We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aviles

Aviles
32 Avenida Menendez, in Hilton Hotel, Saint Augustine, FL
904-829-2277
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 444 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Intimate, extremely fresh ingredients, and incredible value.
Franklin, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Located in the Hilton Inn on the bay front in St. Augustine we were pleasantly surprised. We are local and this is in the middle of "tourist country". This Hilton is he smallest in the chain. The bar seats 6 or seven. The charm is really, really hard to describe. This is new construction and whoever did the design and construction is a genius. It fits in perfectly with the old world charm of the city. The food was superb. We have been there two Christmas Eve's in a row plus occasional times in between and always been delighted. The staff has the ability to make you feel like you are their only patrons. All in all, this has to be one of the best kept secret in St Augustine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Food...Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

While staying at the Hilton (on the bay) we decided to try the restaurant within the hotel (Aviles). Two of us had the Pork Chops while the third had a chicken salad. All the food was very well cooked and/or presented. The Pork Chops were huge and very, very tender. I would highly recommend the chops. The chicken salad was also very good as evident by my 14 year old daughter really enjoying it. The service was very good as well as we were frequently checked on to ensure all was well. The desert was very good as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Pasta Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We are locals and decided to try this and we were extremely surprised at how wonderful everything was. You get a salad (choice of house or caesar), all the pasta you want (with many choices of pasta, toppings and sauce) and a full glass of wine. We wanted a Red Zin which was not one of the choices, but they offered us their Red Zin which they had on the regular menu. How nice and just an added plus to a great meal and wonderful evening. The pasta was perfectly cooked and everyone was able to get their meal just the way they wanted it. This just might be our new Thursday night outing! Thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were looking for a nice dining experience with a modest price tag. Guest Services at our hotel recommended "pasta night" (Thursdays) at Aviles (located inside the Hilton Hotel). The atmosphere was rich, the pasta delicious, and the price what we expected. Our choice of pasta, sauce, meats and vegetables made the "all you care to eat" pasta an incredible value at $16.95 each, including drinks. The locale in Old St. Augustine, with the horse-drawn carriages rumbling down the brick streets, gave even more enjoyment to the lovely evening. (By the way, the first serving of "all you care to eat", after the salad and bread that were included, was more than enough!). Look forward to returning the next time we're in St. Augustine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pasta Nite at the Aviles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Every Thursday nite at this Hilton Restaurant They have all the Pasta you can eat for $16.95. It come with a full glass of wine And Salad. You can have several types of pasta, Different Sauces or Gravy(if you are Italian descent} Sausage,Shrimp Mushrooms, Onions, Basil, ETC They have the Pasta cooked in the entrance of the Restaurant so you can see. I have eaten there for the Pasta Nite. several times during the year and ate last Thursday nite and was not disappointed at the Quality or quantity of the meal

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aviles also viewed

 

Been to Aviles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aviles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.