We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stephen's Fine Foods

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stephen's Fine Foods
6001 A1A South, Saint Augustine, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #241 of 483 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I eat at Stephen's several times a month. I have never been disappointed. The food is always fresh and delicious! The service is fast and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

When they changed their menu to mexican, I was on board, determined to come back for the delicious offerings again and again, but that didnt last for long. sorry it didnt work out, but honestly it was much much better.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potsdam NY
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth the hassle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Tucked away in a little plaza it is worth trying to find this place. I went there it was Mexican...but now coming back to it's original SOUL food roots.
This guy can cook- HOLY cow- the best tacos ever...not your usual fare- big portions, low prices, great service. They are open for lunch and breakfast and serve a mean breakfast- sausage is homemade- Hopefully they will have a mexican daily special because it was the best I ever had. Glad I found it and will be back!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican cuisine - perfect seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We live in St. Augustine and read an article in the paper saying that Stephen's had changed over from "comfort food" to authentic, Acapulco-style Mexican food. We decided to drive down there and try it. What amazingly good food! Be sure to try the cheese with chorizio for an appetizer. It is head and shoulders above any I've ever had. The first time I went, I had the crispy pork tacos. They were terrific. However, some other diners were raving about their fish tacos, so the second time, I decided to try fish. I was debating between the fish tacos and fish plate - the waiter steered me toward the plate and I was soooo glad. The small white fish were so fresh and so perfectly cooked that it was incredible. That's my very favorite. On the other hand, my husband's #1 favorite is the Hot and Spicy Shrimp Soup. OMG. It is so delicious. If either one of us ever gets sick, we've made a pact to go down there and bring some of that soup home. It has a little spicy flavor - but not too too hot, a deep rich broth, beautiful fresh vegetables that still have some body to them (not limp) and best of all, there must have been a dozen fresh, flavorful shrimp soaking up the other beautiful flavors. We've only been for lunch. It's not a fancy place, but its so astoundingly real and delicious that its easy to overlook the lack of atmosphere for the substance and flavor! Oh PS: They aren't open on Monday. I made the mistake of going there on a Monday with a friend. Someone told me they weren't open on Sunday either, but I'm not sure.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I said it before and I will say it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Best food on the island... nachos Locos for the second time was AMAZING.. This has become our new weekly spot!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stephen's Fine Foods also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to Stephen's Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stephen's Fine Foods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.