We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Homestead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alexander Homestead to your Saves list
Alexander Homestead
14 Sevilla St., Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Just what we needed...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

A much needed weekend getaway was what we were in search of and we were not disappointed. Making the reservation rather late for a Labor Day weekend I was plesantly surprised in the Green Room. The jacuzzi tub was so welcomed after touring the city. The house is very cozy, is situated in a nice, quiet reighborhood and is easilty within walking distance of historic downtown. We espeicailly enjoyed the relaxing rockers on the front porch. . Breakfast was served in a lay-backed manner and was delicious both mornings. Bonnie sure knows how to cook and somehow I am going to get her biscuit recipe from her. Bonnie and Terry made us feel like family. We look forward to staying here again and would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting St. Augustine

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    48
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
367
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just wanted to get away for the weekend and this was the place to do it. After walking around all day downtown we came home to a relaxing room with a swing to sit on, or a claw foot tub to take a bubble bath. We stayed in the Queen Anne room and I have no complaints. Breakfast was delicious and Terry was very sweet. Definitely a good place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was attending a wine tasting event hosted at the Alexander Homestead...From the moment my husband & I walked in to this beautiful Victorian home dating back to the late 19th Century, we felt as if we were visiting old friends for a long anticipated reunion. The beautiful parlor & dining room were a perfect setting for this intimate affair, a public event celebrating the Victorian Era & the historic celebrity, Henry Flagler who brought the Gilded Age to Florida. Those in attendance were tourists & locals alike. Many of the guests were also owners of other B&Bs in the city. We immediately felt as if we were pulled into the fold of the community. Bonnie Alexander (the inn's proprietor) was an amazing delight, friendly & effervescent in every way. Some of the inn's guests popped in to the event for a quick sip of wine, a plate of Hors d'oeuvre or a quick conversation. My husband & I only live 45miles north of St. Augustine, but the Alexander Homestead & Bonnie impressed us so much, we are planning to spend next vacation at what feels like our "home away from home": the Alexander Homestead.

Room Tip: for the B&B intimacy, stay in the main house. for a more private experience, stay in the Hideaw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I spent two nights here during the week, on a mini-getaway by myself. I stayed in the Alexandria room, which I specifically picked because of the jacuzzi tub, and it did not disappoint! The house has a very cozy feel to it, and it's situated in a nice, quiet neighborhood very close to downtown historic St. Augustine. I felt very safe walking alone to and from downtown, even in the evening coming back from dinner. Bonnie and Terry were both very welcoming and helpful, and I felt like I was staying at a friend's house. Breakfast was wonderful, simple and delicious meals in a very relaxed and unhurried setting. As many other people have said before, the homemade granola is the best. I would love to stay here again sometime, and would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting St. Augustine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I just got back from staying 3 nights at Alexander Homestead and I have to say that this was a great experience. I have never stayed in a B&B, but many of my friends have told me how awkward they are to stay in due to the sound traveling in the rooms. I did not experience this at all. The room was beautiful, We stayed in the Victoriana, clean and had special touches such as Robes, personal glasses and coffee mugs, bubble bath and of course the essentials like Shampoo, an iron, blow dryer, hand towels, etc.

Upon checking in, Bonnie gave us a map and explained all of the attractions and restaurants as well. It was really helpful.

Aside from that, it was 3 streets from the main downtown and incredibly convenient. We walked everywhere. The house is lovely, and Bonnie is wonderful. We were given coffee by our rooms every morning an hour before breakfast. Breakfast was awesome. Every day I left breakfast feeling satisfied. We had fruit, homemade granola, eggs, hashbrowns, etc. Bonnie definitely goes out of her way to make you feel special as well and listens to an dietary needs/ restrictions you may have. The assistant Terry, was so sweet and lovely. Basically, I fell in love with this place and my boyfriend who tends to be a little pickier had zero complaints.

Thanks for everything!

I would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a getaway for our Anniversary. We love St. Augustine; it's one of our favorite cities. So we thought why not go there. I am so happy we found the Alexander Homestead Inn. Bonnie is an excellent Inn Keeper, and the other women at her Inn are very good to. All the ladies are wonderful. This location is quiet, peaceful, relaxing, very clean and comfortable and walking distance to everything in the city. It has 5 rooms which I liked too. Some of the other B&Bs are larger in the area, and I decided to go small. It was truly like staying at a room in a friend’s home. I checked on-line quite extensively and this is the place. I saved you the research time. If we plan to stay overnight again at St. Augustine, we will definitely stay her. Breakfast of course was wonderful too!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Alexandria room which was great. It has a Jacuzzi and a semi-private porch. But i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just returned from a 3-night stay at the Alexander. Home is located on a quiet street, and the location was very convenient with a short walk to everything. Stayed in the Queen Anne's room, which was cozy albeit a tad bit warm at night. But that may have been due to the heat outside, and by morning, it had cooled down comfortably. Diane and Terry were great, and the breakfast just seemed to get bigger each morning. Have to second everyone who raved about the homemade granola each morning. Bonnie arrived back from a trip to the West Coast the night before we left, and it was nice to finally meet her and her "smiling" pooch, Candy Lee. Highly recommend this B&B. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Homestead

Address: 14 Sevilla St., Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entering the Alexander Homestead through the picturesque front porch from the garden walkway you can hear strains of classical music and spy a small book of Emily Dickinson's poetry in the formal living room - rich with antiques and romance. This is a perfectly appointed inn, with five of the most inviting and romantic bedrooms that hint of lavender sachets and pale hues of vintage opulence. You'll return time and again to the Alexander Homestead! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.