We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn On Charlotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn On Charlotte
52 Charlotte St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Breakfast
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Excellent location, nice room, helpful staff, incredible breakfast, late afternoon snacks and wine. What more can you ask for!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    623
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
509
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
fla
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2007

Very nice example of Saint Augustine B&B. Well located, and Lynne, the owner, and staff are great. Breakfasts are really incredible. Very accommodating and friendly.

Just avoid "The Tower" room #8 -- bed is the worst we have ever experienced. The box springs are totally shot and every time one of us turned over it woke the other with a horrid squeaky, grinding sound - plus it's like sleeping in a bowl because my wife and I ended up on top of each other repeatedly because of the bad box springs.

Also in the Tower Room, there is no place to hang your clothes for some reason. All it takes is a simple hook or hanger on, for example, the back of the bathroom door, but no --no hangers for you!

Other guests we talked to didn't seem to have the same problems, so I highly recommend a diffrerent room.

Last time we went to Saint Augustine we stayed at The Casablanca, and it was okay I guess, but next time we'll probably go with the Hilton. If nothing else, they serve coffee really early, and, as an early riser, that's something I like. A lot.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

You really can’t fault the location of this B&B, right in the heart of Old Town, within a very short stroll of many attractions, restaurants and bars.

All rooms are individually themed and we stayed in the King’s Tower which was a lovely room in a separate building to the rear of the main house. One of the reasons we chose this room was the fact that it had a private balcony/outdoor area which proved a lovely secluded place to have a spot of time to ourselves before going out in the evening. A point to note though is that it’s right next to the air conditioning unit of the property next door, so may be a little noisy for some. We still think the extra space and privacy is nice, so would probably choose that room again if we went back rather than the rooms in the main house.

The lady at check in was lovely and very chatty and helpful, providing us with a map of the area and some excellent restaurant recommendations. The owner, Lynne, was very helpful in our back and forth emails.

The room itself was clean and tidy, though the bed did remind me of the fairy tale about the princess and the pea! (look it up!) There was no pea as the bed was extremely comfortable, but there were several mattresses, which made the bed very high, hence the reference…

The bathroom in this particular room is split into two. The sink and toilet are in a separate room and there is very luxurious toilet paper, almost like cloth – I would be quite interested in getting something similar at home (yes, I know that sounds strange!!!). The shower part has a screen door which opens directly into the bedroom and the bathmat is actually in the bedroom - which is fine for us, but may be something to note.

One thing to look out for at this B&B is the special offers on their website – they are excellent. We got a complimentary ‘Sail Away to Romance’ cruise on the Schooner Freedom sailing ship together with a free chilled bottle of champagne (you don’t have to have them on the same night of your stay).

We are in two minds about the breakfasts – we only went down to the dining room for one as we had a lie in on our second day and were leaving early the next. The communal table is not really ‘us’ though I realise it may suit many people (the other guests were very nice, but we would have preferred to be in and out quickly so we could explore the area). The main issue is that you aren’t at all sure when breakfast is finished as the servers are so unobtrusive. You seem to get melon in some shape or form to start (that was on the table on our last day when we handed in the room keys too), then something else. Unfortunately, the day we took breakfast, the ‘something else’ was sweet pancakes which we both dislike and then no one appeared again – ever. There was butter on the table and we were hoping for some toast.

There is free parking at the back of the property.

St Augustine is beautiful. We’ve visited before on a day trip, but it’s the first time we’ve stayed and it was definitely worth it, there is so much to see and it’s very eclectic compared to many places in Florida.

I think it’s unfortunate that this B&B isn’t higher in the rankings here on TA - we would definitely consider staying again. I suspect the reason for it being lower down the list is more due to the fact that you can only book directly through the owner’s website rather than through other sites via the ‘check rates’ button. We too may have missed it out that way if other places had been available which would have been a shame.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Breakfast setup
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

Our stay in January was the 4th time we have stayed at the Inn, Lynne the new owner has moved the Inn onto a higher level, she was warm and inviting, the wine and nibbles at 6pm are a great way to meet the other guests.
We had a great breakfast around a large table, the quiche we had on the first morning was the best ever (what was in it?)
We stayed in the Sothern Hospitality suite on the ground floor, we had some of the most restful sleep on our vaction on that wonderful bed.
St Augustine is on your doorstep, just step outside onto one of the oldest streets in the USA,
Thank you Lynne for your hospitality

  • Liked — The warm welcome wjrn we arrived and the wonderful breakfasts
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2006

This was my fist B&B stay, so forgive me if i am too generous. I have no other to compare it to but hotel experiences. I loved this B&B! Maybe it was the great guests who were there that weekend or the fact that the innkeepeer had just bought the place and might have been in perfect form (still excited) as a hostess.

Whatever it was, my boyfriend and I could not have felt more at home. We are an interracial couple and no one made us feel uncomfortable at all.

The breakfasts were a delight. Small talk at the table always turned into laughter and travel anecdotes. The servings were generous. I was worried they would be something lame like a piece of toast, marmalade, and cheap coffee. But I'm glad to say that wasn't so.

The best part of the city, for me, was this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on Charlotte Street for Valentine's Day last year. The Inn is a sister to the Casablanca Inn, which is where you check in, eat breakfast, and talk to the concierge. The Inn on Charlotte Street doesn't have a front desk of it's own, but is literally acroos the ally from Casablanca Inn, so basically is just an extension. Our room was a good size, with a great bathroom with jacuzzi tub. Close to everything you would want to see in St. Augustine...we never used the car once. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2004

My husband and I visited this quaint B&B, Christmas 2003. It was a romantic time. We were lucky enough to get the Verandah Room. It has a fireplace and a jacuzzi in the room. It is on the second floor and has a door out to the balcony overlooking the bay.

While this structure was built in 1914, you can tell that is has been loved and cared for. It is simply gorgeous and the furnishings are lovely.

The only negative I could find about this B&B is that the toilet area did not have a wall, yet a partition and no door. Little privacy. That kinda puts a temporary damper on the romance, but it is quickly overcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnOnCharlotte, Owner at Inn On Charlotte, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you. And you will be happy to hear there is a water closet in this room now.
Come meet me, Rodney the new owner of the Inn on Charlotte.
Yours,
Rod, Rae Ann, Ann and Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn On Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Charlotte

Address: 52 Charlotte St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1918, the Inn on Charlotte Street is an elegant bed and breakfast in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We are just steps from the bay front on a quiet brick-lined street. The home has been lovingly restored to reflect its original grandeur and is carefully decorated with antique furnishings and accessories. As a bed and breakfast since 1993, the Inn on Charlotte has become known for its Southern hospitality which, of course, means relaxation and comfort for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Charlotte Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn On Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn On Charlotte to your Saves list