We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayfront Westcott House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bayfront Westcott House to your Saves list
Bayfront Westcott House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   146 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Our Holiday Gifts To You!
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The Westcott is an outstanding B&B. The service is truly superb. I just completed my third visit. They first time I stayed there, it was being operated by its former owners. So, it was a delightful surprise on my second visit in January to find out how much had been freshened and improved by the new owners, Joy and Warren. They love their work and it shows from the moment you arrive. You are invited to have a seat in the dining room and offered some refreshment while Joy meticulously orients you to St. Augustine. I just finished my third visit, four months after the second. I was amazed and delighted when the young women serving breakfast remembered that I was a tea drinker AND that I like English Breakfast. There are beach chairs and umbrellas that can be borrowed and a delightful happy hour every afternoon. I love the views of the inland waterway and there are plenty of places to sit and enjoy it. This B&B is also conveniently located within walking distance to the center of town and the many attractions there including Flagler College, the Lightner Museum, art galleries, restaurants and live music spots.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
The members of our staff are sometimes our unsung heroes, so thank you for singing about them, they will be thrilled! And thank you for your repeat patronage and your praise. We've said it before, and we'll say it again; it's guests like you that add fuel to our hospitality fire. Thank you so much for taking the time to write that review, and we all truly look forward to visit number 4!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    31
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
470
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011 via mobile

We stayed with our toddlers and had a great time. Staff was very friendly. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The location was ideal. Overall we had a great experience and will be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Loved the little ones and look forward to your return. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and it was wonderful, the staff was very nice and helpful anything we needed they were their for us. The rooms were clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Breakfast was served inside the small dining room or outside on one of many decks and was delicious. We could not have asked for a better place to stay, on our last morning there we enjoyed a peaceful breakfast while watching dolphins play in the bay. It was great....Would recommend this to anyone wanting to have a nice getaway.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for choosing Bayfront Westcott House, and thank you for the kind review. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

The Westcott is a characterful building in a great location.

The rooms we saw were individually styled and varied but were always very good and spotlessly clean. The linen was a pleasure.

The service from Joy and her team of bright young women was second to none. They served the comprehensive breakfast with an unobtrusive usefulness.

Some of the beds are high off the ground. This looks great and they are very comfortable, but if one has limited mobility it could be a problem. Just check when you book.

One of the rooms (in the main house) has a generously sized jacuzzi in the room.

I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Discuss the room options when you book....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
You use your words well. Thank you for using them in such a kind review of Westcott. We do look forward to a return visit. Until then, be happy and be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This was our first stay at the Bayfront Westcott House and it lived up to our expectations.
Everything you see in the Web site is what you will get at the Inn. A great location just steps away from the busy "downtown" but very quiet. Wonderful very friendly helpful staff in a very clean and tidy setting. Would definately recomend it and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

The Bayfront Westcott House is not just beautiful and elegant, it is also cozy and charming. The entire staff makes you feel like you are the most special of guests. The breakfast is fabulous and eating it outside on the lovely side porch with the view of the bay can not be beat. We stayed in room 201 and it had THE most comfortable bed I have every slept in. I had the most difficult time making myself get up in the morning. Now that I'm back home-I am missing that bed terribly!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
We're glad you loved the bed; it will be right here waiting for your next visit. Until then, be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The service was superb and the staff and owners were delightful. Our room had two small balconies with a partial view over the bay. Access was via a fairly steep staircase so it would not suit everyone. The room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Free Westcott parking is a 10 min walk as there are 3 hour max parking meters and restricted parking. The location is excellent and about a 15 min walk to the main shopping and restaurants area. The Westcott complimentary beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres were brilliant and a good start to an evening out. Before you go visit the St Augustine website www.augustine.com this will tell you all about the attractions, restaurants or golf courses. We played at Cimarrone GC and it was only $35 each with a buggy. The Cypress Course at the Grand Club was very good as well.

Room Tip: Look at the room pictures on the Westcott website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayfront Westcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Westcott House

Address: 146 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Westcott House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this St Augustine Bed and Breakfast, we’ll coordinate your every wish & spoil you every second. Chocolate-covered strawberries, in-room massages, breakfast on the veranda (or in bed), evening social hour (hosted by a professional storyteller on Mon & Wed), romance packages, in-room Jacuzzis, and so much more! Bayfront Westcott House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayfront Westcott House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Westcott House Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayfront Westcott House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.