We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ask for room 201” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bayfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bayfront to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bayfront
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   16 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Vero Beach FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“ask for room 201”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although this Best Western does not have free breakfast, it is a great hotel. Super Clean, right on the Bay. The pool is really nice and there is a huge upstairs patio for hanging out and people watching, We always stay here when visiting St Augustine

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    74
    57
    36
    28
See reviews for
80
139
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is magnificent. You are literally right in the center of the action of Old Town St Augustine. The catch is that you are right in the center of the action of Old Town St Augustine. Stogie's Cigar and Jazz Bar is across Charlotte St (a wide alley really) from the back wall of the hotel. Do not expect to get any peace and quiet until the live band playing on the outdoor patio at Stogies is done. Not a big deal if you are a party animal that won't get back to the room until after the bars close, but it might be an issue if you have an early bedtime.

The rooms are newly renovated and very clean. The bed was comfortable, but very high. So high that it might be a problem for those of small stature, limited mobility, or excessive libation.

I was not pleased however by the "night service" knocking on the door and trying the knob without identifying himself at almost 9 pm. I ***STRONGLY*** urge management to change that practice before someone has an "accident"

Oh yeah, $7 plus tax per night for parking - on top of $225+ room felt a bit like a nickel and dime gouge. Roll it in to the cost of the room already.

Room Tip: Rooms along the back side of the hotel are noisier than those closer to the street. (Live band at b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is in the heart of the town, perfect location with nice amenities, but the Stogies bar out back needs to shut down at 1am not 2:30. The later the night goes the louder they get which makes it hard to sleep. Besides that, it was a nicer than the average motel up the road. Everything is walking distance so you save on gas. Anyway, I recommend thishotel as long as you find a room away from the road behind, where the bars are. Thank you :)

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Overpriced. You are paying for location. The room was dirty, noisy and extremely outdated. We had to switch rooms because the first room was next to a bar and we never got an ounce of sleep. The bathroom floor was filthy with dirt and the whole room itself smelled like urine. I would never stay there again!

Room Tip: Choose the quiet area of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 3 days ago
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with both your room and your stay. It is always our goal to insure our guests have a quality experience. I will share your comments with our team, inspect your room thoroughly and hope that you will allow us an opportunity to redeem ourselves with a return visit. Please call me if I can assist in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best Western is a great place to stay. St Augustine however, has many weekend events throughout the year. When traveling to the area, plan for an expensive hotel bill. It is the norm for Hotels in the historic district to over price. If one were to disregard the cost, the hotel is in a great location and is the jump point for all activities. While you can park right outside your hotel, they do charge for you to park there. (I disagree with this practice). The good part of this is that, you won't have to drive anywhere unless you cross the bridge for beach activities. If you want a quiet night, try to request one that is away from the live bands located just behind the hotel. Even so, it is a city that never sleeps until the outdoor venues close so bring ear plugs if you want to tune it out. It is the tradeoff for being so close to all the action. Rooms are clean and well attended but nothing special which is why I find that at times the rooms are over priced. Still it is cheaper than other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with others. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here in early December 2014 while passing through. The location is terrific - walk anywhere. The room itself was dated, definitely could use some attention, but we were comfortable and it seemed cleaned.

We ate breakfast at "Mary's" right next to the motel. Nothing special.

Would we stay there again, probably, but only because the location is optimal.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with others. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon! Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

AC in room didn't work. We asked front desk person for another room. He said no. Told us to go sightseeing and come back later when he'd get it fixed. We did not wish to wait. We had driven for five hours and were tired. No guarantees of repair. Said no other room available, couldn't help us, manager and maintenance all in meeting at Hilton. Wouldn't unregister us. We left keys and went to Hilton where we were treated like valued guests. Hilton manager spoke with BW manager to keep us from being charged for the useless room. Also, the room itself, besides having broken AC, was quite outdated and dumpy. We are long-time, frequent BW guests, rewards members who have stayed at BW properties all over the US, and believe this property to be the exception rather than the rule. If I were the owner/manager, I would certainly dismiss the front desk person, or, at the very least, get him some training in dealing with the public in a service industry profession.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. We want nothing more than to satisfy all of our guests and I can assure you this is not typical of our usual Hospitality and accommodating staff. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience and appreciate your feedback. We hope you will come back and stay with us again for a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bayfront

Address: 16 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Bayfront 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that’s ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.