We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical southern US campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Augustine Beach KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Augustine Beach KOA
Save
You added St. Augustine Beach KOA to your Saves list
525 West Pope Road, Saint Augustine, FL 32080   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Typical southern US campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great staff. KOA is on an island and the main electrical power is less 108 when we were there and worried about running our air conditioners. Otherwise they have a good place. Beach access was real quick. Had close distance to food and fuel. Not long distance drive back to the mainland for other stores and shops.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    35
    42
    17
    18
See reviews for
49
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've stayed at many KOAs, either camping, RV-ing or even in cabins - and this was the least appealing in memory.

It all just looks a little run-down and sad and the usual KOA spirit was missing from staff.

That many sites back onto the rear of a shopping strip helps to paint the picture, the campground was a tad too far from the beach to make it an easy walk in the heat, and the shuttles to the historic centre were finished by mid afternoon.

Won't return I wouldn't think.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Having stayed at other KOA sites, we expected much more. Dirty bathrooms with rust and bugs and crud everywhere. Sites are so jammed together that you have to keep all your shades closed at all times, or you're just looking in someone else's RV. They mow the grass and leave all the grass clippings on the concrete areas of each campsite.

A large group of drunken people greet you as you drive in ... the booze tent is the first thing you see.

And who on earth closes their swimming pool at a campground at 7 p.m. in July??? It's still 90 degrees at 7 p.m. It would be nice to cool off with a dip in the pool, but no.
The gates are locked and not a soul who works here to answer a question.
This is after we were assured the pool was open until "at least 9 p.m."

We won't be back. Ever.
And we come to St. Augustine at least once a year. Oh, and we'll tell everyone else the same thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We camped here last year over the forth of July weekend. We had a wonderful experience. The staff the year riot Ed very friendly.. We knew our site we would have would be on the pond with that view. We ere so looking forward to returning. This year the rates were much higher even using couons. We were placed in a terrible site. The slide out was over the fire pit. Our air-conditioning could not keep up with the heat as the trees provided no shade. Our view was only of very close campers. The site was unmowed with tall grass and sticker weeds in the grass. Children had to remain on tiny paved area on site. We asked for a better site and were lied to. Saying first night the campsite was full. . The site across from us was empty all night. Then they said the computer gives the reservation site when you register. The following afternoon they let us move to the empty site in the shade and near pond. But were charged and additional fee for the site. . The management offered no help. The staff was slow at trash pickup and very unfriendly. We would have been better off camping over night at a walmart parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great location near to the oldest city in the USA. Near to the beach and the beach life, many access roads to the beach and cute little beach bars with outside seating; food places but we didn’t eat. The camp site had many tent sites and rv spots as well as kamping cabins; some located on a large man made pond complete with paddle boats and families of ducks, which were cute. Clean well maintained bathrooms with showers. And… Beware of Tent city with permanent residents on one side of camp; although trashy, the tent residents kept to themselves. This does not reflect on the rest of the camp, all other temp and perm residents were clean and friendly. The camp has two sections for tent camping, the section at the front was allocated for overnights, while the “tent city” was along the side and kept to themselves.

Room Tip: if you are tent-camping choose the tent sites to the right of the main office as the left/forward is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Gross Gross Gross! Great staff but that's it. Cabin smells of wet dog when you first get in. Run the A/C on high and leave for a few hours. Pool is nasty, The bathrooms are by far the worst! They even had what they call a remote bathroom that was just a large pot-a-potty, smells great in the Florida heat! I can see ok reviews if you have a nice R/V with a bathroom, and if you don't mind small lot's. First and last time a any KOA. I will stick with state parks. $80 bucks a night is just too high for a place with no bathroom. We cancelled our second night and we got a refund so like I said the staff is great, but the place just gave me the creeps!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have stayed at many KOAs. We stayed here over 5 years ago and the improvements they have done are pretty good. The bathrooms were clean and workers are in constant view. The main problem was it was like a homeless camp upon arrival. There was about 5 tents with what looked like homeless people there all day. They would start drinking early afternoon and the evening yelling at each other. My favorite part was the drunk lady dropping f-bombs while walking around on the phone. Keep your stuff locked up at night. The other problem was the pool hours are 8-7. Really? It gets dark at 830 and not very easy to explain to a 4 year old that the pool is closed.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Augustine Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Augustine Beach KOA

Address: 525 West Pope Road, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Saint Augustine
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're well-situated to explore the historic city of St. Augustine from this campground on Anastasia Island. Visit the Fountain of Youth park (known as the site where Ponce de Leon landed in 1513), the St. Augustine Lighthouse and Museum and the Lightner Museum-filled with artifacts from America's "Gilded Age." Anglers can cast for snapper, grouper, amberjack and other tasty fish on a deep-sea charter or from the pier that's just a mile away. From your Cabin, RV site or tent site, take a 3/4-mile walk to the ocean or enjoy on-site amenities, including a pool, fishing pond and paddleboats ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Augustine Beach Koa Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Augustine Beach KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.