We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must If You Love Authenic Southern Italian Fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Benedetto's Italian Caffe

Casa Benedetto's Italian Caffe
165 Vilano Road, Now Located in Vilano Beach Section of St. Augustine, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
+1 904-471-5999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Casa Benedetto's is a family owned restaurant featuring authentic Sicilian homestyle cooking. We come from a long line of talented cooks who believe that the best food comes from using the freshest best ingredients available prepared with love and attention to detail.We pride ourselves in keeping alive the traditional "holiday foods" we grew up with that not many care to take the time & trouble to prepare from scratch in our busy modern world. Casa Benedetto's is open for lunch and dinner Monday thru Saturday We always have Sinatra singing in the background, fresh linens on the tables& candlelight in the evenings. Our staff is trained to make your visit a pleasant one and we strive to meet all special dietary needs or favorite dishes that may be missing from our menu that you desire Gluten free meals are always available.We are currently accepting cash or debit for payment in an effort to keep our prices competitive. We are closed on Sundays but do open for Easter Sunday and Mother's Day Sunday.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A Must If You Love Authenic Southern Italian Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We dined here a year ago based on Trip Advisor recommendations and gave it a "5" in all categories. We likened it to the North End in Boston only a bit more South. And it has not changed a bit. Still wonderful Sothern Italian cuisine.

This is a small place - seats 28 indoors with optional outdoor seating - perfect for warm Florida days. I'd describe it as "funky" - a small A-frame building with loads of character.

We dined there 2 nights and our servers, Richard and Mareka were both excellent. Our first night it was quite busy and they did a great job taking care of the tables. Our second night was more quiet so we had time to chat with them - very personable. Kudos to these two young folks.

And the food - we had veal parm, chicken parm, chicken francese,pasta sides, soup, salad, and the to die for tiramasu. The portions are very large - we took doggy bags home and we didn't hold back. The house wines at $7 were a very generous pour - chianti and pinot gris - and delicious.

The chef/owner, Robyn, visited the tables on the slower night and it was pleasant to chat with her. Very nice personal touch. She has trained a sous chef but still is hands on chef.

A 15 minute ride south of St. Augustine - definitely worth a dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    108
    39
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rincon GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Why is this not higher on the list??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I always check out Tripadvisor before going out of town. Based upon the listings, I had another restaurant on our "where to eat" list ahead of this one. Thank goodness the other restaurant didn't work out. The place is small "intimate" inside. There are tables outside but last weekend was not a typical warm Florida night. We had our 11 year old son & 13 year old son with us. They do not like to try new dishes so it is a struggle to eat out with them. Even they loved it! Our 11 year old didn't leave any of the chicken parmegian behind to the surprise of our server! My 13 year old finally realizes what true Italian spaghetti & meatballs are. Bottom line - run, do not walk to this gem. You will not regret it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“As good as it gets. Must visit when nearby.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The food is great, the staff is friendly, the experience top notch. Really need to support such a fine establishment.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Italian cuisine is my favorite. I have eaten this type of food from NYC to Chicago to California and in between, and I can honestly say that Caffe Benedetto equals the best I have ever tasted. What a joy to find this little jewel of a restaurant in such an unexpected place! This will definitely be on my list of places to visit again and again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson,mi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic homemade Italian made in an intimate Family setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Delicious made from scratch pastas and family
recipes. Small,intimate setting with absolutely
Some of the best Italian food I've ever tasted.
Just like being at a homemade Family dinner
With your Sicilian grandma cooking for you!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Benedetto's Italian Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Casa Benedetto's Italian Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Benedetto's Italian Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.