treasures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Our kids (3 & 5) really, really wanted to go to this museum. It has some unique pirate artifacts and we learned quite a bit. Unfortunately it was over our kids' heads. We also ended up stuck behind a tour guide. I am sure that this was cool for adults but we ended up turning around and leaving.

Overall, as a pirate fan I thought that this was a quaint museum packed with cool artifacts. I would not recommend taking small children.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    327
    78
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Horrible and overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The "real" cannon was just a button you push and then it lights up and makes a noise. The Disney show was just a little dark room with a bad story line. Some of the historic items were cool, but not nearly worth the money spent. Also, the museum was too packed, not that there were that many people. It is just that there wasn't much room to move around. Also of note, some of the items allowed you to touch them, like the treasure chest. Some people might think that is neat, but I kind of hate that over time this will ruin these historic items. The gift shop was also overpriced.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pirates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an interactive place. There is a lot of information to gain as you walk around. The treasure hunt keeps you looking and reading while walking through. The prizes could have been a little better. All in all I would go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice presentation of some not very nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

You can learn so much about how dangerous the times were and how dangerous the people who lived in them were. The interactive display took some time, but it was very informative about the history of the pirates that were showcased in the museum. Had to fire the cannons and the gun multiple times. The displays were well done. Don't miss the secret room presentation. It was very realistic.The treasure hunt is a cute idea to keep you looking at the whole museum. It is a lot of reading, but worth it. The display of treasures is very impressive. If you have to visit the bathrooms, they are playing this very interesting audio of piratespeak and translations that is very entertaining.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pirates!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A great place to learn about some of the most famous pirates. Interactive exhibits, videos.
Loved firing a cannon...well done and interesting for kids and grown-ups.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.