We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whetstone Chocolate Factory

Whetstone Chocolate Factory
139 King Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
+1 904-217-0275
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: St. Augustine's "Original Chocolate Tour" led by Whetstone Chocolatiers. You will be introduced t the history and making of chocolate and the Whetstone story. A 4-tiered tasting distinguishes the characteristics of our dark, milk and white chocolate, cocoa nibs and more. Taste freshly made chocolates and confections while you walk through our factory. This tour is for the chocoholic with a discriminating palate searching for the subtleties that define artisan chocolates. A decandantly delicious experience!Whetstone Chocolate Factory and Store. Chocolate Tasting Tours available Monday through Sunday. Store hours Monday through Sunday 10am - 5:30pm.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The chocolate was great & the history behind it was very I formative. Well worth the money. I would recommend this tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    147
    34
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lot of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the tour. At first, I almost didn't want to pay for yet another "hoakie, tourist-y" tour where I wouldn't learn or see much. But I am glad we did it! The tour was VERY informative, even for a subject I know a lot about! (I do loooooove chocolate.) the samples of chocolate were awesome, and it was great to see how a chocolate processing factory works. Not to mention, Mr. Whetstone invented my favorite chocolate concoction EVER! (chocolate orange, in case you were wondering)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We happened to see this place on our way into St. Augustine. We decided to give it a try, I mean who doesn't like chocolate? We were unable to get a reservation on the next tour because it was full so I recommend calling ahead to see the availability since this is a little outside of the main tourist area in Old Town. I think it is a bargain at $7, first you see a short video and learn where chocolate comes from then you get to don cool hair nets and head over to the factory where you learn how chocolate is made. This includes tasting different types of the chocolate. Then on to the the factory floor where you can see this home grown chocolate factory at work. Different things will be seen on different days depending on what they are making. You also get a couple of samples in here as well. Then back to the store for a little more chocolate and an opportunity to shop, you are given a $2 off coupon for every adult in your party and they can be combined. Great way to kill an hour or so and get dessert, perfect for tweens and young teens. Great photo ops for everyone in their hair nets as well, but no videotaping is allowed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So much fun for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We took this tour with a few children (2 under 4) and some adults. It was very enjoyable for everyone, the free candy was a huge plus in all our books. The tour was so informative and it was great to see how the candies were actually made. We will be doing this tour the next time we go and visit!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I love chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The tour of the chocolate factory was a lot of fun, especially for a chocolate lover like me. My best friend and I took a girls trip to St. Augustine and this was one of the events we planned. It is a very reasonably priced attraction and then there is the free chocolate! They also provide a coupon to all attendees of the tour to shop in the store. Our guide was Patricia and she was informative and entertaining. I definately recommend this tour. Enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whetstone Chocolate Factory also viewed

 

Been to Whetstone Chocolate Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whetstone Chocolate Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.