We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hyppo

The Hyppo
48 Charlotte St., Saint Augustine, FL 32084
+1 904-217-7853
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Family Fare, Healthy, Eclectic, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout
Description: The Hyppo is a gourmet popsicle shop that makes all of its own products using only fresh, natural ingredients. From fresh basil to ripe mangoes to blazing ghost peppers, you're sure to find flavor combinations here that expand the notion of what an ice pop can be. All pops are gluten free and vegetarian, and about half of our selection is dairy free. We use Florida evaporated cane juice to mildly sweeten the fruits and herbs before their flash-freeze onto a small birch stick. On a hot day in the historic district, this is the pinnacle of flavorful refreshment. Open late.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“What an awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for cool treat. All kinds of flavors too. Come on in for a break from the heat. The staff is first class.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    113
    26
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I'm not a Popsicle eater but the family wanted to try The Hyppo. It was steaming hot outside so it was a cool refreshing treat but not worth the $4 a pop price. I prefer a gelato anyday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A tasty treat on a hot day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for a cool treat (pop sickle ) that was a true surprise treat ! They had a bunch of different flavors . This hand made pop sickle had to be the best one that I have ever had!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Friends of ours who live in St. Augustine brought us here last visit. We had the most wonderful pops. I had Coconut and it was perfect, with large chunks of fruit. Great way to cool down on a warm day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wow.. these are great pops!!

A HUGE variety of flavors - and the option to dip in chocolate! They tasted like fresh fruit and were super refreshing on a hot afternoon of walking around. Being a tourist is hard work - we needed a treat! :)

There were five of us and we tried 5 different flavors.. and they were all great! My favorite was the key lime pie (next time, I'm going to dip it in chocolate!!).

Yes, we'll be back! Honestly, if I lived closer, I might be tempted to go back TOO much! Great pops, great branding/décor, nice service, clean and well-kept .. can't wait to try another flavor!!

My hat is off to the genius that came up with this simple, but terrific concept!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hyppo also viewed

 

Been to The Hyppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hyppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.