We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Reason To Go Back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Floridian

The Floridian
39 Cordova Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904-829-0655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 484 restaurants in Saint Augustine
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: This is a wonderful new restaurant offering an exciting menu made of entirely local produce, meats and fish. (formerly Opus 39 was in this spot).
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Reason To Go Back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is our second trip to Saint Augustine and we said next time we'll discover somewhere else... But after eating at The Floridian made us feel we have a reason to go back sooner.

The menu looks like it changes with what's fresh and there is so much to chose from. Also the dishes have options for the proteins like either fresh fish, chicken, tofu, etc.

Everything read so well We couldn't decide on what to order. It's one of those places you should budget time to go twice during your stay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    480
    139
    49
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place was recommended to my friend, so our party of 7 decided to check it out. We called ahead because of the size of the party, and they were able to make room for us within 25 minutes (which was GREAT, cause we were hun-gry). We arrived 10 minutes early, and the table was already set. Our waitress was very sweet and patient. 2 of us had the Seafood Zucchini Linguine. I chose this dish because I'm partial to all things white wine and garlic butter sauce. It was absolutely incredible and I would highly suggest it. I subbed out the baguette for the cornbread, which, if you love cornbread, you should do this too!

One girl had the burger and remarked it was the best she's ever had. Two tried the 'N Grits and thought it was good. They are technically 'N Polenta, but very moist and palatable. The collard greens were nicely done-not too much bite left, but not soggy. The meal wasn't overwhelming either.

In all the dishes, we felt the shrimp was slightly over cooked. The only negative was the acoustics were horrible inside in the main dining area. We could hear every conversation in the room.

Oh, and the water was fantastic. I know that sounds strange, but each of us downed 5-6 mason jars full. All and all, this was a great find.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

When we go on vacation, we try a new restaurant for every meal. I wouldn't say this was my favorite restaurant in St Augustine, but it was a solid second place. The meals were very fresh and interesting. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Natural Food Angels In St. Augustine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Lauren was our waitress and she was perfection personified! We had a fabulous meal.

Soup - coconut, ginger, & sweet potato (vegan & gluten free), this was an incredible delight we literally gobbled down. Embarrassing.

Appetizer: fried green tomatoes on baby spinach & bruschetta. Sooo yummy, with a great sauce.

Can't wait to come back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot in St. Augustine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Of the beaten track but worth the search. Great food and great atmosphere! Make sure you make a reservation as it is quite small.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Floridian also viewed

 

Been to The Floridian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Floridian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.