We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Westcott House

Save Saved
You added Bayfront Westcott House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayfront Westcott House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   146 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 off room rate
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
“Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A perfect retreat after a fun and busy week with children and grandchildren. So enjoyed the clean and comfortable room, the breakfasts on the deck, and the waterfront view. Also appreciated the St. Augustine story tellers that entertained while we enjoyed delightful drinks and snacks provided by Bayfront.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
St. Augustine is the perfect place to relax and unwind, and we're happy you stayed at our Inn to do it. We're glad you had a good experience at our home, and especially social and the storyteller. We love our fascinating storytellers, they have such a way of making St. Augustine's history come alive and are so passionate about what they do. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    561
    30
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
435
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

While having breakfast on the balcony enjoying watching the boats on the bay, we saw a horse carriage pass with the narrator pointing our way telling his passengers that the Westcott is rated a 5 star B&B. It summed up our wonderful experience. It sure is a first class experience with a lovely intimate romanic atmosphere - a grand ice bucket was presented to us for our champagne. The main front balcony had comfortable seating and swing. I loved the jacuzzi, tastefully decorated rooms, comfortable robes and high quality bed mattresses that made me melt. Not only is it on the bay, there is easy access to balconies for everyone. The most pleasant staff you'd ever wish to know.

Room Tip: Their website shows every room and it's honestly hard to choose as they all look so delightfully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Wow, thank you for the amazing review! It really made our day and we love hearing about all the little things you enjoyed about your stay with us. It truly is a joy to do what we do and meet such lovely people. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and we agree, they are pretty wonderful. And thank you for your insider tip about our rooms. Each room is definitely unique and a lot of love and attention to detail went into making them that way. We want our guests to find the perfect room for their needs and taste, and to feel relaxed and at home there. Thanks again and please be sure to come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, Essex
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This property is amazing, warm and friendly atmosphere. Plenty to do and see with as much help as you need from the owners. Help yourself to wonderful homemade cakes and wine/beer at 'Happy Hour' after a long day of sight seeing or shopping before getting ready to go out for the evening. Very romantic for the honeymooners or anniversary celebrations (as we were). I will definitely be returning on my next visit to St. Augustine and can't recommend this enough. We even had our own verandah swing and sipped champagne looking at a beautiful moon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Anastasia room - amazingly romantic and like being swept back in time but with symp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we especially loved your use of alliteration in your review title! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. We believe it's the little things, like our evening social and a nice relaxing conversation on the porch, that really make a memorable experience. So glad we could help you celebrate your anniversary! Thanks again and we can't wait for you to come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in the Minorcam room, EXTREMELY comfortable. This was an anniversary trip and could not have been better. The staff felt more like family than just working there. I have never stayed anywhere that made me feel so at home. My only complaint was we couldn't have stayed longer. But we will be back. Walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Your kind review made our day! We're so happy you chose us to celebrate your anniversary, and we're glad you enjoyed the Minorcan Room. We especially love that you got a family feel at our inn, we really strive to create that environment. It's such a cozy, beautiful house, but it's definitely the people who "work" here who make it feel like a home. We love meeting people like you and getting to know you better. And we agree, you should have stayed longer! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My friends and I spent a girls getaway weekend in St. Augustine and stayed here overnight. It is on the bayfront within easy walking distance of downtown. The happy hour and breakfast were both wonderful and we loved relaxing in the porch, with its beautiful view of the harbor. We spent many hours relaxing in the porch! The breakfast is outstanding, they served some of the most delicious stuffed french toast I have ever tasted. They also give you many extras at breakfast, let you choose a fruit cup, yogurt, etc. I would highly reccomend this to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We're so glad you chose our Inn for your girls getaway! It was fun having you all stay with us, and we're so pleased you all had a good time. We agree with you, the porches are a perfect place to relax, unwind, and share some yummy food and good conversation. Happy you enjoyed the french toast, it is definitely one of our most popular dishes, and something even the staff look forward to! Thank you for the generous review, and we hope to see you girls again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We arrived early in the afternoon for check in not sure if we may be to early. Joy greeted us and set the tone for a weekend of great hospitality. Not only was it not to early, but a glass of wine made check in that much funner. The entire property was beautiful. The breakfast was to die for, as was the happy hour. We loved the jacuzzi tub and the view of the marina. Temp in the room was a bit warm and the bed may have lacked a bit. No matter those minor details were overshadowed by superior feeling of welcome. We will be back. Thanks again Joy and staff.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a great balcony entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
You are very welcome, it was a pleasure to have you! Thanks for the kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed staying at our Inn. We try to make our guests feel relaxed and welcome from check-inn to check-out, and it's easy to do with guests like ours! Thank you for complimenting our property and the breakfast, we hope you can come back again soon and enjoy it all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I stays there with my dad, my brother and my sister and although at first it looks like its a couple's retreat we really enjoye our stay. The location is just perfect. Walking distance to many attractions. The rooms are just gorgeous and sooooo cute!!! And the breakfast was very good. Staff was great as well.

Minus: nobody to check us in since we arrived around midnight but they left our keys in the mailbox. Parking when you use their free spot is not that close to the hotel.

Overall amazing experience. I already told all my friends to go there and I will definitely go back with my husband :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
It was lovely having your family stay at our Inn. Thank you for your thoughtful review. Your comments about the location, our rooms, and our staff are greatly appreciated! And thank you for recommending us to your friends. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayfront Westcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Westcott House

Address: 146 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Westcott House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this St Augustine Bed and Breakfast, we’ll coordinate your every wish & spoil you every second. Chocolate-covered strawberries, in-room massages, breakfast on the veranda (or in bed), evening social hour (hosted by a professional storyteller on Mon & Wed), romance packages, in-room Jacuzzis, and so much more! Bayfront Westcott House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Bayfront Westcott House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Westcott House Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Westcott House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.