We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Powderhouse Inn is my annual FL destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Powder House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Powder House Inn to your Saves list
The Old Powder House Inn
38 Cordova St., Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
1 review
“Old Powderhouse Inn is my annual FL destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Old Powderhouse Inn has my vote for the best B and B in St Augustine! Prime location, one of the few inns that has a parking lot, and innkeepers that welcome you with open arms and offer a variety of lovely rooms and an incredible menu of breakfast items. Suzanne and Bob are the consummate innkeepers; they want you have have a great time while in their lovely city and will offer all sorts of suggestions for site seeing, night time activities, and various places to eat. This city has so much history, it will be an annual trip on my itinerary. The staying with Bob and Suzanne is an absolute must!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is my second time staying at the old Powderhouse. I can't say enough about the charm of the inn as well as the innkeepers, Bob and Suzanne. Breakfast consisted of the house specialties, Eggs Cordova (eggs baked in ham with hash browns) and Bob's awesome The full Monty, a monte cristo with bacon! The city put on a holiday show with the tour of historic inns and Nights of Lights. This may be an annual treat for us.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great B&B with awesome hosts! My wife and I loved this hidden gem in St Augustine! Exactly what we were looking for . . . a nice place with a great location, free parking, and within walking distance to everything. Very easy to walk to all of the restaurants, the Fort, St George Street, San Sebastian Winery, the Ice Plant, and the center square. The OPH is a beautiful old victorian style house and it was decorated to the max for the Christmas holiday. Very romantic! Ohh and by the way Bob makes an awesome breakfast. We will be back! Love the place! Dan & Janet

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just what I imagined a B&B in St. Augustine would be, totally authentic to the city ! The innkeepers, Bob & Suzanne were awesome and could not do enough for us, made it hard to believe they had only been doing this for a little over a year. They were absolute sweethearts !
All of the little intricacies did not go unnoticed as well as the meticulous cleanliness. Breakfast was absolutely delectable in the quaint dining area.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this B & B at the last minute, for our desire to enjoy a Fun weekend get-a-way. We can't believe our luck in landing the very best B & B in St. Augustine. Miranda, Bob & Suzanne were all three nothing but a pleasure. Our Queen Anne room was located in the back of the Inn, which was very quiet and romantic. We both enjoyed our upstairs terrace and the delicious breakfast that Suzanne prepared. The location is definitely perfect for walking around the charming historic district. We walked, ate, drank and danced the night away at several places.
(tip: should you find yourself out late in the evening, we recommend Meehan's Irish pub).

Room Tip: Higher floors are best if you are comfortable with a bit of a steep & narrow inside stair case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in many B & B 's .... so glad to report that The Old Powder House Inn under new ownership is Wonderfully Amazing! The Inn is Beautiful... The Food is Delicious...The Location is Fantastic... and the Care and Customer Service is the Best!!! also their Personalized Soap and Sherry in the room... to die for!

Room Tip: The cottage room in the back with a fireplace is nice for the winter with a private entrance and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Old Powder House Inn. The Inn is located close to everything, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of St. Augustine. Our room was clean and private! Bob and Suzanne are delightful innkeepers who do their best to make you feel like guests in their home. We loved the tub in the bedroom! Will definitely stay at the Inn again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Grace Darling Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob H, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Scott,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the input. I enjoyed our fishing conversation in the Parlor and we're glad you took advantage of Grace Darling's 'intimately placed' jacuzzi.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Happy Holidays!
...bob & Suzanne...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Powder House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Powder House Inn

Address: 38 Cordova St., Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1899 Victorian beauty has nine lovely guestrooms all with private baths. Located in the heart of the historic district just a short stroll to museums, historic attractions, quaint restaurants, antique shops, art galleries and gift shops. Full gourmet breakfast served every morning in two charming Victorian dining rooms. Spacious verandas for your relaxation after a day of touring. Hot and cold complimentary beverages, fresh baked treats and evening wine and sherry always available in our lovely parlor. History is truly at our doorstep. And gracious hospitality is just over our threshold. We look forward to your visit with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Old Powder House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Powder House Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Powder House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.