We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conflicted...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Inn on the Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casablanca Inn on the Bay to your Saves list
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway Package
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Conflicted...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My recent stay was the 4th time I have been a guest at the Casablanca Inn. It is the 1st time in 7 years. I guess a lot can happen in 7 years. It is obvious the Inn is under new management. That is not necessarily a good thing. Now don't get me wrong... I am still rating the property as very good. However, 7 years ago and many before that, this inn was at the height of its opulence. The service and stature of the inn was like something out of the movies. Today, the inn is run very much like a regular old hotel. Not much character or uniqueness. The fixtures need a good dusting, bathroom tiles are stained and cracked, grout needs to be fixed, etc...Small cosmetic upgrades.The breakfast used to be award-winning where as now it is buffet style (use your imagination). I will say that based on some of these flaws the rates are a tad bit too high. The rates would have served the property 7 years ago but now it seems a bit high when there is obvious disrepair in some areas.If you can look beyond some of those minor flaws, the inn still has a lot of character and curbside appeal though. The staff was friendly but not overly friendly. The porch area was very warm and inviting and the lights make it almost magical. $15.00 Martini Bar credit is a nice touch. The sleep number beds are a big draw as well. Despite everything, I would stay there in the future ( I hate breaking tradition) but not sure I would eagerly recommend it to friends or family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We want to thank this guest for choosing to return to the Casablanca Inn year after year. We appreciate your loyalty and it's always a pleasure having you stay with us. We are sorry we did not meet your level of expectations this time around...disappointing our loyal guests is not what we strive for. The complimentary buffet breakfast is a transition from the table service we used to offer and is only temporary as we transition into our new restaurant where you will still be able to enjoy that complimentary breakfast with table service...in addition we will also be adding lunch service and still serving our famous martinis! We look forward to seeing you again and showing you that we are still that amazing little boutique hotel on the bay front with impeccable service, staff, amenities, and ambiance all with an amazing breakfast you have grown to love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    95
    45
    42
    12
See reviews for
33
311
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in the carriage house. Rooms were very cramped, too much furniture for a small space. Great balcony overlooking Charlotte Street, however no privacy. Bathroom was very cramped, no plug in the bathtub drain, fixtures where ill fitting and shower head was not very clean. Both mornings we were woke up by delivery and trash trucks at 5:30 a.m. Martini bar/overpriced watered down drinks. The breakfast was the best thing about our stay. Next time in St Augustine we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We are so sorry your experience was an unpleasant one with the Casablanca Inn. Our staff does strive towards making sure all our guests are having a wonderful experience. We only wish that guests would voice their concern during the time they are with us, this ensures that all concerns are addressed and we have a chance to correct any issue. If given the chance we would have loved to offer this guest a complimentary upgrade and even refunded their drinks if they were not satisfied. Unfortunately, if the staff is not informed we are unable to make any corrections to make someones stay unforgettable for all the right reasons. We only hope that we are given another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We did not stay here but only stopped to have breakfast. They offered a bay front view which only a couple of places offer. Breakfast was a hot buffet, much like you would get in a mid scale hotel. Drinks, alcoholic or not were included for $12 a plate. The outdoor seating and view were worth the stop. Beautiful view of the inlet. The Inn looked very cute and think it would be a fun place to stay if you were stopping for the night in St. Augustine. Small so I am sure you would need reservations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for stopping in and sharing your experience with other travelers. We are pleased you enjoyed our popular breakfast! We hope next time you frequent St. Augustine you are able to stay and enjoy our even more popular guest rooms and hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently for wedding. Older building as most are in heart of historic district. Beds are 'sleep number' which add nothing to the comfort but okay. Breakfast good and ample. Not at all disabled friendly, but otherwise a nice stay. Would return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron M, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing with other travelers your experience with the Casablanca Inn. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our group rented 4 rooms. The location is right in the middle of the bars, restaurants and shopping. The B&B had nice amenities overall. The attached Tiny Tini Bar was a fun plus - which allowed sipping one of MANY martinis while sitting on an outdoor patio that faced the water for unobstructed views. The Breakfast was delicious and hearty - with real breakfast foods. The wait staff is very good and friendly. The rooms had sleep number beds, though the one in my room did not work. When we checked in, our room had no towels - which was readily fixed. However, on the second day they only replaced two of the three towels - we had three folks staying in our room. thankfully there was a clean hand towel I could use. Overall, I would defintiely go back.

Room Tip: Riims on the second floor facing the water would have been nice. We were in the back alley and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

You can not beat this location. Spent a couple if days and the room was nice. We stayed here 6 yrs ago in one if the coach house rooms. Our room was in the main house this time and was smaller..."cozy". Although it was nicely updated we decided we would pay the extra $ for the larger room. We had no issues with noise or water.
With that said... We were disappointed with the breakfast. Although the food was good it was better when we were here 6 years ago. And we were not a fan of the buffet system. Prior visit we were seated and served.
The Tini Martini Bar... Excellent as always

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This inn is beautiful and has a wonderful staff. We stayed in the Secret Garden Room 28 and it was perfect. Total privacy and a quiet location. The room has a small refrigerator, table and microwave in the kitchen area. A small seating area that contains a couch, chair and television set. The bedroom is beautiful old furniture with a sleep number bed and flat screened tv. The location is half a block from St George...which is the site of many fine restaurants, historical locations, tours and stores and is closed to vehicular traffic.

Room Tip: If you want privacy reserve one of the Secret Garden Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Bay

Address: 24 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca Inn on the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-two luxury suites and rooms in a panoramic bayfront location in historic St. Augustine. Enjoy Matanzas Bay views, whirlpool baths, private porches and sundecks, decorative fireplaces, private entries,and peaceful luxury. Our Tini Martini Bar features a full palette of fine wines and liquors, as well as fabulous martinis, beers and views onto the stunning bay front. Guests can enjoy these views as well as a $15 credit at the Tini Martini Bar plus a $25 credit towards breakfast or lunch in our restaurant Brunch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Casablanca Inn on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn On The Bay b&b
Casablanca Inn On The Bay Hotel Saint Augustine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Inn on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.