We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuine Victorian Experience in a fantatsic setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penny Farthing Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Penny Farthing Inn to your Saves list
Penny Farthing Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   83 Cedar Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
Sidmouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A genuine Victorian Experience in a fantatsic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Penny Farthing Inn is one of the most unusual places I have every stayed. It just oozes charm and genuine Victorian attmosphere. We stayed in the Victoria Room with its own balcony and even a hammmock together with 2 rocking chairs. The owners are charming and very helpful. Free wine and sherry together with some nibbles on arrival went down very well. The decor has to be seen to be believed and really matches the atmosphere of St Augustine which is itself quite amazing for anywhere never mind Florida. This is really a B&B rather than a hotel and altjhough it appears expensive it to my mind was good value for money for St Augustine and by comparison to other places there. The only thing that slightly let it down was the breakfast which was a suasage stew which I understanbd is only done when they are very busy. None of us ate it but we were offered an alternative. A better choice of breakfast at all times would make this B&B an exceptional one.

Room Tip: Victoria Room but teh bed is high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    46
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
30
295
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This delightful establishment is in the historic district's heart. We were greeted by name at the door by Marie. She explained the B&B's name: the old-time bicycle we call the "Ordinary" is called the Penny Farthing in the UK, because of the relative sizes of the wheels (you may know that already, but I didn't). Marie and her husband David are from York, England, and she still retains the accent after 40 years in America. Complimentary wine in evening, ditto the sherry in the room and pre-breakfast coffee. Breakfast at 9 was UK-style sausage with apple cinnamon topping on French toast. The high-topped bed is provided with a step, if one needs it. Entirely private, the "Treetop" room is over a utility room, so no noise from the outside, whatsoever. Lovely place, smiling as I type; we'd stay there, any time..

Room Tip: I loved the Treetop room, but the steps to get there may daunt some. It was also the farthest off t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This inn is very quaint, and the owners are very personable, helpful and kind. The breakfast was fantastic! The rooms are spacious, and nearly every one has it's own porch/balcony. The decor is beautiful - very Victorian, which I love! Every afternoon and evening, wine is available, and each room has a decanter of sherry. It is easily within walking distance of The Lightner Museum, Flagler College, and all the quaint shops. We loved it here, and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here one night with my mom on our way to the Keys and wanted to stay our whole week. My good impressions began when I called to see if my mother, who walks with a cane, would be able to navigate around the place. The gentleman made sure we were on the ground floor with only 4 solidly hand-railed steps to go up. When we arrived we were greeted with a smile and shown to "La Casita", our lovely room. The fireplace took away the chill in the evening before sleep and the morning before showers. Victorian decorations matched the leaded windows and lace room divider.

Afternoon brought chocolate cake and tea, and wine was sitting out as well - I had wine and cake on the front porch while on a business call. Breakfast was served on the pretty porch just outside our room by an attentive, friendly staff. They were quite willing to make tea and OJ from my mother's bottled water since Mom has to avoid public water due to allergies.

The location couldn't be better- on the block beside the Leightner Museum, across from Flager College and right in the central historic area but on a quiet side street. Made for a nice walk in the morning before breakfast.

Lastly, I can't say enough about how lovely the staff was. Friendly, helpful, professional, and personable. We got to meet the owner's daughter and granddaughter and talk about many things with them. We were welcomed and made to feel as if we were home.

I WILL go back to St. Augustine- a single night was not enough- and I WILL stay at the Penny Farthing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My Husband and Ihave never stayed at a B&B till now. we stayed 1 night and it was amazing.. From the time we walked in till the time we checked out the Family made us feel so welcome, taking the time to stop and talk to see if there was anything we needed. This was also the weekend of the renewing their Vows, but that did not stop them from including everyone there that weekend as well. Breakfast was amazing. I will be staying there again, I cannot wait to stay in everyroom.
Thank you,
Cindy Vogel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The minute we walked into The Penny Farthing Inn we were greeted with welcoming arms. Marie showed us the house which was built in 1890 and shared a bit of history. We stayed in Penny's Attic and the room was filled with Love. Literally, love notes left by guests including ourseleves were fun to find and read. After a day of walking and eating and shopping the Attic was a welcoming find. Marie's breakfasts were amazing and Betty was a part of that. Dave her husband always had a smile and enjoyed being a grandpa that weekend.We so enjoyed our stay and rate it the BEST in St Augustine. Our plans to return our in our near future plans:) Thanks Marie for helping our Anninversary/Valentine weekend one to remember!

Room Tip: Hard to say....didn't see all but the Attic is awesome:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Penny Farthing on our very first trip to St. Augustine. The minute we stepped inside the door, we knew we had made the right choice! The atmosphere is warm and inviting and we even got a welcome hug from the owner herself! Wine, tea and cakes awaited us for our "afternoon tea" and we were given a key to the side door and told to come and go as we pleased and make our selves at home. The room was gorgeous, as is the rest of the house. Furnished with beautiful antiques, rugs and top quality linens. Breakfast was absolutely delicious! We would most definitely recommend the Penny Farthing to anyone looking for a warm, welcoming and charming place to stay! Derrell and Kim Stamp, Haliburton, ON

Room Tip: All the rooms are quaint, ours had a private balcony that was great. Go online and check out the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Penny Farthing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Inn

Address: 83 Cedar Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Penny Farthing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny Farthing Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.