We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B in St. Augustine hands down.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Suenos Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Suenos Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Casa de Suenos Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
20 Cordova Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Best B&B in St. Augustine hands down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The name speaks for itself, Casa de Suenos (House of Dreams) was such an amazing place to stay if you're looking to stay around the St. Augustine area. The decors, color and style of the whole house was full of charm. Each room had its own character and they really look better in person than they do online.

Kathleen Hurley, the innkeeper who was also the owner was amazing!!! She gave us great tips, coupons and offered us to borrow her beach chair and beach towels. I'm sure no other innkeeper can top that. Also, she provided us with variety of tasty, home-cooked breakfast that will surely fill you. Her choice of each table decor, utensil and table napkins will surely entice you.

Overall, this is a must stay bed and breakfast in St. Augustine, hands down. This is definitely a place to come back to.

Room Tip: The Castillo room is highly recommended. It has the biggest bathroom compared to the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
107
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We agree with the other reviews: host was wonderful & helpfull, house had a lot of character & charm, great breakfast in the sun filled dining area. Exactly what we hope for when we choose a B&B instead of a chain hotel. Being so close to the historic area is really convenient to leave your car parked and walk around

Yes. it's a bit on the upper end of the price range, but St Augustine is a little pricey, and the experience is well worth it

Linda & Ron, well travelled, active 50-ish couple from Canada

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was a lovely and whimsical place to stay and we were very happy to get it for just one night as we decided at the last minute to stay an additional night in St. Augustine.
The inn keeper was very sweet and charming and very accommodating. Even though breakfast is usually served after 8 AM she accommodated us because of our early flight and we were out of there by 7 AM with a hearty breakfast to start the day.
We will surly go back .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have quite a bit of experience in our nation's oldest city - I can safely recommend a B&B as the way to enjoy St. Augustine given that your budget and temperament allows for it.

Some of the B&Bs in the city have become too commercial and touristy while many have retained their charm, warmth and elegance. Casablanca is one of the former, Casa de Suenos is one of the latter. Kathleen really does an excellent job as an innkeeper and host: she greets you at the door, gives you a tour and allows you to see any unoccupied room, including giving you the option to use a private deck at your leisure in any room that is currently unoccupied. Although I have many visits and years of experience under my belt in the city, there are several newer elements on which I sought advice and Kathleen did not disappoint. She steered us away from undesirable things and steered us towards very fine choices for dining.

We stayed in the Castillo room, which is the smallest room in the inn, but with the largest shower. The quaint and historic element of the rooms in de Suenos are really wonderful, especially when coupled with modern amenities such as cable television (which we didn't even turn on) and a mini-refrigerator. Cleanliness is not a problem and the beds are very comfortable, especially with the sheets Kathleen has chosen for her inn - they are tremendous! We ordered a set for our new king bed since we loved them so much. My only complaint about the rooms would be the lack of sound buffering - we could hear the couple in the room next door when the awoke in the morning and had to go out of our way to be extremely quiet at night so we didn't disturb anyone else. This is an overall downside to staying in a home that is at least a century old, of course.

Kathleen's breakfast is great! She accommodated our request for tea vs. coffee in the morning and served fresh fruit, juices and hot green tea. The breakfast items themselves were delicious - we had an "apple pie pancake" with turkey sausage for one meal and a frittata our second morning. Quality and service is excellent. Perhaps the best aspect of dining at a B&B is the socialization you experience. We met a couple from Ft. Myers celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary and spent at least a total of an hour speaking to them during breakfast. If you are looking for this sort of thing, a B&B is for you (especially a smaller B&B like Suenos). I suspect some people are looking for more privacy and may not want to interact with strangers while dining, but we loved it.

Location is outstanding - you're within a 5-minute walk of the center of the old city and roughly 10 minutes to Flagler/Lightner. While staying at Casa de Suenos you can literally walk to everything (aside from the Lighthouse and O'Steen's) while leaving your car in a spot right at the inn.

My only complaints about Casa de Suenos (aside from the thin walls and being able to hear my neighbors) would be Kathleen's unwillingness to "upgrade" folks to unoccupied rooms - two of the larger suites were available when we checked in on a Thursday night and stayed unoccupied until Saturday night. It would have been so nice to get upgraded to one of those rooms. She's also on the high side of B&B prices, but she only has 5 rooms so the income has to be generated somewhere. Overall, though, a wonderful place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Everytime we stay with Kathleen and her very capable staff, we are so pleased. They know how to give you privacy, but also when to be around to answer questions about area attractions, restaurants, and museums. Located about a block from the central shopping area of old town St. Augustine--and given the fact that they have dedicated parking which they allow guests to use even after they have checked out--we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Great staff, great hospitality (social hour, complementary cream sherry in the rooms), great location, and great rooms; it would be hard to imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great place to stay, location close to all attractions and dining. Kathleen is a great host,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is our second stay at Casa de Suenos and we continue to love it! Kathleen is a wonderful host. She makes you feel right and home and always makes sure that you have whatever you need. Breakfast is a wonderful time to sit and talk with Kathleen or the other guests over some great food. Kathleen is also a great source for information on what to do and where to eat.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Most of the time when I travel it takes a night or two to adjust to a new bed, but the beds are so comfortable that I did not need any adjustment. We stayed in the Sevilla room last time and loved it, but thought that this time we would try a different room just to see how it would differ. We tried the Valencia and love it just as much. Now we have 2 rooms that we love!

The house is located within walking distance of Historic St Augustine. On both of our trips we parked the car when we arrived and did not get back in until it was time to head home. And on both trips we hesitated a moment before starting the car, because we just did not want to leave. We loved it so much that even though we left yesterday afternoon we are already talking about planning our next trip to Casa de Suenos!

Room Tip: They are all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Suenos Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Suenos Bed and Breakfast

Address: 20 Cordova Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful turn of the century Mediterranean Inn located on the Romantic Carriage route in St. Augustine, Fl. There are 5 romms all with private baths. Three rooms have two person whirlpool tubs, in addition to showers and private balconies. A full Breakfast is served in the dining room each morning. Free WI_Fi access. Parking is free and on site. No minimum stay is ever required. Close to everything...far from the Ordinary. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Suenos Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.