We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Comfort in the Oldest Part of Florida!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian House

Save Saved
You added Victorian House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victorian House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11 Cadiz Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“History and Comfort in the Oldest Part of Florida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

On the off chance we booked for one night at the Victoria House B & B, in the oldest street in the historic part of St Augustine, which in itself is a fantastic place to visit. History, architecture, good shops, restaurants etc, And thanks to Anthony & Marilyn, we stayed 3 nights!! They couldn't do enough to make our stay more perfect, including moving us to a very quiet suite (I'm a light sleeper) providing the most delicious, and very original, breakfast dishes. Fresh fruit, freshly baked breads, fantastic egg dishes, copious amounts of good coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. And a complimentary Amaretto after your day's sightseeing, or night cap, with cookies at any time! It was homely, welcoming, comfortable and a real find. Don't miss St Augustine, it's history pre- Christopher Columbus is fascinating, and its beach is miles and miles of golden sands, perfect for walkers, runners, cyclists, and watching fantastic bird life. To top it all, a great B & B, and wonderful hosts!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room above the A/C unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    20
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
137
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Anthony & Marilyn made our 2 night vacation a wonderful experience. The lovely Victorian B& B is
one of the best our family has seen. A must see. Fresh baked cookies with tea & coffee and home
made breakfast was great. They were warm & friendly and so helpful in finding all the diferent sights to see. St Augustine is a beatiful place to visit with old history and different sights. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

When you go to historical and romantic St. Augustine, make sure that you stay at the Victorian House Bed and Breakfast. Anthony and Marilyn, the Inn Keepers, go out of their way to make you feel that the Victorian House is your home. Anthony prepares a delicious and elegantly presented breakfast with the help of Marilyn and Zoe. There is not another B & B in St. Augustine that can match such quality, warmth, and location. Room rates are very affordable. Zoe, the housekeeper, will make sure your room is kept at the highest standard. You will not be disappointed and you will want to return.

Room Tip: The web site shows that all the rooms are unique and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Firstly, Anthony and Marilyn were so helpful, friendly, and kind. Not to mention they prepared fantastic breakfast! When we arrived in this Victorian-themed pink painted, lacy trimmed B&B, the smell of fresh baked cookies wafted around the room as Anthony patiently helped us with settling in and finding restaurants and fun things to do in town. The B&B is quite stylized in Victorian-Era theme so it is important that you're into that kind of thing if you're going to book here. Moreover, the bathrooms are more on the "old fashioned side" so the tubs (at least in the rooms we stayed in) were claw footed and not terribly large.

Room Tip: We stayed in Pauline's suite, which was really lovely. The bed was incredibly comfortable and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My family and I enjoyed a fantastic Christmas at the Victorian House. Anthony and Marilyn are two of the very best people you'll ever hope to meet, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart you feel like family. We enjoyed the sights and sounds of historic St. Augustine, the accommodations at the Victorian House were amazing, breakfast was outstanding as Anthony, Marilyn and Zoe put together an excellent experience every morning. Evenings were spent enjoying drinks and conversation with Anthony and Marilyn and the other guests, just a WOW experience. To top it all off, we got to meet Anthony & Marilyn's golden retriever Max. Book your stay at the Victorian House, ask to meet Max and let Anthony, Marilyn and Zoe show you how its done! I'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

my boyfriend and i decided to give one another a st. augustine getaway for Christmas. after careful research, i chose the victorian house. what a wise decision! we enjoyed two wonderful days and nights at this bed and breakfast. the owners of the inn were warm and welcoming! they even introduced us to their handsome dog, max! the breakfast prepared each morning was delicious - homeade granola, fresh fruit, friendship bread, and a different entree both mornings. they are ready and willing to accommodate any individual dietary needs. Anthony and Marilyn arranged our evening carriage ride, and made suggestions on places to dine and enjoy a beverage or two. our room was very comfortable. we stayed in patricia's suite and i highly recommend it. the king bed was comfy, the jacuzzi was large enough for two, and our private porch overlooking the quaint road offered moments to people and carriage watch!!! john and i decided to make this a Christmas tradition. the inn, the lights, and the magic of the season is something everyone should experience!

Room Tip: patricia's suite has it all - comfy king bed, jacuzzi for two, and private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Cannot say enough about Anthony and Marilyn at the Victorian House! Our first stay at a BnB in Florida and it was second to none. The new owners went above and beyond to make us feel welcome from making dinner reservations to having a carriage ride pick us up at the front porch of the property on Christmas Eve. Their breakfasts were nothing less than sensational ... hot offerings as well as fresh fruit, coffee and juice ... different selections each day! The room was of 1700s decor and most enjoyable. Victorian House is within 20 mins walking distance of everything in historic St Augustine. We parked our car at the property and never moved it except to visit the Lighthouse across the intracoastal waterway. Anthony and Marilyn are phenomenal people who make their guests feel like family! Each night, you could hear the "clippity clop" of horse drawn carriages coming down Avilles St--the oldest cobblestone street in the US. What a superior experience. Our thanks to Anthony and Marilyn for their genuine hospitality. We'll be back and soon!

BR and MAR, Valrico, FL

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are great---balconies with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian House

Address: 11 Cadiz Street, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and T4B so you can book your Victorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.