We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Back 40 Urban Cafe

The Back 40 Urban Cafe
40 South Dixie Highway, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904 824 0227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Very good. I judge a place first by its soups and this one was creative and tasty. All entrees are substantial in size and taste. Very good value for the money!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    91
    21
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A MUST! Rare find! Great Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch with the family. All of us loved it. Our 3 kids enjoyed all we ate. They catered to my 5 yr old picky boy (made him a fresh sliced chicken breast) since all is made fresh to order. Our youngest daughter ate a Jerk Chicken Ceasar Wrap with a side of Pasta Salad. She loved it & we all thought it looked great. Our oldest daughter had the Chili Mac & that was amazing. We all tried a bit of it. Delicious! Husband & I shared the delicious & huge Wet Burrito with Jerk Chicken. Wooooow! So good! At a bargain of a price. Family of 5 ate for under $45. This is truly a great find & I'm so glad I found it on tripadvisor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for an inexpensive alternative to the standard repetitive and expensive food we had been eating and boy did we find just that. Just a short distance from the major tourist sites, the cafe was unpretentious, comfortable, and just downright cool. Our server Ashley was prompt, friendly, and knowledgeable. She shared some great tips about the city and "must sees". Our food was served quickly, our drinks were always full, and everything was fantastic. We had jerk nachos for our app, yum! We all ordered different entrees which were all very good, with my Mahi Mahi tacos being everyone's favorite. A definite must stop in St. Augustine, if we had more time we would have been in again! Kudos to everyone involved!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh, Fresh, Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It may take a bit of effort to find The Back 40 off Route 1 (NOT A1A) across the river from St. Augustine, but it is well worth the effort. The restaurant is small - maybe 16-20 tables - and the service is personal, but the food, oh the food. Everything is interesting and different, but more importantly, everything is home made from the salsa to the salad dressing and fresh, fresh, fresh. For that reason, expect to wait a little while as your food is made to order. We tried the jerk chicken press sandwich, the upside-down chicken pot pie and the jerk chicken salad. The portions were generous, the prices were reasonable (under $10 for most choices) and the food was delicious. Everything but the pot pie had just a little bit of heat. The daily specials (i.e., surf and turf burrito) and desserts (lemonade pie) were equally creative and there was a good selection of craft beers. The restaurant is housed in an authentic cracker cottage. The servers are friendly and efficient. It's kind of like eating at Aunt Martha's house, if Aunt Martha could cook. We went there with three older kids (16, 13, 12) and it was perfectly appropriate, but most of the customers were adults. This is probably not a good spot for smaller kids, but we all loved it. Good choices (based on black beans and rice) for vegetarians too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Found this cafe online .Due to its high rating, we decided to try it.It is in an old run down neighborhood that seems to be under going rehab.The cafe is in an old one level house that exudes charm and uniqueness.Art work from local artists adorn the walls that are brightly painted. The best part was the food! I had a Cuban sandwich with a pasta salad that was wonderful! Others in our family group enjoyed a variety of salads and wraps.We had 2 small children with us and there were good kiddie choices for them as well.Wine and beer are also available.So glad we tried this out of the way eatery.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back 40 Urban Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Back 40 Urban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Back 40 Urban Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.