We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiction and Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Raven Pirate Ship

Black Raven Pirate Ship
111 F Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
904 826 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 132 Activities in Saint Augustine
Type: Ships, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Black Raven was designed and built for its purpose, to be a floating performance stage. Our goal is to provide a variety of live dynamic and interactive entertainment programs for all ages. The crew’s ambition is to deliver the best live pirate show in Florida regardless the audience’s age group. The performance is rehearsed, but unscripted, allowing the pirates to improvise with the crowd. We are currently offering three different programs:1. The Adventures for all Ages.2. The Treasure Hunt3. The Club 21+ (adults only)In general, the Adventures for all Ages depart every day at 2:15 PM and 6:15 PM except during weekends (Sat & sun) when the 2:15 trip is replaced with the Treasure Hunt. The Club 21+ sails every Friday and Saturday evenings at 8:15 PM. Reservation is always recommended and, please call ahead to reconfirm the departures. Do not travel from “far away” without checking with us. Please, remember our schedule may change according to the weather.
Grayson, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Fiction and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The boys, ages 7 and 11, loved this trip. The older child was concerned that he was too old for this as there were any "under fives" on this 2:15 voyage. I admit it did get off to a slow start, but picked up when the kids actually got involved in the sword fighting and face painting. The 11 yr old had no trouble buying in. At times it was a bit cheesy for adults, but our target audience is still reciting the jokes .It felt like we were a bit overcrowded when we first came aboard because we all had to find a seat, but once we could move about the ship the crowd thinned out. All in all a great adventure, but don't expect history, just fiction and fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    36
    10
    13
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The attraction is OK, but could be so much better if they actually drew people in by sharing the history of the city as it relates to pirates. We took the adult cruise and the acting, by the Pirates, was marginal at best. The food that was provided consisted of some hors d'oeuvres that were on a plastic serving dish without any serving utensil. People were putting their hands all over everything, which didn't seem sanitary to me. Finally, we went to get a drink and waited on a long line only to get cheap wine in a little bottle that tasted terrible. The owner and crew should consider learning the history about the area and making this a top-notch attraction in St. Augustine instead of a floating tourist trap.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackRaven5Star, Owner at Black Raven Pirate Ship, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your feed-back. We are sorry that we missed the serving utensils. That will definitely be corrected. No more “hands-in-the-food” trips. As for the wine, we sell that in sealed and un-opened bottles in order for the customers to see exactly what they are getting before they buy. We do have limited storage space onboard the ship and if they do not like the brand that we carry, then there are other types of drinks available.

As for the history issue, when we first started the company, we had hired some of the best tour guides in the city. However, we quickly discovered that the people that came out on the ship did not want to get another history lesson, they came out to have a fun time. There are quite a few other companies that are offering history tours, about the city, about ghosts and about pirates and we did not want to compete with these attractions. We decided to offer something else, something on the lighter side, entertainment and not history lessons.

Again, we appreciate your time and attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Learn to Sword Fight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Black Raven Pirate Ship adventure has two daily child/family trips. The 2:00 pm trip offers treasure chest for the little ones to keep. While you are on this outing, another boat comes along side the ship and the two ships engage in a "cannon ball" fight. It is a little noisy, but your young pirates will love and enjoy this adventure. Our family loved the 6:15 Pirate adventure. The boat goes out from the St. Augustine Pier for an approx. two hr trip. While on Board, the crew (who are dressed like Pirates) engage the children in sword training (using nerf/soft swords). They have free face painting for the young pirates. You can also purchase beverages on Board, if you wish. The Crew were fantastic with the children and taught "Pirate songs" to the little mates. Our entire family enjoyed this trip!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best thing we did on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We took the family treasure hunt. I have a 6 and a 15 year old. They both really enjoyed this. My 6 year old had a blast. He talked about fighting Black Beard and Captain Hook the rest of the trip and told their jokes over and over. Great show, worth the money! My hubby had lost his keys on the ship. We found out when we walked all the way back to the car of course. He went back and the pirates were at lunch. The people in the office told him where they liked to eat. He found them and they took the time out of their lunch to take him back to the ship to find his keys. We will do this over and over again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“adult cruise”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

me, my wife and another couple took the adult cruise.my biggest surprise was we ordered two mixed drinks(Early Times and ginger ale) and was charged $23.00 and change. We felt like we were raped by the pirates.I can buy a half gallon of Early Times for $16.99. I wont go again and I suggest that you do your drinking before you get on the ship. The drink prices are outrageous.Also the entertainment sucks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackRaven5Star, Owner at Black Raven Pirate Ship, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
All feed-back is appreciated and we do take notice. The ship bar should be considered more as a service than a “drinking place”. In order to avoid any misunderstandings, we do display the full price menu on the column located in the middle of the bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Raven Pirate Ship also viewed

 
Saint Augustine, FL
 

Been to Black Raven Pirate Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Raven Pirate Ship, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.