We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern updated rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bayfront Inn to your Saves list
Bayfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Modern updated rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I've stayed at the Bayfront Inn a few times with my husband, and get a King bed room on the first floor..Always very clean*..The furniture is nice, modern ,dark wood.The bed is very comfortable.A nightstand on either side of the bed with lamps.Large armoir with a TV inside.Desk and chair(with a small coffee maker)..I really like the updated vanity and sink area outside of the bathroom-A woman thing! (with blowdryer-cotton balls-Qtips-soaps-etc)The bathroom is updated with fairly new tub/tile/fixtures/etc and CLEAN* Closet next to vanity area with Iron/and board*

Location is great! On the bay.Walking distance to everything.FREE PARKING! Not always easy to find in St Augustine..Lobby area is clean and organized ..A stand full of visitor information/brochures/etc..In the Am -a small continental breakfast is available..Coffee/Tea/Milk/Juice/Cereal/Fruit/Toast/Oatmeal..

One thing to mention: no small fridges in the rooms*That's always a big plus for me-because there's always leftovers from restaurants.

There is a pool -I haven't used it because I'm usually in St Augustine during the chilly times of year..But a nice plus if you're there in the summer months..

As another reviewer stated "let's call it what it is" a motel: yes ,a nice-clean-updated one!
As with everywhere in St Augustine -prices are at the highest on Friday and Saturday nights-and lower Sunday thru Thursdays*

I would recommend this to anyone for the cleanliness-location-value

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    94
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
48
107
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
inverness, fl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We booked the suite this month October 2011 and found it to be quite lovely for three. The free parking is an amenity that was appreciated. The Inn is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the trolley tours. The front desk is pleasant and informative. The little continental breakfast is just enough to get one going for the day. Sitting out on the balcony in the evening to catch that breeze was simply devine.
We will book there again. Connie/Florida

Room Tip: I believe the suite is most likely the best although my one friend did complain about the noise righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

A desent place to stay on a great location, the rooms are clean and the people are nice. great guest parking and good view.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, FL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Okay -- let's call it what it is: a motel. You can motor right up to your room in this mostly two story facility. Parking is a premium in St. Augustine, so having a space right by your room is a major plus. The rooms are average in size but have been upgraded recently, providing a fresh feeling to an older property. I have stayed there several times and have always been impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms, the grounds and the lobby. The complementary breakfast is always fresh and well-staffed.

The location cannot be beat for an easy walk into the historic district, where many great restaurants can be found.

For a special treat, check out the historic carriage house located about two blocks fromt he main property. It is a romantic escape while still close to the tourist district and Flagler College.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here the first two days of our honeymoon. It is a hidden charm in the historic area of St. Augustine. Very quiet and cozy yet close to everything we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I am originally from St. Augustine and when I go back we typically stay at the BayFront. I have always encountered very nice, very helpful folks behind the desk. The rooms have been recently renovated and are very comfortable. It's also waterfront and priced VERY reasonably. The pool has always been clean and well maintained, not to mention during the day I am usually the only one at it. It offers an excellent location as well as a continental breakfast that includes oatmeal, cereal or toast as well as yogurt and fruit. Frankly it is the same breakfast I eat on a workday. You can walk to anything and everything. I highly recommend this hotel, it is the best place for your money in town. What I would say after reading complaints about this hotel, THIS HOTEL IS NOT THE CASA MONICA so don't expect that level of service, if you are paying $129.00 to $169.00 a night on the waterfront you have to know it won't be the same level of service as a $300-$500 a night hotel. The folks a the Bayfront do a great job and I have never had a bad stay I recommend this hotel to anyone lookig for a comfy room, reasonably priced and in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

This motel is nothing special. It's ok. The staff doesn't really like to make your stay nice. They are rude when you ask for a pool towel and want to make sure you return it. I asked for a later check out since check out is at 11 am. The receptionist told me that was not their policy. However they didn't have anyone checking into our room. Finally she said we could have an extra 20 minutes. At 11:15 which was only 15 minutes later the front desk called our room and she asked when we would be checking out. At 11:20 we checked out and I asked to speak with a manager and was told he was not at the motel, but that he would call me. However, he never did. The worst customer service I have received. I wouldn't stay at this motel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 138 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayfront Inn's waterfront location, on Matanzas Bay, is in the heart of St. Augustine's oldest historic district dating back to 1572. Walk to historic sites, restaurant, shops or sit by our pool for a relaxing day. Enjoy bay breezes and watch horse carriages stroll by while sitting on the porch or gazebo. Accommodations at the Bayfront Inn are newly renovated and feature a light pleasing decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.