We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch and Wedding Cake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luvin Oven's Hot Shot Bakery & Cafe

Luvin Oven's Hot Shot Bakery & Cafe
8 Granada Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
(904) 824-7898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 486 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Cuisines: Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lunch and Wedding Cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

There is not enough to say about Miss Sherrie and her Cafe/Bakery! She was splendid to work with, amazing, and so nice. Our cake was beautiful and so perfect. For a 3 tier cake with a white chocolate cascade of shells and starfish we barely spent $200 (including delivery). She even dyed the batter beautifully so it looked like blue waves swirling around (a shade of blue that perfectly matched our cake topper by the way)!!
In terms of a place to have lunch, the cafe is wonderful. The food is unique and absolutely delicious. I had a ham and turkey panini that had a cranberry mustard that was delicious. My fiance had eaten a crabcake panini that he really enjoyed as well. They also have chocolate-covered datil peppers that are popular.
This place hasn't let me down in any aspect and I absolutely recommend Sherrie and her shop for anything from casual brunch to wedding baked goods.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, MI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stopped here for a quick lunch; the food was very good and the owner was really great - even though it was quite crowded and she was so busy. I even had a chocolate covered dital pepper; I just had to try it and it was VERY hot but I loved it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Ingenious edibles at Hot Shot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I ate there two consecutive days while visiting the Leitner museum and Flagler college. The tiny cafe and bakery serves the most amazing sandwiches and pastries at an affordable price. The staff is cheerful and welcoming. Try the crab cake panini, the turkey with avocado wrap or the salmon sandwich with red pepper pesto. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Cute Little Breakfast Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Directly across the square from Casa Monica, this is a nice little place for breakfast or lunch, good and reasonably priced. Very laid back. Plenty of baked goods and a bit of fun, including a few thing using Datil peppers. Important -- coffee was really good -- not always the case these days.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great crabcake sandwich and cupcake.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We toured Flagler college and asked the tourguide for the best local place to eat. She recommended this bakery. I had the special crabcake sandwich which was wonderful. It had provolone cheese and a great sauce all served warm. I could only eat half. I had to save room for a Carmel coconut c cupcake which was superb. My husband had a tuna sandwich which he enjoyed. The staff were very pleasant and the food arrived quickly. It's just a small place with a few tables. I will definitely go again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luvin Oven's Hot Shot Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Luvin Oven's Hot Shot Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luvin Oven's Hot Shot Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.