We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Inn

Save Saved
You added Bayfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 75 hotels in Saint Augustine
Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here on a recent trip to St. Augustine. We were very pleased with the location of the inn. I was worried that we'd have too far to walk to get to the Old Town district but we were so close. We were given a corner room on the ground floor and it was huge! The room, floors & bath were clean. However we did find a hair pin beneath the phone & a bag of cookies in the desk drawer! Guess the housekeeping staff overlooked those two items! One Tip: Bring a cooler because there is no mini frig. That was surprising in this day and age. Otherwise a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amcomo, Public Relations Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your input. We love to hear feed back and we are pleased you enjoyed your time while staying at the Bayfront Inn. We will look into the housekeeping overlooking the items your mentioned. Hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    83
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
45
100
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Went during labor day weekend. My main thing is clean rooms and it was clean, water was clean, shower was clean, beds smelled fresh. The location is great, you can walk anywhere from there. They should take some decent pics of the rooms as their website doesn't give the hotel much cred with dull photos. II was nervous going in and left very satisfied!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amcomo, Public Relations Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you sir, for you kind feed back. We are happy you left satisfied. You will be pleased to know we are updating our website this week with some great new photos. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to lovely St. Augustine for a weekend get away, I am extremely picky when it comes to the cleanlyness of hotels and the quality of rooms, so I was nervous to see what kind of hotel he had picked. I was very surprised when I saw the rates of the room compared to the quality. Extremely fare rates with clean rooms, best location and great staff! Can wait to come back again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amcomo, Public Relations Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Its wonderful to hear that you had such a pleasant time staying at the Bayfront Inn. Our staff works very hard to go above and beyond our guest expectations and we are happy to see that was demonstrated. Give your boyfriend a nice pat on the back and come back and stay with us again. This time you surprise him. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Excellent location. Within walking distance to everything in the historic district. Rooms were clean. Peggy at the front desk was very nice and helpful. This hotel location provides for easy access to everything, but is in a location that is a bit quieter...which is great at night. Great views of the bay from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amcomo, Public Relations Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are thrilled that your interested in staying with us again and truly appreciate your business.
The Bayfront Inn would like to invite you to like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter. The first 100 followers or likes will receive 15% off their stay in September or October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWIndiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in the two room suite last week. This is our second time staying in this suite. The beds were fine. There was just one bathroom for five people but there was plenty of hot water. There was plenty of room and privacy between the two rooms. There was NO refrigerator this time, as there had been two years ago. When we inquired, the unpleasant woman at the front desk said there are currently no refrigerators and no microwaves in the inn. We encountered one pleasant woman at the front desk and two grumpy ones during our two night stay. I went down twice to ask a question and had to wait while she finished booking the next guest, rather than serve the one in front of her. That happened TWICE. The breakfast is okay for filling us up in the morning before experiencing the fine dining that St. Augustine offers. The pool is fine for a dip. They closed it due to "tornado warnings" that we could not find anywhere on the Weather Channel. Perhaps they knew something we didn't. This property is fine for our needs in housing five people during our stay in St. Augustine. The price is right and the service reflects that we saved money. We come to St. Augustine every year but we certainly don't come for the hospitality at this establishment. It is fine for collapsing for the night after a great day in a great city. The temperature in the rooms was inconsistent. The room with the two double beds was very cool while the room with the king bed was warmer. There was only one thermostat for three rooms (two bedrooms plus the common room).

In short, if you just expect an adequate place to rest between adventures in St. Augustine, this place is fine. If you expect to be treated like a welcomed guest, seek other accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in June and was very happy. Location is excellent, walking distance to all attractions. Room was good quality, would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Property is great for the price. The inclusion of breakfast is an added bonus. There are certainly nicer places to stay, but this gets the job done with allowing easy access to the old town sites downtown (which are all within walking distance) and has a great view right on the water. Parking was adequate and included which is helpful. This property gets 4/5 because it is exactly what it is supposed to be for the price and is convenient. Those needing something longer than a 2-3 day stay should probably seek to stay elsewhere. The same goes for those seeking luxury.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 138 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 75 hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayfront Inn's waterfront location, on Matanzas Bay, is in the heart of St. Augustine's oldest historic district dating back to 1572. Walk to historic sites, restaurant, shops or sit by our pool for a relaxing day. Enjoy bay breezes and watch horse carriages stroll by while sitting on the porch or gazebo. Accommodations at the Bayfront Inn are newly renovated and feature a light pleasing decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.