We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engaged Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Wind Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southern Wind Inn
18 Cordova St., Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 35 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
“Engaged Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Got engaged to my fiancee at St Augustine recently and stayed at the Southern Wind Inn in the Porcelain Room. The room was very well decorated and comfortable. She enjoyed it alot. The owner was very nice and helpful, setting up our dinner reservations and carriage ride with discretion so she would be surprised. The breakfast was delicious. And its only 2 blocks from St George Street :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    29
    20
    14
    9
See reviews for
14
119
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We moved to the Inn after a bad experience on the beach at another establishment that had roaches. We were hard pressed to find vacancy anywhere and happened upon this place. It was fantastic! The room was classic old style southern living and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. It was in a great part of the historic district and we sat on the front porch watching the horse-drawn carriages pass by. I will definitely be back!...oh and can't forget the cookies and tea in the afternoon and the breakfast quiche with fruit, cereals, breads, juice and coffee in the morning. AND they have GREAT smelling soap!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Honeymoon room was exactly what my wife and I were looking for to celebrate our 11th anniversary. We loved that nice big tub and the matching bathrobes were a very nice touch. The breakfast that we had the following morning was also great. This seems to be one of the few B&Bs in St. Augustine that does not require a two-night or more stay. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was the first time I had ever stayed at a B&B and it was beyond fantastic! As soon as my fiance and I got there, Scott was waiting for us. He's a very pleasant and kind guy, told us about the area, places to eat, and spots to check out. We booked the Crystal room and couldn't have been cozier. Breakfast was amazing and loved talking to everyone. Around 4 was a cookie and tea time - the cookies were home made and AMAZING! loved seeing the sites (which are all in walking distance) and then being able to come back for a little nap in the afternoon to our quaint little room. Overall, this has been one of our best vacation experiences yet. If we're ever back in the area, we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Southern Wind is what a B&B should be; friendly host, relaxing, homey atmosphere, comfortable rooms with period furniture, lovely breakfast and excellent, accommodating service all wrapped up in an affordable price. Would highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: The Crystal Room is perfect for parents with a child or for three adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

great location in the city ..well within ALL major points of interest and restaurants...the facilty is very asthetically pleasing and the rooms are clean and very cozy , the staff is very helpful and the breakfast and coffee is excellent,,highly recoommended and I do plan on many repeat visits ..in my opinion this is the best choice available ...the porchs (both) are excellent for relaxing...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I chose the Southern Wind for its location and reasonable prices. As B&B's go, it needs a little TLC. A power washer would do wonders for the exterior. We were greeted by the owner, Scott. He was very nice, he seemed a bit rushed but he reviewed a map of the city for us and escorted us to our room. The room was fine. It wasn't a real fancy B&B but the furnishing were appropriate period pieces, the mattress was comfortable, it was clean and the air conditioning worked great. The private bath had a shower stall and was clean.

Here's the strange part. We were told breakfast was served at 9:00am and we would be served if we showed up by 9:29. A rather small window of time I thought. Scott told us otherwise they leave coffee out till about 10:00. So if you're an early riser you have to wait and if you like to sleep in (like us), you'll miss out. We made the effort and got breakfast both days and it was quite good. However, on day two the cooked egg dish was served with a muffin. I asked if there were nuts in it, Scott said yes, asked if I was allergic, I said yes and he plucked it off my plate and left. I somewhat expected a replacement (toast would have been fine) but it never came and wasn't offered. We jokingly referred to the owners as the reluctant innkeepers for the remainder of our journey. They weren't overly service oriented nor did they seem interested in their customers as you usually expect at a nice B&B.

Overall there are great things about the place. Excellent location. It's reasonably priced and way better and nicer than the nearby Monterey Inn. It's in a nice setting. Breakfast on the porch is lovely. Clean and comfortable. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Garden room was nice. Queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Wind Inn

Address: 18 Cordova St., Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Also Known As:
Southern Wind Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Wind Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southern Wind Inn to your Saves list