We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We checked in here but stayed at Sea Turtle Cottage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bayfront Inn to your Saves list
Bayfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“We checked in here but stayed at Sea Turtle Cottage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm not going to review the Bayfront since we stayed at their beach house - Sea Turtle Cottage on Villano Beach.....what I can say is it looks very much like an older motel from the outside..it does have free parking for guests which we used because Villano Beach is NOT walking distance. That was nice because it was a close walk to everything. Ok see my Sea Turtle Cottage review....

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    94
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
48
107
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Highworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our fourth stay at the Bayfront Inn, so we have obviously had good experiences previously. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. We again chose the Bayfront, mainly because of its close proximity to the cente of town, it's so nice to be able to park the car and forget about it until you leave and be able to walk to the many excellent bars and restaurants. An added bonus on this visit, was the revamped breakfast area by reception, which now offers a decent warm breakfast.

Room Tip: Request a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was positively surprised by the room being so clean, and complete. And the bed was awesome. The sheets (satin) were like new, the pillows were decent (not thin at all) and the mattress is nice and soft. When I arrived at 7:15pm the front desk was already closed, which is a bit early I think, but there was a friendly welcoming message (translated into dutch for me!) at the door, so I was still welcome. The stay comes with a complementary cinnamon bun at the neighboring café which was véry good. Internet/wifi works well and fast enough. There's a refrigirator and TV in the room but I didn't try those. The room isn't that big but - again - very clean and complete. I will definitely recommend this place to friends, and come here again if I would ever use highway 1 again. I'd give this all 5 stars if the reception were open for a bit later in the evening. Still 5 starts overall (relative to price).

Room Tip: At second floor at the front there is a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Didn't really know what to expect. It's set up like a motel...two storeys. Check-in was effortless and the front desk staff was very helpful with providing information for a particular restaurant that had been recommended by a friend. We were on the second floor and while walking to our room, there were other guests sitting outside their rooms talking/smoking. That was a bit concerning but we read the rules and they had a no-noise or no disturbing other guests after 10 policy...can't remember the exact wording. Nice! We also liked the room except we felt the carpet needed to be replaced because of water damage to a portion of it. Otherwise, it was clean, comfortable and provided all the amenities we look for. They offered free breakfast but we are late sleepers. Free wifi was also a nice touch...always appreciated. The municipal marina was across the street. Nice view of the water, boats docked etc. from the walkway to the rooms. Saw a dolphin in the water on my last morning there. But what we LOVED was how close it was to the shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again. The lady also told me they have villas that they rent for a week etc. Maybe I will explore that option next time.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Great location to explore St Augustine. You can walk to the historical fort and main street in 5mins. Stayed for one night in October 2014. Good car parking and lots of spaces when we arrived and during the day. Free wifi is a nice touch as well as homemade cookies at reception. Rooms were fine, nothing special but just what you expect from a standard hotel room. Good rate and easy access by Car. Nice view over the inlet before sun went down. Breakfast was simple but standard (one hot option and cereal) and included in rate. Staff friendly and efficient. If you are looking for a standard hotel to explore St Augustine for one or two nights then this is absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: Higher Floor is quieter (no one above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Stayed here for a night in October 2014. Chose this for two reasons: 1. they had availability, and 2) they allow single night stays.

Overall, the room was clean and the staff seemed nice enough. The hotel has an excellent location, and pretty much everything you would want is within walking distance. Breakfast was included, and while not fancy, it did the job.

The only criticism I have is the bed. It was small (queen size for two people) and definitely well used. Had that kind of springy, creaky feel to it, and had distinct grooves from prior occupants. In the morning I overhead a neighbor outside complaining she didn't sleep at all due to her uncomfortable bed.

If this place would update their beds, it would get a five star review.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed here one night before taking a cruise from Coco. Well kept older property. Our room was very nicely renovated. Adequate parking and within walking distance to the attractions, so you don't need a car in the old town. Right across from the Bridge of Lions but quite.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 138 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayfront Inn's waterfront location, on Matanzas Bay, is in the heart of St. Augustine's oldest historic district dating back to 1572. Walk to historic sites, restaurant, shops or sit by our pool for a relaxing day. Enjoy bay breezes and watch horse carriages stroll by while sitting on the porch or gazebo. Accommodations at the Bayfront Inn are newly renovated and feature a light pleasing decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.