We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn On Charlotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn On Charlotte
52 Charlotte St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Breakfast
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great location and very friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The inn is beautiful and in walking distance to everything we wanted to do. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel special and welcome. The breakfast was elegant and delicious. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip down!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
That's all we can ask for, thank you. I will let the Girls know what you said, they will be happy to hear you had an enjoyable visit.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    623
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
509
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful Inn, centrally located, friendly and helpful staff and delicious breakfasts. This is the place to stay. We will be back and frequently! We parked the car when we arrived and didn't need it the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We could not say it better ourselves - thank you.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Just left earlier this AM.

Wife made reservations for our 5th Anniversary based on friend staying there previously.

Location - excellent.
Room - super clean and comfortable and very spacious.
Service - exceptional.
Breakfast - amazing. Really - I might come back just for the fantastic breakfasts. It's a gourmet prepared breakfast!!!

You can tell the owners and staff truly love and enjoy being "hoteliers," and serving the clientele! Looking forward to coming and staying again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
See now... we are blushing. Thank you, for the kind words. We do it all for you,so come back and see us again soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn on Charlotte hoping for a charming, romantic experience, and we got it! Everyone on the staff was wonderful and friendly, and they sure can cook! We made sure to set an alarm to be up for breakfast both days we were there, both for the food and the conversation Rodney and Jerry brought to the room. The beer and wine social was a nice way to chat a little more with the folks met at breakfast that day, and a great way to start an evening in St. Augustine. As for location, we couldn't have asked for a better one. Walking distance to everything in the historic district, but far enough away that late night bar patrons weren't a nuisance. We stayed in the Marjorie K. Rowlings bungalow behind the main house. We loved the added privacy it provided and the private courtyard. The only issue I can think of is that the wall mounted a/c unit was working full time to keep the room cool, but the background noise it created was enough to drown out any outside noises and we slept soundly both nights. We're already planning another visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
What a great review, thank you. And you will be happy to hear we just added a new 'split-system' that will cool and heat the room quietly. Come back and see for yourself.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely place! A short walk to everything, its in the perfect location. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and there was an unlimited supply of fresh cookies at all times. The staff was so helpful and sweet. They made us feel very welcomed. What a wonderful experience! I loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you, for the kind words. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you back at the Inn on Charlotte soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I was a sceptic, when It came to staying at a B&B. Well, after our weekend stay at the Inn on Charlotte in St Ausustine, Florida I am now a believer. Great location, within walking distance of all activites. The Inn itself exceeded our expactations with fabulous rooms and a breaskfast that would put many five Star hotels to shame. The owners were very engaging with the guest and truely made you feel like you were part of the family. If your are a B&B fan, the Inn on Charlotte is a must stay, in the St. Augustine area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so happy to have helped change your mind about bed and breakfasts - and it was a pleasure getting to know you in the process. Thank you for the nice review and we look forward to see you back home, at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloret de Mar, Spain
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Charlotte for one night during July. This was our choice, in part, due to the nice reviews we read about.
We booked the Diamond Lil's Suite (no more rooms available, that's a good sign).
This B&B is located in a beautiful setting, a charming and quiet street close to Castillo de San Marcos. The building is beautiful, and the hosts are really kind and helpful, always with a smile and always willing to make your stay enjoyable.
Parking within a walk from the Inn.
During happy hour you can stay with other guests and have a glass of wine or a beer while chatting.
Our room was nice, with lots of details, and a comfortable bed.
Once at this point, in my opinion, everything is forgivable except sleep quality. When you are staying in a hotel or B&B, your final aim is rest and sleep. Well, one wall of this room is close the a noisy aircon machine (maybe the central), which is constantly turning on and off, even during the night. You can sleep something due to the fatigue, but not thanks to the noise you are hearing. To complete it, the window of this room is faced to a small street where there are more AC machines of the close buildings.
So, to sum up, during the night you are hearing an irregular noise of the AC machines, making impossible to sleep and rest. And paying about 190$ per night, I think it is unacceptable.
I had wanted to tell it in person to the hosts, but the next morning we had to leave early, so I can not give my view about breakfast.
Maybe I had bad luck with that room, but this was exactly my stay.
A shame.

Room Tip: Avoid Diamond Lil's Suite to avoid a noisy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for the long and detailed review. We are happy there was so much that you liked about the Inn on Charlotte. And yes, here in Florida, and most of the USA, we need our air conditioning, especially during the summer months. So it's no wonder you heard our air-handler, and our neighbors compressors running during the night. We are sorry this disturbed your sleep. We do have sleep machines in each room that create a 'white-noise' or natural sounds (waves, crickets, etc.) that helps some guests who have trouble sleeping in a different place. I'm not sure if this would have helped you, but if there is something else we can do to have helped you sleep, please let us know.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Address: 52 Charlotte St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1918, the Inn on Charlotte Street is an elegant bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a quiet brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn On Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn On Charlotte to your Saves list