We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whetstone Chocolate Factory

Whetstone Chocolate Factory
139 King Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
+1 904-217-0275
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: St. Augustine's "Original Chocolate Tour" led by Whetstone Chocolatiers. You will be introduced t the history and making of chocolate and the Whetstone story. A 4-tiered tasting distinguishes the characteristics of our dark, milk and white chocolate, cocoa nibs and more. Taste freshly made chocolates and confections while you walk through our factory. This tour is for the chocoholic with a discriminating palate searching for the subtleties that define artisan chocolates. A decandantly delicious experience!Whetstone Chocolate Factory and Store. Chocolate Tasting Tours available Monday through Sunday. Store hours Monday through Sunday 10am - 5:30pm.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second time around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Wife and I took the tour in 2011, and this time we brought the kids with us. Still a great tour with an energetic and fun tour guide (I think her name was Tiffani). Our eight year old loved it. Oh, and the chocolate is fantastic! Make sure to sample one of the chocolate wine syrups. Awesome!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    146
    34
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the money and not a bit too long”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Tiffany, our tour guide, was great. She answered all questions and offered a great amount of incite into the chocolate industry. The movie explains the cultivation of the bean. Also, she explained why the family decided not to stay as a large company but rather stay as a regional company. All of the sample candies were explained as to how they were made. The company store was also great. We spent our money on first class chocolate, etc. Tiffany did this excellent presentation - and she is pregnant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We toured with our kids ages 6, 8, 10. Tour was just the right length. Our group had about 10 people on a Saturday afternoon. Factory part is very noisy, because it is in operation. Tiffany had only been doing tours for a month, but was great--very knowledgeable. They should have some chairs in the room where you watch a short film about chocolate. The kids sat on the floor. They are still talking about the yummy samples weeks later! A bit pricey for our "taste".

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Tiffany, the tour guide, was great. She was very knowledgeable, pleasant, and funny. My 10 y/o daughter thought she was the best guide in town and deserves excellent rating. If visiting St. Augustine, don't miss this SWEET place and the tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
1 review
“Very insightful tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Tiffany was our tour guide and she was great! Very charismatic and friendly, you could tell she was very knowledgeable about the process of making chocolate and she framed it in a way that made it very interesting. It was my favorite tour on my vacation to St. Augustine!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whetstone Chocolate Factory also viewed

 

Been to Whetstone Chocolate Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whetstone Chocolate Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.