We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean, and Cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saragossa Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Saragossa Inn to your Saves list
The Saragossa Inn
34 Saragossa Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
Haverhill Mass.
1 review
“Quiet, Clean, and Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

The Saragossa Inn was exactly what we wanted and would expect from a B&B:
* centrally located to local attractions
* quiet and peaceful at night
* uniquely and tastefully furnished (some B&Bs go too bland and corporate - this room was unique and very nicely done)
* of course, nice breakfasts

Of the two of us, one had lived in Jacksonville many years ago and one had been through St Augustine as a kid. The area has grown but not in a bad way. This B&B truly is an easy walk to the fort and the waterfront - the town is compact.

The breakfasts were very nice - multiple courses, different every day - unique and elegant without being heavy or having 'try too hard' ingredients. The menu appeals to any taste.

The hosts were very helpful and eager to make recommendations, inquiries and reservations (we took a helicopter ride, which was fantastic). Restaurant recommendations were perfect - the Colombia on the pedestrian mall was moderately priced with terrific tapas.

All of this contributed to a wonderfully calm, easy and restorative weekend getaway.

  • Liked — location and quiet
  • Disliked — loose-mounted bathtub shower curtain (being replaced promptly - owners completing renovation)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    17
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
182
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

The Inn Keeper was on top of everything. The in is off the beaten path by only 1 and a half blocks makes it a perfect place to stay.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando,fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

We stayed here 2 days for a New Year's celebration and could not have found a more wonderful place. The breakfasts were decadent and thoughtful. Not your bagel and cream cheese or packaged muffin fare, it is three courses of tasty.

The room was clean, quiet, spacious, and wonderfully decorated. The location is within walking distance to just about everything.

The staff was extremely helpful and full of great suggestions and percise directions. I have recommended the Sargossa Inn to anyone who will listen to me.

  • Liked — value. Large room, great location, good food, great price
  • Disliked — internet service was weak
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

Very pleasant accomodations very close to the historic area - we simply walked everywhere and left the car in the parking lot of the inn, which was quite spacious.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful with recommendations for meals, tips for sight-seeing etc. The three course breakfasts were simply amazing - we skipped lunch all three days we were in town because after these breakfasts we didn't even get hungry until dinnertime. The host is quite a cook.
The room was outfitted with antiques and very quaint. Minor quibbles would be that the room was rather small, and the attached bathroom, while functional and in perfect working order, was a bit on the battered side. Everything was quite clean.
The only other drawback to this property was that there did not appear to be a common gathering room besides the breakfast dining room, which was part of the host's apartment on the top floor. It would have been nice to be able to decompress at night with our friends in a common room before heading off to bed.

That said, we found the inn to be a good value and very comfortable, and would not hesitate to recommend it or returnto it for future travels to St. Augustine.

  • Liked — friendly hosts
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debary, FL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

We have been taking weekend vacations in St. Augustine the same weekend in December for 3 years now. I do lots of research every year for just the right B&B to stay at. This year we booked late and had less to choose from. The Saragossa had just the right room with the amount of space we were looking for and because they had a weekend special we ended up staying for 3 nights. It was very easy when it came to booking the room. At first we were hesitant because we wanted to stay in Downtown but we soon realized we really loved the location of the Saragossa even more. It's quite close to all of our favorite places, WITHOUT the night time noises and busy streets on the weekends. Or room was beautiful, well decorated and clean. The owners, Chuck and Gibbs, are new owners of the Inn and are doing a great job of keeping the Inn and the guests very comfortable. They are friendly and knowledgeable when it comes to hospitality. The dining room was cozy and decorated for Christmas. The breakfasts every morning were cooked fresh and so tastey we would have loved to eat lunch and dinner there! From first course to the breakfast 'dessert' (my favorite is the Saragossa Pastry!), we commented every morning how GREAT Gibbs food was. The conversations with other the guests and the Innkeepers at breakfast gave us a really great start in the mornings. While there, we toured dozens of other Bed and Breakfasts in Historic St. Augustine and we can absolutely say that we know where we will be staying next year. It is the best choice, in our opinion, for location, accomodations, price and the experience of staying in a genuine historic B&B.

  • Liked — We loved the location and hospitality.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitland Park, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

I stayed at the Saragossa Inn for the Holiday Historic Inn Tour and was very pleased. We stayed in the Homewood Suite and were very happy with our accommodations. After viewing all the other B&Bs on the tour, I concluded that this was by far my favorite. The room was comfortable and well maintained; enough towels were supplied for the 3 of us staying in the room. Our room, like all the rooms at the inn, had its own private entrance. It was a wonderful 2 room suite, one queen and one full. The decor was elegant with adequate storage space for suitcases, clothes, etc. A 3 course breakfast was freshly prepared by the owners every morning which was out of this world! We especially loved the Saragossa Inn Pastry. The dining area was welcoming and quaint. Chuck and Gibbs were very personable and they made our trip very enjoyable. The location couldn’t have been better; it was 2 blocks from downtown but far enough to be quiet and private. I will defiantly be staying here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a B&B in St Augustine.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

The Saragossa is unique for a B&B in that each room has an outside entrance. The location can not be beat. The historical section of town is two blocks away. The owners, Gibbs and Chuck, are new here this year and appear to be making many changes/updates.
When we arrived in our room, Tidewater, the first thing my wife noticed was the soap in the shower was left over from the previous guests as were some shampoo bottles. The next evening when we returned to our room, we found the room had not been serviced. I spoke to Gibbs about this and was informed that they do not service the rooms unless requested. This information should be given when reservations are made. I got some fresh towels from him and went on. My wife felt the bathroom was dirty as if not cleaned from the previous guests. To me the whole idea of staying in a motel or B&B is to have someone take care of your room. I’ve learned from this and will always ask if the rooms are cleaned daily no matter where I stay. Breakfast was at 9:30 each morning, 8:30 would have been better. Gibbs is the chef and he is a very good one. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. I would stay here again provided the rooms were cleaned daily because the location is perfect. I don’t think my wife would.

  • Liked — Location and Breakfast
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaragossaInn, Owners at The Saragossa Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2007
Here at the Saragossa Inn, we are working everyday to make our rooms more appealing and more comfortable for our guests. We regret if we overlooked an element of housekeeping in our effort to ready this room for an early check-in.

At the Saragossa Inn, we respect our guests’ privacy by not disturbing your room during your stay with us. If you have specific housekeeping requests, we are happy to accommodate them. Our housekeeping policy is stated on our web site and posted in each room.

If you have a need, please let us know at the time of your visit, so that we can make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. We want you to feel like our home is your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saragossa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saragossa Inn

Address: 34 Saragossa Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
began life as a 1924 Sears Craftsman Bungalow that has expanded over the passage of time and now houses two guest suites and four guest rooms, all with private entrances and private baths. The layout of the Saragossa will allow you all the privacy you want, yet is small enough for you to receive all the attention you need. The Saragossa is rustic and romantic, quaint and comfortable, relaxing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Saragossa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saragossa Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saragossa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.