We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Zorayda Museum

Villa Zorayda Museum
83 King Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904-829-9887
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

As we entered, we are told there would be no photos allowed, put phones away. Then we were followed around, almost like we would disobey the "order". As if we would. The only room worth looking at was the sphinx/Egyptian room. The rest was just a bunch of old hadji stuff crammed together in a house.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    33
    12
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Rude Staff and Not that Interesting, Especially For Smaller Children”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I love museums and I hate giving bad reviews but unfortunately this place was not worth going to. The staff was extremely rude. We had to wait several minutes while she was finishing a personal phone call. Then she did not have the correct change which annoyed her. Finally we went in and our headphones did not work which annoyed her even more. At this point I wanted to get my money back and leave but the rest of my party wanted to see the house. This house did have some very interesting items and history but there are so many other places that are a better value and better use of your time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“SKIP IT!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

So not worth the money, the audio tour goes on and on and on and on to the point where you shut it off. The staff is pushy and hustles you through, even when it is not closing time. Save your time and money and do something else more worthwhile.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't expect to be treated nicely as a guest in this house”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

During my holiday trek through Florida, we took a day to go visit St. Augustine. One of the attractions we went to visit was the Villa Zorayda. All I have to say was that the rudeness shown by its owner, Jim Byles, towards us at the beginning of our tour was enough to make it very disheartening.

When my girlfriend and I arrived, the owner quoted us an entrance rate. After we paid, there was a sign that was placed away from the owner's desk that there was a student discount. We pointed this out to him, yet he said we should have told him. How would we know if the sign was nowhere near him and is only visible after you pay him?

The listening device for the audio tour features his monotonous voice. However, it was quite funny when you would listen to the tour because of the nuggets of info he would offer.

Within the house, there are some intriguing artifacts and decorative objects. Since it was the holiday season, there was a Santa Claus statue holding a list of recipients, including someone named Maple, in the Halls of Justice Room. Two things worth seeing for the price of admission is the Harem Swing and the rug named from mummified cat hair. The cat hair rug featured a cat that was anatomically disfigured, yet was quite enjoyable to a cat person such as myself.

If you are a student, child or senior citizen, be prepared to ask for a lower rate, or if not, Mr. Byles will try to get the max out of you.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“What A Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Christmas is definitely the time to visit Villa Zorayda, although I would imagine anytime of year would be good. We had private tour in the evening, it was wonderful. What an intriguing place, tour guides were personable and knowledgeable. The contents are incredible, such detail.

If there is any historic home to visit while in St. Augustine, this one is a must.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Zorayda Museum also viewed

 
Vilano Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to Villa Zorayda Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Zorayda Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.