We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Retreat just a few blocks from the heart of the old city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saragossa Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Saragossa Inn to your Saves list
The Saragossa Inn
34 Saragossa Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Relaxing Retreat just a few blocks from the heart of the old city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

This was our third stay at The Saragossa Inn, and our experience was outstanding as always! This has become our "home away from home" in St. Augustine. Each of the rooms at the Saragossa are thoughtfully furnished with tasteful antiques and artwork, as well as practical items like a mini refrigerator, sink and coffeemaker, and even an umbrella! We love the private entrances and outdoor porches- they are the perfect place to sit with a glass of wine in the evening after a day spent walking around town. The inn is located on a quiet street away from the noise and crowds, but dining, shops and entertainment are just a few minutes walk away. We usually park the car and forget it while we are here! Gibbs and Chuck are wonderfully gracious and thoughtful hosts, and Gibbs prepares an outstanding three course breakfast with DESSERT - yum! Just plan on a small lunch... To sum it up, The Saragossa Inn is THE place to stay in St. Augustine for a relaxing and romantic retreat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    17
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
182
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Staying here has been the best experience you could ever imagine. They were so accommodating in every way possible to make our stay the best. The place was very clean, the breakfast was outstanding and tasteful. They go over and beyond to make sure you have a great stay. We look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

This cozy little cottage/bungalow is just a few blocks away from the main area but is definitely worth the few extra steps to the central area of the historic district. I loved its location since I live in Orlando and wanted to escape for the weekend. Strolling down a residential street away from all the hub bub gave me the peace and quiet I was looking for. I stayed in a room called "The GardenMist." It was beautifully decorated and came with all of the plush bedding a girl could ask for. Gibbs and Chuck provided topnotch service and the food was incredibly amazing. Being an ex-wife of a chef...I have learned to appreciate food and The Saragossa Inn has it. They have it all and I will definitely stay there again. HIGHLY recommend The Saragossa Inn!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay in the Gardenmist Room. From the street the inn is rather unassuming making you quite unprepared for the size and beauty of the rooms. Our room was thoughtfully furnished with antiques and artwork, mini refrigerator, sink and coffeemaker. We loved the private entrance and porch off the back of the house. The umbrellas in the room came in handy on a rainy evening. The inn is located on a nice side street way from the tourist noise but within a couple of blocks of all of the main sites in the city. Take a walk before breakfast through the town to experience it as it must have been long ago before the tourist hordes, sightseeing trams and souvenir shops dominated the city.

Gibbs, the owner, prepares a wonderful three course breakfast--on our visit a fruit course followed by an omelet and ending with a decadent baked chocolate dessert. You certainly will not need lunch!

By the way we got a wonderful last minute deal on the room by visiting the Visitor Center just before we arrived. Gibbs calls in last minute vacancies at a reduced rate. while other inns were sticking to their standard rates he offered a terrific value on a mid week night.--especially when you consider the fantastic breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

I can't say much that the other reviews haven't already said. This place is amazing! Gibbs is a wonderful innkeeper, and his breakfasts are the BEST we have EVER had, hands down!!! The location is just a couple of blocks from the attractions restaurants. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This was our first time in a B&B and I can say we had a wonderful time. The room was clean and comfortable. The 3 course breakfast was delicious and so beautifully displayed. Loved the private entrance. The massage was excellent. Mr. Gibbs was truly pleasant and helpful with ideas on what to do and where to go eat. We got great deal and we will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Delightfully appointed, quiet, private, wonderful 3-course breakfasts, excellent hosts- highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saragossa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saragossa Inn

Address: 34 Saragossa Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
began life as a 1924 Sears Craftsman Bungalow that has expanded over the passage of time and now houses two guest suites and four guest rooms, all with private entrances and private baths. The layout of the Saragossa will allow you all the privacy you want, yet is small enough for you to receive all the attention you need. The Saragossa is rustic and romantic, quaint and comfortable, relaxing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Saragossa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saragossa Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saragossa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.