We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be coming back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saragossa Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Saragossa Inn to your Saves list
The Saragossa Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Saragossa Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
Ozark, Alabama
1 review
“We'll be coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Saragossa Inn is perfectly located in a charming, quiet neighborhood with a short walk to everything in the historic district. The room we stayed in was lovely and the bed was so comfortable that we debated over whether or not to just stay in the room all day. The 3 course breakfast in the morning was downright divine!
Gibbs is a gracious host and we can't wait to stay at his Inn during our next stay in St. Augustine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    17
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
190
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I decided to try a B&B for the first time when going to St. Augustine for a couple of days. I'm so glad we picked the Saragossa Inn. As many have said the location is ideal if you are looking to be close (walking distance) to town but away from the hustle and bustle (and noise). Our room (Southwind) was very nice and clean. It was pretty spacious but I believe it is one of the more spacious rooms. There rooms are very private - everyone has their own entrance, outdoor space and off street parking; which is great.

Some of the reviews I read were complaining that the rooms weren't cleaned daily. I actually had no problem with this. They explained at check-in that this is for our privacy and Gibbs and his staff are more than willing to do it if you ask them.

Brunch (at 9:30 or 10:30) was OUTSTANDING! Ask Gibbs to make biscuits - best I've ever had.

We had a great time and we will definitely stay again when we return to St. Augustine. Thanks all for very nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A great B&B within walking distance of downtown in a nice quite area of town. BUT the only have two dining times for brunch, 0930 or 1030. Appro if we were in Europe but this is America. Plus they are pet friendly, SO if your neighbor has a young lab that likes to bark all of the time, good luck having any quite time!!!!!!!!!!! OK place but lotxs of problems! Going to Key West for next vacation :) Good gourmet food for the brunch do all is not bad :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesaragossainn, Owner at The Saragossa Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We’re glad you thought we have “a great B&B,” we think so too! We are also very proud of St. Augustine. It has the feel of an Old World European City AND it’s right here in America! We hope that some of that Old World charm carries through to our B&B. Our English-style Tea Room is the setting for our three-course BRUNCH served daily at 9:30 and 10:30 seatings. Many of our guests, who are here on vacation after all, prefer sleeping-in and appreciate our 10:30 seating.

And yes we do have pet-friendly rooms. And yes one afternoon we did have a dog who was unhappy about being left behind. But the owner was contacted and returned within 15 minutes to take care of the situation and there was no reoccurrence.

If there were other problems, the Innkeeper lives on site and is always just a phone call away. So we would have been happy to help if you had only let us know. Our goal is to provide our guests with a pleasant and individual stay in our home. We WANT you to enjoy your stay with us.

So to conclude, “BEWARE, the Saragossa Inn is “a great B&B” with ”good gourmet food” where all are welcome, including pets, and treated like family by an attentive Innkeeper and helpful staff.

Gibbs Moore, Owner/Innkeeper
Chuck Dunster, Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If staying at an impersonal hotel or resort has been your idea of a great vacation then you might consider trying something very different...this B&B is owner operated and the difference is fabulous. The room was romantic and quieter than any (even upscale) hotel my husband and have ever stayed. Instead of hotel furnishings you get a very creative and eclectic vision put together from years' worth of collecting by the owner(s).

The bed was quite comfortable, the water pressure strong with plenty of hot water; because of the heat we showered twice a day. It took us a little while to get oriented to the city, but when we did we realized that this lovely house was within easy walking distance of nearly everything we might desire to see.

Gibbs was a fountain of information and exuded warmth and competency from the time we walked in. If a guest needs anything it is never too much trouble, whether it be making reservations at a restaurant, or calling the tour trolley. My husband asked for ice so we could have a relaxing drink after a day of exploring and Gibbs came out of his house (next door) to provide it.

The daily brunch was always different and fueled us for most of the day until dinner without making us feel bloated! We arrived on a Thursday night and left on Sunday and had one of the best wedding anniversary getaways ever!

Room Tip: We had a large room at the front-I would recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Booked a three night stay, great location with its own parking behind the Inn and within easy waking distance of the city. Gibbs is a great Innkeeper and the three course breakfasts he prepares are out of this world. Gibbs and all his staff were really helpful and friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The location was great. Walkable to everything but nestled on a quiet side street with character. Room was cute and bed was very comfortable. Service was amazing. The staff was genuinely friendly and very accommodating. Brunch was delicious. Your stay comes with a daily 3 course brunch which was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I booked a room at the Saragoosa Inn for 3 nights and brought my 2 cats with me. The room was decorated in a French Country flair, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The breakfasts were delish, and John and Cherie (the assistant Inn Keepers) were so nice, helpful and accommodating. I had such a good experience and opted to stay another night which they easily arranged for me. I am planning to come back in one month.

Room Tip: There are two rooms out of the six which allow pets. The entrances are in the back and away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saragossa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saragossa Inn

Address: 34 Saragossa Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saragossa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
began life as a 1924 Sears Craftsman Bungalow that has expanded over the passage of time and now houses two guest suites and four guest rooms, all with private entrances and private baths. The layout of the Saragossa will allow you all the privacy you want, yet is small enough for you to receive all the attention you need. The Saragossa is rustic and romantic, quaint and comfortable, relaxing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Saragossa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saragossa Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saragossa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.