We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn On Charlotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn On Charlotte
Save
You added Inn On Charlotte to your Saves list
52 Charlotte St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for our first anniversary and it was our first time in Saint Agustine. I loved this B&B, it was amazing. The hospitality, the food and the room all surpassed our expactations. We were in the middle of everything and could pretty much walk anywhere. We were also right next to a trolly stop for the stuff that was further away. We never had to drive anywhere. We stayed in the Henry Flagler's Verandah room, we had balcony, a big tub/jacuzzi, a huge super comfy bed and parking space behind the B&B. The breakfast was to die for. Seriously, not exhagerating. I can't wait to go back again. I completely recoment this B&B! Also all the pics are from right before we were leaving so we have our stuff everywhere. Our mess not the B&B's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are so happy you had a good time. Thank you for the review and the pics. We look forward to your next anniversary and your next visit to the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    38
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
606
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a great choice to stay for Valentine's night. We stayed in the studio apt right off the entrance on the first floor. Very big nicely furnished room with King bed and ceiling fan. Free happy hour where we met others and shared travel tips. Excellent hot breakfast served at 9:15 am for all guests. Complimentary cookies, pretzels and soft drinks and ice available at all times. Friendly host and staff. Best location in St. Augustine. Not inexpensive at $200 per night but worth it. We will go back.

Room Tip: Studio room was spacious and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you, for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon, at the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The staff at the Inn was very friendly. Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by Ann. She showed us our room, the 1st floor Tiffany Suite handed us the keys. The room was amazing with a jacuzzi tub right in the bedroom. It was soooooo clean and comfortable to stay in. It was nicely decorated. Breakfast was fantastic, everything fresh warm and made from scratch. Ann directed us to some of the better places to see on our short trip. Everything was within walking distance. Cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you, for the kind words. We are blessed with wonderful staff - family really - here at the Inn on Charlotte. We are very proud of our 'Sister Ann' as we call her; she is always there to make guest's stay memorable. This review will make her day - thank you.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The Inn on Charlotte in Saint Augustine has become one of our favorite places for a romantic getaway. It is a very charming Inn that is conveniently located in the historic district, with most destinations within easy walking distance. Rod, who is the owner and his entire staff are very caring and concerned about their guests comforts and needs. Rod is always looking to keep the place in top shape and has several nice plans in the works for the future.
The breakfasts each morning are simply awesome and delicious! The parlor and front porch are great places to mingle with the other guests and meet new friends. If you like antiques, you will enjoy seeing many pieces here that have been in Rod's family for years. If your lucky, Rod will even share some of his delicious recipes with you.
This is the second time we have stayed here(this time for our 36th Anniversary), and look forward to more visits in the future.
Barry & Sandra
Loganville, Ga.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
36 years - congratulations! We know that takes a lot of work. Well Done.
And thank you for seeing what we put into the Inn on Charlotte. It's more to us than another B&B, it's an expression of our lives. We think Mom (Charlotte) would have been proud.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Clean, clean, clean!!! Ann and the staff were so nice, the room was lovely, right in the heart of town and the breakfasts were excellent.
One of the nicest B&B's we've stayed at and fairly priced.
We were able to walk to everything and they helped us choose places for meals, made calls for us. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It's our pleasure to make your stay in St Augustine the best it can be - We'll see you again at the Inn on Charlotte soon? Hope so.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Couldn't ask for a better stay in St. Augustine! My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Inn on Charlotte twice now, and we recommend it to everyone! It is clean, cozy, and in the perfect location . We love to walk right across the street to the tini martini bar at night. The staff is exceptional and friendly, and the breakfast is to die for! We had the french toast the first time we stayed, and a year later were SO excited to hear that they were making it again on the day we were there!

Room Tip: We love the Marjoirie K Rawlings room! so cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Yes, the Bungalow is a very popular room for the romantics - Thank you for returning to the Inn on Charlotte, it was great seeing you again.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Inn on Charlotte is an incredible experience in a city packed with history but a bit lacking in the hospitality scene. Several rooms require off-site parking, but off-sight means down the block and is not a hassle at all. We stayed in Anna Marcotte's Hideaway, which is on the 2nd floor if the carriage house behind the main inn. The room initially felt a little small, but it's very well appointed, warmly decorated in a contemporary style, and very clean. The 2 person shower is a great novelty, with 2 shower opposing shower heads and several waist high sprayers. The bathroom is also an excellent use of space and fully functional. Given the chance, we'd stay there again and/or for an extended period. It was everything we needed with great comfort, style and character! This B&B is right in the Old City though, so be ware if you want silence - until about 11:00pm you can hear bands playing on outdoor restaurant decks. It didn't bother us, as enjoying the local scene was our goal and we were out until around that time anyway. It did seem like the noise exposure could be unique to carriage house, as in the main house common area it was completely quiet around the same times (you must stop in for a cookie before retiring for the night!)

It's the character of the inn, staff and the owner that push this place right over the top. The common areas are simply beautiful, while still being 100% comfortable and functional for a midday break, evening cocktail hour (5pm-6pm), and breakfast. Fresh cookies, pretzels, and an array of beverages are always available; self-serve when the staff has gone and full-serve when they're on-duty. Each of the staff was warm, offered local suggestions that panned out without fail, and routinely asked if any comforts were needed. We felt at home; I don't know how else to put it. The grounds are immaculate; the front porch is an oasis.

Breakfast: You'll want this place to be a BBL&D, not just a B&B. The owner whips up masterful dishes that are toned down to please picky palates, but creative/sophisticated/delicious enough to keep the foodies happy too. Day 1: Strawberry soup, tex-mex soufflé, and banana blueberry bread. Coffee, a great selection of tea, and OJ are daily staples. Day 2: Poached pear with chilled almondine cream sauce, sausage patty and the fluffiest and best Belgian waffles I've ever had. They were accompanied by a homemade warm apple cider syrup. Will he ever cook lunch and dinner? Let's hope so!!! Nothing here goes from freezer to microwave to table; fresh and homemade is the order of the day.

In a sentence: The Inn on Charlotte is your home away from home that might actually be nicer than being at home no matter how fortunate you are!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Wow, what an amazing review - this has got to be the most detailed we've seen, thank you. We are happy we could be a little part of your holiday in St Augustine. We look forward to your return to the Inn on Charlotte.

Yours,
Rod, Ann, Ginny & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Address: 52 Charlotte St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1918, the Inn on Charlotte Street is an elegant bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a quiet brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn On Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.