We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, clean, and quiet in the perfect location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Yallaha Hostel

Save Saved
You added Casa Yallaha Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Yallaha Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   108 Bridge Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, clean, and quiet in the perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

What more does a traveler need? Casa Yallaha lived up to all that it promised and more.
Upon entry, Charles gives a tour and is clear and helpful, responding to all of my questions and needs. The rooms are clean, spacious, and easily accessed. The guests, interesting, friendly and with a variety of backgrounds. I couldn't have found a better location -- very walkable to all of the downtown activities -- bars, restaurants, tourist attractions, Flagler College. Drivable to the most incredible beaches ever (don't know if bus transportation exists for this, but Charles could tell you). Kitchen was clean and workable with fresh coffee every morning. Spent the evening watching tv andmovies, or in conversation on the outside patio and porch, or to the local bars for great music with other Yallaha folks. Slept well and soundly. I'd highly recommend this place for solo or group, young and old, business or recreation.

Room Tip: Choose any one.... bunks are comfy. A single for $35 would be a luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    17
    4
    2
    16
See reviews for
8
23
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth,Cornwall
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Ignore the negative review, I stayed in that room and you couldn't get 2 people in it safely.
With an attitude like that, they wouldn't have fit the ambience of the place, their loss.
Had 3 great nights here, Charles is great company and extremely helpful including cooking a batch of meatballs that seemed to go on for days. Facilities are great and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're solo go for the monk's cell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 via mobile

I've never been in a hostel as comfortable as this one. I literally felt like I was at home. The hostel is located not even a 10 minute walk to downtown St. Augustine for those who wanna ditch the car for a day and explore.
Casa Yallaha is super clean, safe, and spacious. There's a pool table, dining area, a large kitchen ( which I loved) and two awesome patios. Not to mention the many rooms and sleeping quarters.
Charles the owner was awesome. He's really nice, talkative, and has a great sense of humor. Def by far the most interactive hostel owner I've ever got the pleasure of staying with.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I was contemplating a place to stay for the coming holidays in Florida and decided to call this place. The "manager" Charles was very rude over the phone, not accommodating in the least, and refused to help us find what suited our needs in the hostel in regards to rooms. We will definitely make sure family and friends know of this experience as well.

Room Tip: Ask to speak with the actual owner, forego speaking with the manager Charles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casayallaha, Owner at Casa Yallaha Hostel, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Sorry you were upset with our Manager, Charles. Charles told me you were requesting the single private room for 2 people. That room is quite small with 1 twin bed in it. It is not suitable for 2 people.

He said you insisted on being allowed to book that room and wanted to add an air mattress for the 2nd person. He advised you we are not allowed to put more than 1 person in that room, because it would be unsafe.

We have rules we must abide by to keep everyone safe. We have a whole-house fire sprinkler system and have been told by the inspector we cannot have more than 1 person in that room.
It was nothing personal. Charles was simply doing his job.

He did try to accommodate you by advising you of the couples private rooms, which you rejected because they are more expensive. I know you would have liked to have a very inexpensive room and would not mind being cramped, but it simply is something we cannot do and stay compliant with the Fire Marshall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a great place! Near Flagler college, nightlife, historic district, and a short walk or bike ride from pretty much everything worth seeing in St. Augustine! Casa Yallaha is in a nice neighborhood, it's very clean, Charles is a wonderful host, you can rent a bike right from the hostel, and the common areas had everything we could want and then some. We will *definitely* be back! -J.S. and A.L.

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Tide", a private room, which had accommodations for four, a window looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I couldn't recommend this hostel enough, Charles is a fantastic host who really makes you feel welcome generating such a great relaxing atmosphere that I ended up staying on for a an extra night.

Coupled with the beauty of the city this was a great place to unwind after a hectic time in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I'm a 21 year old girl who loves adventure! I went here to just get away for a week. Had the best time! It's clean, homey, aesthetically pleasing, and just a short walk away from all the fun stuff in St. Augustine. Charles is a great host and keeps a great hostel. Another perk, met people from Germany, Switzerland, Bulgaria, Belgium, and other places. Best vacation yet! I'm reposting this on other sites cause I loved it so much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Yallaha Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Yallaha Hostel

Address: 108 Bridge Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Specialty lodging in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Yallaha Hostel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa Yallaha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Yallaha Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Yallaha Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.