We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best crab cakes in Saint Augustine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matanzas Innlet Seafood Restaurant

Matanzas Innlet Seafood Restaurant
8805 Highway A1A South, Saint Augustine, FL 32080-8502
904-461-6824
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #179 of 483 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Wasterfront dining inside & out just over the Matanzas Inlet bridge on A1A South two miles north of Marineland
Miami
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Still the best crab cakes in Saint Augustine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Today had the pleasure of dining at Matanzas Inlet restaurant, after a hiatus of nine months or so. We were warmly welcomed after our absence, and enjoyed the terrific service from Sandra. We found that the prices had gone up a little bit, but were more than offset by an increase in quality, so judged after dining there often from 2009-2012.

We started our meal with their delicious crab cakes, which are better than served by any other restaurant in northeast Florida. Period. We then had coconut shrimp, and a burger, both enjoyable. We noticed the increase in food quality in several items, such as their side of black beans and rice. Delicious.

While the Matanzas Inlet may be very ‘local’, and even a bit quirky, we believe they go the extra mile with their homemade desserts (really homemade; try their cheesecake), exceptionally good table service, and overall welcoming attitude.

As before, we would recommend Matanzas Inlet restaurant to anyone looking for good food, good people, and the best water-view in town, at sunset.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    80
    32
    15
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A favourite of ours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is one of our most favourite places to go! It is simple but good food. We love spending a weekday evening there -- good food, great music and a spectacular sunset over water that truly can't be beat anywhere in the world! My only complaint is that it would be wonderful to have music on the weekend as well. Otherwise, it is near perfect.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our Wednesday evening go to spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great casual food, great view, reasonable prices and great music. The best fish and chips ever, even if they call it "Corona Beer Battered Cod', still the best fish and chips ever. The fish taco's are also to die for. Today is Wednesday so I must be going back and meeting up with eight or ten friends there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is another " Santa Maria" Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is a lovely place and the location is fabulous. I first ordered the clam chowder. From the first spoonful, The taste was just terrible . But still I was hopeful. I then ordered the gator tail.When I bit into the gator tail it bit me back. It was so tuff that I had to fight with it. Rubber taste is all that comes to mind.And what was that strange coating on the gator tail?????? The the straw that broke the camels back was........................La Diarrhea all night............ I will never come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had the fish tacos and the best Key lime pie. We always stop for a meal and the Key lime pie.
View was great. Every time we are in the St Augustine area we make sure to eat at Mantnzas
Inlet Restaruant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanzas Innlet Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to Matanzas Innlet Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matanzas Innlet Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.