We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Solana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de Solana to your Saves list
Casa de Solana
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Aviles Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed at this lovely bed & breakfast the week of April 21st. I loved the room we stayed in the first 2 nights! The room we stayed in the last night, (Isabella) unfortunately had a bad smell coming from the bathroom the whole time and the bed was not as comfortable as the other room. The breakfasts were amazing! I also really enjoyed the variety of tea and the raspberry white chocolate scones were delicious! The courtyard was very pretty and relaxing. It was also nice being close to everything in the city. We did not have to drive anywhere except to the lighthouse & Alligator Farm on the island. Thank you for such a wonderful stay! And thank you Jeff for being so nice and accommodating! I miss this place already and can't wait to come back one day!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
While it's great to hear that your first two nights were so enjoyable I'm sorry to learn that your second room wasn't up to the same standards. We're always more than happy to accommodate you whenever we can by moving you to a different room, so please know that for future visits. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback -- we look forward to seeing you again the next time you head down our way!

All the best,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    54
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
195
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Minorcan Suite in April. We were very pleased with the room- clean, comfortable, good internet, refrigerator, nice patio seating. Social hour very limited snacks. Was only there for 1 breakfast, the eggs florentine were very heavy on the florentine, not too great. When reserving, missed the info about no meat served. Not too sure the "homemade" cookies were actually homemade. All of that is minor, but they make a big deal about it on the website. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was really the winning point, easy walk to everything, including some cafes and galleries right around the corner.

Room Tip: Minorcan Suite was on the ground floor, very convenient for luggage, as well as for utilizing the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I'm happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed everything from our location to the suite that you stayed in. On the note of the food that we serve, I can assure you that everything out of our kitchen is homemade with love. I'm sorry if something you tried wasn't quite to your liking. That said, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to see you again the next time you head our way from Kansas City.

All the best,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

SUCH a WONDERFUL place!! We enjoyed everything about it! Our room ( the Segui) was Perfect! Loved the furnishings, the balcony, the nice big bathroom, even a little fridge! The breakfasts were amazing and the afternoon wine and cheese, etc delicious and relaxing in the Very comfortable dining room. GREAT location!! AND, the Best part - Jeff and Lynne (with an E :-) could Not be More Accommodating - friendly, helpful, attentive - I could go on and on! Lynne personally guided us to the parking, gave us cookies fresh from the oven when we happened by at the right time :), gave us The Best restaurant recommendations, and was just so personable! Jeff's breakfasts are Amazing and he was so nice to share some of the history of Casa de Solana and to make suggestions for future visits. All the staff were Very pleasant and friendly. We're looking So forward to our next stay! Wouldn't stay any where else! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I can't even tell you how happy it makes us to read your glowing feedback. It's wonderful to hear that you loved everything from your room down to the breakfasts we served. Thanks so much for taking the time to spread the word. We can't wait to see you again the next time you head down our way.

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The best place in St Augustine to stay for the perfect get away. Located in the heart of the city and in walking distance to great shopping and food. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We brought our dog and he was just as welcomed as we were. If your going to this city THIS IS THE PLACE YOU WANT TO STAY!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Your compliments mean the world to us! I'm glad that our location was just what you were looking for on your St. Augustine getaway. Thanks for taking the time to share your recommendation and spread the word. We'll look forward to seeing you again the next time you make it down from Savannah.

All the best,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Casa de Solana is a warm and inviting B & B nestled in the heart of Old Town St. Augustine. It's rooms are beautifully decorated, complimentary breakfasts are delicious and the staff (especially Lynne) are gracious and accomodating.

Comfy rooms, lovely public spaces and proximity to restaurants and sightseeing makes it the perfect getaway location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
While reading your review I couldn't help but smile, Marianne. I'm glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your recommendation. We hope to see you again!

All the best,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Casa de Solana last week and I can't say enough about how pleased we were with our stay. The friendly, helpful staff, wonderful breakfasts, perfect location and lovely accommodations. We traveled with our large dog who was treated like Royalty. We will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
It was our pleasure to welcome you all (dog included) to St. Augustine! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed everything from the breakfasts to our location and hope that you'll join us again someday. Thanks for taking the time to share your kudos with us here on Trip Advisor.

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Overall, Casa de Solana was a great choice for an anniversary getaway. The staff were friendly and helpful, the facility was unique and romantic and the breakfast was great. I would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We're always excited when we can help make your special occasion extra romantic and carefree. Happy anniversary to you both! We wish you lots of happiness in the upcoming year and hope to see you the next time you head down our way.

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Solana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Solana

Address: 21 Aviles Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Solana 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast is where old world charm meets modern amenities and where epic romance begins!Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast takes its name from the original owner, Don Manuel Lorenzo Solana, a member of one of the city’s first Spanish families. Today, Casa de Solana is a 10-room, full-service St. Augustine B&B. You’ll often be greeted by the smell of something fabulous going on in the kitchen, like cinnamon raisin soufflé, spinach quiche, apple harvest pancakes or roasted potatoes. The dining room presents with gorgeous dark wood floors, intimate seating, and elegant place settings, and each room has been uniquely decorated by the owners.Guests and passer-byers alike love the seasonally lush courtyard with jasmine gone wild and an impressive collection of romantic cherub statuary, making it the perfect wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa de Solana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Solana Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Solana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.