We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet for its prime location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Inn

Save Saved
You added Bayfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 75 hotels in Saint Augustine
Portland OR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quiet for its prime location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bayfront Inn on our first visit to St. Augustine. We definitely liked the location of the Bayfront -- walking distance to the old town, right across from the waterfront, yet a block away from where it gets noisy. We stayed in an upstairs queen room and found it perfectly roomy enough. There was a desk, a small sitting area, an ironing board and a hairdryer too, and the bathroom was small but had a nice tub. I liked the sink on the outside of the bathroom. Everything was very clean. The only thing missing was that the room didn't have a mini-fridge, which would have been nice to store leftovers from eating out. The views from outside our second floor room were quite nice. Our room was quiet, and we thought the decor was better than average for a hotel. Not exactly quaint and romantic like a bed and breakfast, but it was cute and well appointed, and we did enjoy the free chocolates! Although I'd read reviews about the mildewy smell and had worried about that, I didn't smell anything weird, and I have a good nose. Maybe the smell in some rooms is worse than others? There is a free breakfast, but it is pretty plain -- oatmeal, limited selection of bread, apples, yogurt, and orange juice and coffee. I'd suggest that making available some hardboiled eggs, a wider variety of fruit (e.g. oranges, bananas), and some whole wheat bread wouldn't be adding too much yet would make it feel much more satisfying. However, free is a good price, and we enjoyed having our orange juice and coffee on the deck watching the sunrise over the water. We found the front desk staff to be very pleasant and helpful when we asked them questions about where to eat, etc. They let us keep our car parked in their lot for a few hours after we checked out so we didn't have to pay street parking while we finished some sightseeing. I got a AARP rate of $109 for our room, which I think in a tourist town is an excellent value. We were overall quite happy we picked the Bayfront, and unless we'd want to spend much more on a room than on eating and shopping, I think we'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd story room for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    78
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
41
95
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

It is on the street facing the bay and in walking distance to train/trolley, and just walking to several attractions. But $119 per night was to me a lot for a breakfast of cereal, yogurt, apples, juice, and oatmeal in a crockpot; and a moldy-smelling room with stinky water, a thermostat with a mind of it's own, not enough toilet paper, and a window in the bathroom with a thinnly sprayed half-coating of white paint on it. I could see out the window very well to the hotel next door.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will make this my only place to stay in St Augustine. Made reservation by phone and staff was very helpful with all my requests.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Wounderful location-loved my room-Staff were great as it was my first time in St. Augustine
I am ready to go again--

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I had phoned before making the reservation to ensure we would have a balcony and a view of the bay. They assured me we would and were welcomed with a view of the stairwell, graffiti and no balcony. The room was clean however, my disappointment at being lied to did not sit well with me given the fact the price was comparable to many other B&B's.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta,Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Perfect and beautiful location. Right on the bay and within walking distance of everything. Very quiet and serene. Enjoyed my glass of wine and morning coffee on the upper deck that overlooked the bay.
Continental breakfast is okay and the room could of smelled a little less mildewey. Overall a perfect stay. We will be back.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My boyfriend and I went down for a long weekend in St Augustine just to get out of town for the weekend. We found the Bayfront Inn on Trip Advisor and decided to stay. It was well worth a little extra money. The Inn was redone in 2007 so the rooms are updated and beautiful. Our room was adorable with a rod iron bed and everything was extremely clean. If you are a light sleeper this is not the hotel for you. It's very old so the walls are thin. we could hear our neighbors upstairs walking and their conversations. Wasn't that big a deal to us but if you are a light sleeper it could be an issue.
Here's some bullet points that could help you make a decision:
*Clean rooms, recently redone in 2007
*Clean, beautiful pool overlooking the Bay
*Free parking, which is a commodity in St Aug. Parking for free probably saved us $20-40 for the weekend.
*Friendly staff - but they were not helpful in places to eat breakfast (something I think your desk staff should know about)
*Check out time is 11am and it did bother me when the front desk called at 10:55 to our room to be sure we were leaving by 11, we were but I did not like feeling rushed by a phone call
*Great coupons in the map books in the lobby - attraction and restaurant discounts
*Just blocks away from everything in downtown, we didn't use our car all weekend, we could walk everywhere, it was wonderful!
We will stay at the Bayfront everytime we go back to St Augustine...it was a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 138 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 75 hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayfront Inn's waterfront location, on Matanzas Bay, is in the heart of St. Augustine's oldest historic district dating back to 1572. Walk to historic sites, restaurant, shops or sit by our pool for a relaxing day. Enjoy bay breezes and watch horse carriages stroll by while sitting on the porch or gazebo. Accommodations at the Bayfront Inn are newly renovated and feature a light pleasing decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.