We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent from start to finish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penny Farthing Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Penny Farthing Inn to your Saves list
Penny Farthing Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   83 Cedar Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
lauderhill
1 review
“Excellent from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My reason for choosing this B&B was first due to the excellent reviews, which I needed as I had never stayed at one. But still you never know! The owner, Marie, from her gentle guidance when we got lost getting there and all the way through out stay, absolutely no complaints. The whole place is charming, clean, felt like we were visiting a wonderful home in England. It was my daughter's 16th and in the room we were greeted with balloons and a sweet 16 balloon, and on her birthday at breakfast she got a delicious cupcake with a candle was to make a wish, and a card from Marie, which was such a sweet touch. And breakfast! So sumptious, keeps you filled for all your sightseeing, of which there is a lot. On our last morning, we got afull English breakfast, and the day before eggs benedict, and on and on. And afternoon tea, the assortment of eats and drinks, delicious scones, cake, excellent coffee, teas, white and red wine, not to mention the decanter of sherry in the room. We stayed in the Cherry Rose, which was very clean, charming and cozy, and the bed was seriously comfortable, and we had a balcony to sit out on. The Inn is also close to everything; from the day we arrived till the day we left, the car never moved, and the house is situated far enough away (a block or two) to have peace and quiet, but close enough to all the main shopping areas, restaurants, Flagler College, etc. I could go on and on. We're going back December, and then in June 2013. This will be my place to stay whenever I'm visiting wonderful St. Augustine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    46
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
30
295
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Apopka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a great place to stay! The Penny Farthing Inn is perfectly located--close enough to town to walk everywhere yet quiet enough to get a great night's sleep. Penny's Attic shows off a great view of the city from its rooftop private porch. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. Marie and Betty are both so helpful and an absolute pleasure to be around. We joked that they must have our room "bugged" because they always had exactly what we wanted when we wanted it! Breakfast was being put on the table as we got down the stairs. I mentioned to my husband around noon the one day how I'd love to have a cookie. When we went downstairs, Marie had just pulled a batch out of the oven! Needless to say, the cookies were amazing, but then again, so was everything else about the Penny Farthing Inn. We cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: Penny's Attic is a great room for couples looking for a little privacy and a lot of romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Loved our stay at the Penny Farthing Inn for our first trip to St. Augustine. Very friendly hosts who obviously were interested in making our stay a pleasant one. Our room was very comfy and quiet, a nice place to return to after a long day of sight-seeing. It was very warm and humid during our stay and the air conditioning and ceiling fan in our room kept the room temp comfortable at all times. The breakfast room was very cozy and charming. The Inn is right down the street from the Lightner Museum, so an easy walk into all of the historic downtown areas. We appreciated that we could park on-site, so it was easy to come and go when we wanted to explore other places in the area by car. The Inn offered everything we wanted at a reasonable rate. Definitely would stay here again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great B and B. Marie and Dave are great hosts. Clean, beautiful rooms, quiet rooms, great breakfast and afternoon snacks including wine. Great location, walking distance all the great St Augustine attractions. Right down the street from Flagler College. We stayed in the treetop room, great romantic location, beautiful front porch w/ rockers.We had car trouble and had to stay an extra day, they were so accomadating. Even stored our luggage while we waited for our car offering tea and to sit in the parlor. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not only is the inn utterly charming, it's clean and well cared for. The owners and staff (Marie, Dave, and Betty - and Marie and Dave's son Matthew) make you feel totally at home. We had delightful chats with them, but they also sensed when we wanted to be on our own. They are all WONDERFUL - and we particularly loved Marie and Betty, as we spent more time with them. We stayed in the Tree House room and had rocking chairs outside on our own little balcony, a private entrance - which was a wonderful amenity - and an old-fashioned feel with a flat screen TV and DVD player. The bathroom arrangement is a bit odd - toilet, tub/shower, and sink all in a row but in separate little rooms. If a couple is new to each other, they might not like this. The walls of these rooms also don't reach the ceiling, further impeding your privacy. But there are plenty of other gorgeous rooms to choose from. Walking distance to many attractions, to downtown, to the fort, to the pirate museum, and much more. We stayed four nights and I would have LOVED to stay two more. Our compliments and thanks to the entire Penny Farthing family for giving us one of the best vacations we've had in a long time. We DEFINITELY will be going back ... I hear Penny's Attic is ideal for the romantic couple. You definitely should go here! Happy vacationing! P.S. The gourmet breakfasts are out of this world!

Room Tip: I heard a lot of praise for Penny's Attic but ours and all the other rooms seem to be very priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here for a romantic getaway. The property is stunning! Dave and Marie, the owners were kind, informative, and accomodating!

You can't beat the location, either! Everything is in walking distance!

I will return!

Room Tip: The top floor in the main house is the best, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

As someone who travels for a living I would highly recommend the penny farthing inn for your stay in saint Augustine. The current owner and his staff are amazing people and make you feel at home while your in the prime location to explore the town. Rooms are always clean and beautiful, main dining area offering complimentary food, and wine this is by far the best spot to enjoy the town and relax. thank you penny farthing inn for a great stay everytime! :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penny Farthing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Inn

Address: 83 Cedar Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Penny Farthing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny Farthing Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.