We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Yallaha Hostel

Save Saved
You added Casa Yallaha Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Yallaha Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   108 Bridge Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Now, its not a 5 star hotel with marble counters and all that, it is an old house built in the 1800's. The experience is something that I will never forget. My wife and I booked the private two bedroom. It has its own private bath. We had two other couples come stay with us, it was almost like camping!! The kitchen and bathrooms were very clean. Charles is awesome, offered to let us use fishing poles and the like. There is a grill, and a really nice back porch area.Research what a hostel is before you book and blame...

The best part was meeting people from all walks of life. We sat around the pool table with some cocktails and played a game, and people that were staying in the hostel would come join in, we had a blast. It was something you would not experience at a stuffy hotel. I recomend it, especially if you want to try something new
THANKS CHARLES!!!! See ya next year!

Room Tip: The two bedroom opens right out on to the back porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    4
    2
    16
See reviews for
8
23
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed for two nights and was kind of confused about my stay. The owner was very nice and helpful when I arrived, but my first night was frightening and I was very happy that I booked a single room which I could lock. I woke up the first night because someone coughed very very loud. After a couple of minutes I went to go to the washroom and found a homeless guy (he looked homeless) sleeping right next to the toilet completely drunk and snoring..... Luckily there was a second washroom where I could go to. But this was kind of weird.... However the second night was similar, as strange noises where all over the place and I could't get any sleep. I wouldn't return there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I are traveling the USA and booked this hostel in Feb to stay in May over a public holiday weekend. On arrival the staff couldn't find our reservation and even after I showed the email confirmation and email from the hostel itself they denied or booking stating that hostels.com overbooks. No apology just a referral to an overpriced terribly unclean hotel. Paid over double for a room I wouldn't wish on an enemy. Do not support these people, especially there referral hotel, econo inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The best place u could possibly stay, obviously people will have different opinions & experiences but I will never forget my stay. They have bikes to rent but rly everything you need is in walking distance. Charles is very sweet & I enjoyed everyone else's company as well

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j-ville, fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Charles, Linc and the rest of the staff made me feel relaxed and with the cool people around the hostel and the laid-back atmosphere of St. Augustine, it was a great weekend.
You can't beat the price if you need a rack to crash for a few nights and breakfast too?!!
Was in the city for the Scottish games and between that, the hostel and the small town night life, it will be a place I would come back and hang at for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Make reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had a great time at 'the casa' as I came to call it. Charles, Lincoln, and the rest of the staff made sure I was taken care of while I waited for my RV to be fixed over the course of a week. I met a bunch of interesting folks from around the world and got great recommendations of where to go and what to see in St Augustine.

At one point I thought I had lost my wallet and was beginning to freak out, but Lincoln was right on top of the situation. Even after I repeatedly looked through my bags with no luck, he made sure I turned it over and dumped it out, and wah-la, there it was - crisis averted.

I was sad to leave after sharing so many laughs and good times with my new friends. Hasta Luego Casa Yallaha!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Yallaha Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Yallaha Hostel

Address: 108 Bridge Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Yallaha Hostel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Casa Yallaha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Yallaha Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Yallaha Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.