We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacher's Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beacher's Lodge to your Saves list
Beacher's Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6970 A1A South, Saint Augustine, FL 32086   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Salem, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed at Beacher's Lodge September 7th through the 10th, 2010. We searched several places online that had good reviews that were within our price range, but none were directly on the ocean. As I searched the Beacher's Lodge website I found out that they had specials for the 4th floor if you got one that was above the pool area. We got a room with a remarkable view for $93 a night!! Our balcony had a great view of the ocean. The room was clean, we had a queen size bed in the bedroom and a full kitchen and living room. It was perfect for us. The bathroom was a little small, but your on vacation so you shouldn't be spending that much time in the room. The rooms were fully furnished and they cleaned our room, gave us clean towels, and coffee every day. If you are looking for something that is on the ocean without paying an arm and a leg this place is perfect. If you are looking for luxury this place isn't for you. We will definitely be back if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    66
    26
    18
    9
See reviews for
76
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I've stayed here a couple times now with my grandmother, husband and other family. I've seen a variety of different rooms and all of them have been perfectly adequate and comfortable. We had one problem with ants in the kitchen of one of them, but otherwise, cleanliness was great (aside from the sand that gets everywhere in a beach-side condo).

I love Anastasia Island and St Augustine. My grandparents used to live just down the road at Ocean Gallery for a while. Those condos were more elegant and bigger, but as a holiday rental place, Beacher's Lodge is great. The decor is done individually by each owner, and some have better taste than others, but I think that adds character, and I like that about it. Staff have always been very friendly and helpful when I've been there, and the views, pool and beach are just fantastic.

In general, it's a perfect base for a fun seaside holiday, no real problems and I have fond memories of the area and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Don't be misled by the good reviews (I was). I think the reviews must come from the condominium owners that are trying to attract revenue to rent out their rooms.
When we booked our rooms with Paulette (month prior), we wanted a first floor queen room with pet availabilty. We looked throughout the website and settled on room 133. When we arrived they informed us that they changed our room to #304. We reserved a first floor room and they never informed us with this change. Of course, now, at arrival, they had no 1st floor to offer. We even arrived before our "booked" room was occupied but they would not accommodate us.
My husband likes to go barefoot (especially at a beach location) and I noticed after the first hour that the soles of his feet were black and filthy. The sliding doors were difficult to open and did not lock. The curtains were falling off the curtain rods. The tiled floors definitely need replacement. The kitchen is extremely tiny -- thank goodness we planned to eat out!
We could hardly get in the front door because the entrance with a credenza made it impossible to even open the door fully. The bedspread looks like it it hasn't been cleaned since the 80's. The sheets were so thin you could see through them. The decor needs a complete update. And the killer is: It was $135 per night and a $50 (non refundable pet fee) for our small pet.
At this time, being a holiday weekend, all rooms in the area were booked. We were stuck!
On the last day, we asked if we could have a late check out. (1 hour extension) They told us that would be another $40 fee.
The small pool was shaded by the building all day except for 2 corners. We loved the beach -- probably should have pitched a tent (if they would allow it) -- it would have been cleaner.
Don't be fooled by the website pics. At least, the room they gave us was terrible.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I was there two nights and one night was horrible and the other was fantastic, allow me to explain. Our first night we were on the ground floor facing another unit that was being used by some people who were loud and up late. People were coming and going in and out of their unit constantly, knocking on the door and talking loudly while walking up and down the hall til at least 3am. The units are small and the bedrooms are right on the hallway so you can hear anyone talking in the hallway. I slept very little. I asked them to move away from our window and talk somewhere else and they did which helped but the constant knocking and closing of the door kept me up all night.

The next morning I went into the office and asked to be moved. The staff was very accommodating and moved me up to the 4th floor with no extra charge. It was beautiful, great view, no noise except the ocean. The room was even nicer, newer furniture and appliances and just in better shape. If that were my only experience there I'd be rating this with 4's and 5's.

Overall the building is older but it looks like they maintain it well, although it could use some new paint and an overhaul. The ground floor unit was not nearly as nice as the upper floor one. So, if I'd consider going back I would definitely specify that I get a unit on the 4th floor and overlooking the pool as these units didn't have doors facing one another. These units are individually owned so your experience could vary depending on where they put you. If I go back I'd inspect the room before I accepted it to make sure it was up to my standard.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I just read an awful review of the place I almost found it impossible to leave on Monday!!! My experience could not have been better. I found Beacher's Lodge in a St. Augustine guide and after asking about August availability I came up for one of the most pleasant, most relaxing vacations EVER!!! My friend came by to go out for dinner after I arrived last Tuesday and she's pretty "high maintenance." Her first remarks were about how nice the room was and the tile floors (which I loved, my 70-puond dog, not so much!). From the time I checked in (early and very accommodating-in fact everyone I had dealings with on staff could not have been nicer or more helpful) until the time I left I had a blast-no, I didn't sit on the balcony or cook full meals-I can cook at home! The restaurants I did dine at were all fantastic-Wildflower Cafe, Sunset Grille, Le Pavillon, Some were merely ok, but that's the chance you take...Great weekend breakfast buffet at Cafe 11 for $10 and delicious Kona coffee for less than two bucks a large cup! Yoga on the beach Tuesday and Saturday mornings was awesome (and free). I was asleep on the couch every night by 10PM and did not feel threatened or scared at all when I woke at 2:30-3:30 or even 4AM to walk my dog. The area was qute deserted, but it wasn't what I'd call "the hood."

I would go back tomorrow given the chance and will probably return in a few weeks. Very comfortable beds and awesome stay in a great friendly atmosphere. May not be great for those with physical challenges, as there is a lot of walking and stairs. The pool was wonderful and the soaking tub in my room could not have been nicer or better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We were one of four refugees from a nasty rundown hotel a little further north, and were greeted warmly, treated courteously and given a little history about the other place. Our medium sized dog was welcomed, and I feel the $50 per pet per stay fee is fair. Our suite was comfortable for me and my 2 teens. In fact, they LOVED the murphy bed and exclaimed over how soft and inviting it was! Everything was clean and appeared to be updated. There were dvd's available, and two flat screen plasma tv's. We really felt very spoiled by those! The pool was clean and a good size, although we preferred the beach. I loved that they had hoses and showers with which to clean off sand and salt. I have already recommended this place to others who travel with pets, and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is not a 5 star fancy lodge but it is old florida and provides all you need to have a wonderful vacation without spending a small fortune. We stayed in a top floor apartment. We had a full kitchen, a master bedroom with a King size bed, two twin pull down beds in the living room and a couch that opened into a full size bed. We had our three grandchildren with us and plenty of room for all to sleep. The kids loved the balcony that overlooked the wonderful beach. We would spend hours at the beach and then come up and cook up something and then spend the evening at the pool. The Lodge is located at Crescent Beach. One of the most beautiful beaches in this area. You are only minutes from the historic town of St. Augustine. This is our second year coming and I know we will come again next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacher's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacher's Lodge

Address: 6970 A1A South, Saint Augustine, FL 32086
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine
#20 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
#21 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacher's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacher's Lodge is a condo hotel right on the beach... Beautiful Crescent Beach at the south end of St. Augustine. Only 10 miles to historic St. Augustine, just off the beaten path. Each suite is decorated differently but they all have great views of the ocean. Full Kitchens and the amenities of home, at hotel pricing. Enjoy the view of the ocean from the comfort of your living room. One of the few hotels directly on the beach. Some condos at Beacher's Lodge allow pets, but not all. Heated oceanfront pool is enjoyable year round. Enjoy more than a hotel room can offer in our one bedroom condos and our kitchenette suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beacher's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacher`s Hotel Saint Augustine
Beachers Hotel Saint Augustine
Beachers Lodge St Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacher's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.