We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B Ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn On Charlotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn On Charlotte
Save
You added Inn On Charlotte to your Saves list
52 Charlotte St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Best B&B Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We're frequent visitors to St Augustine and we always stay at the Inn on Charlotte. We discovered it shortly after Rodney opened and what a blessing that was! Rodney, Ann and Ginny love what they do and it shows in every aspect of the Inn, from the friendliness of the staff to the sumptuous breakfasts to the immaculate, comfortable rooms and beautiful decor inside and out. The location is perfect, within walking distance of all the Old Town attractions, restaurants, museums, art galleries and the waterfront. As "frequent fliers,"we enjoy watching new guests discover everything we love about the Inn on Charlotte. We always meet friendly and interesting people in the comfort of this beautiful home. With all the amenities, afternoon wine social hour, snacks and cold drinks available anytime, the personal attention of Rodney and staff to every detail and request, you will have all you could need or want in a B&B. (Thank you, Rodney for making us your delicious Belgian waffles and sending us home with your yummy apricot bread:) If you want to be treated like royalty and feel like family, you have to experience the Inn on Charlotte! We look forward to returning very soon :)
Peggy and David (Ormond Beach)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
This is a humbling review, you make us blush, thank you. It's guests like you that make all the hard work and long hours worth it. The girls will be so happy to know they mean so much to you, and they make your stay with us special. They are just the best, aren't they? We look forward to your next visit to the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    38
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
605
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this inn! We stayed while on our "babymoon" for a relaxing couple of days before the baby comes. We were welcomed by Ann who checked us in, showed us the complementary beverages in the mini-fridge as well as pretzels and fresh baked cookies that are always available. Then she showed us to our room and allowed us to check out any of the open rooms. They were all charming and clean. We stayed for two nights and Rodney made us amazing breakfasts each morning! The first breakfast started with honeydew with yogurt and granola and was then followed up with a frittata (made with swiss, parmesan and potatoes) with sides of bacon and apricot bread. We were so full we only had a snack for lunch and held out for dinner! Our other breakfast started with peach soup and belgian waffles with banana and sausage sides. Everything was a good as it sounds! Rodney is so friendly and fun to chat with. We also enjoyed the wine social hour one evening (well, I had lemonade!) while chatting with the only other couple that was staying at the time. Ginny took care of us that evening and she was just as accommodating and friendly as the others. We felt so at home the whole time. Anytime we come back to St. Augustine we will be staying here for sure!
Oh! And it was SO CLOSE to everything we wanted to see! We kept our car parked in our spot for the inn the whole time and walked everywhere easily :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Mary K. Rawlings bungalow. It's small, but we preferred to call it cozy. The jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
What a great well written and detailed review; Thank you. It was our pleasure to pamper you before your life changes forever. Be sure to find a sitter from time-to-time, and re-kindle the romance at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at The Inn on Charlotte for a romantic getaway. What a great choice! The Inn is in the perfect location (we didn't have to take our car out at all), the entire staff is so nice and helpful, the rooms are very cozy, clean and comfortable and the breakfast is amazing! We will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review, and we think it will helpful to other visitors, looking for the right accommodation in St Augustine. We all look forward to your return to the Inn on Charlotte soon.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Another wonderful stay at the Inn on Charlotte! Thank you Rodney and Ginny for the delicious breakfast and hospitality. We always enjoy our stay at the inn. We are always amazed how well the Inn is kept on the inside and outside without disrupting the guest. Looking forward to another rest and rejuvenation stay with you again soon!
Georgia and Steve

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautifully appointed, but our favorites are the Audubon and Tiffany's Stud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you, Georgia and Steve. It's always a pleasure see the two of you. Did you get a chance to see new bath in Audubon yet? We are getting great comments on it. See you next time - at the Inn on Charlotte!

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We checked in....the reception was awesome and willing to answer any of our questions...they let us take up a parking spot early....we missed the wine and cheese party....but our room was spectacular....and BREAKFAST was incredible...lots of food with great presentation . The area is perfect for walking and touring St Augustine and the Inn itself is very clean and well kept ( a big difference compared to a lot in the area ). We got lucky picking this off the internet and we are definitely going back in August. Thanks again Inn On Charlotte!!!

Lawrence and Kelly

Room Tip: Ask for the one of the front 2 rooms...a great balcony to people watch and share a glass of wine on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you, we take pride in our old house and are glad you appreciate it. And we are excited that you plan to come back so soon. This time, have that glass of wine.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax, fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I planned a weekend getaway to the Inn on Charlotte when he returned from military deployment. It was so peaceful. The breakfast was incredible and the customer service was exceptional. I could smell fresh baked cookies upon entering at all times. The inn was beautiful and very clean. I truly felt like I was in my own home, not someone else's. I had an issue with someone parking in my designated spot and the inn keeper promptly had the vehicle removed, even though it was late at night.Even though it is in the middle of everything, the noise from pedestrians and vehicles can not be heard from the inside. I would never dream of staying anywhere else while visiting beautiful St. Augustine.

Room Tip: The Mary Lily had an awesome jacuzzi tub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
It was an honor and a pleasure to meet and talk with you both. We are happy you feel at home at the Inn on Charlotte. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you have a chance to come back soon for more of those cookies.

Yours.
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful relaxing experience. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Although we live in St. Augustine, staying downtown is a great way to beat the traffic and avoid parking issues on holiday weekends. We have done this several times and always choose The Inn on Charlotte.

Room Tip: There is a room off by itself in the back of the Inn that is very private and has a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We love it when locals stay with us. St Augustine is truly a small town, and great to live in. Thank you for stopping by and seeing us, thank you for the review, and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Address: 52 Charlotte St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1918, the Inn on Charlotte Street is an elegant bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a quiet brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn On Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.