We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bayfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bayfront to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bayfront
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   16 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Alachua, Florida
2 reviews
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in the perfect spot!!!! Park your car and walk everywhere you want to go. Rooms were very clean as well. The staff were very friendly too!!!!! The only thing negative about this hotel is the noise. But that comes with being in the middle of everything;)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your support! It is always a pleasure to serve our guests and we like to hear how well we are serving your needs. It is also great to hear that you were able to explore our beautiful city and that our location is ideal for such activities. Again, thank you for the support and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    107
    71
    47
    35
See reviews for
103
178
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Conklin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Staying at this hotel was completely by chance. I found three hotels in the area but I thought staying on or near the water would be the best. We loved the location and would very much enjoy returning for a longer stay. The hotel reception was most accommodating and the comfort of the room was worth the dollars spent. The location of this hotel to Saint Augustine made easy walking for the two of us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. You are absolutely correct with regards our to staff. They are what makes our property so special and joy to come to. Thank you so much for acknowledging their hard. Thanks again for the support and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Last minute trip with my daughter up to St Augustine. Usually we stay on the beach but decided something different. Found an amazing online deal for the room so the price was perfect...Check in was a breeze front desk very nice and helpful. Property is is well kept with beautiful views of the water and a nice pool area. It's pretty much right in the middle of the historic district everything within walking distance. Read a couple of other reviews and yes there is a nominal parking fee and in the evenings there is some noise from surrounding bars/restaurants but this is nominal. Rooms have been updated, beds are great, and the amenities in the room are perfect- micro fridge, flat screen TV, and microwave. If you're an early riser go grab a coffee and watch the sun come up on the balcony area near the office or grab an evening drink and take in St Augustine. Will definitely be back thoroughly enjoyed thanks for a great stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. I am so happy to hear that the services we provided were helpful during your stay. I am also happy to here that our location is perfect to explore the area. I will also let our concierge staff know just how helpful they were in making your stay a delight. We all hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

No refridge in room. A refridge is suppose to be in every room. We had none. The bathroom light would not work with no maintenance on duty for repair. We had two rooms, the second had a strip of weather proofing on the door that stuck out 3 inches and was a trip hazard.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Each review gives us the opportunity to improve, as well as, get a better understanding of the things we are doing well. I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced, and I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you want to be in the "center" of the historic district, this is one of several hotels to select. A short walk to the fort and the pedestrian streets of old St. Augustine. Our room was clean, the bathroom small but functional and the bed extremely comfortable.

We were visiting over Christmas break and the price of this hotel skyrocketed to $229. Another Best Western, the Historical Inn, is just down the road, very close to the historic district and cheaper. Plus, it serves breakfast while Bayfront Inn does not.

We arrived to the Best Western Bayfront early and my wife asked to use a restroom. They told us to go down the street to a restaurant and "just tell them you are with the hotel."

Built in 1959, this place has been refurbished, but the rooms are extremely small. We kept on hitting our bags as we attempted to walk in the room. A table could have been removed, but that would not keep the place under "Best Western" standards. A small refrigerator is in the room which was nice to have.

Parking at this time was $7 dollars. After paying the $229, not including tax, the parking should have been included.

There is a pool on the premises. The hotel is designed in a horseshoe configuration enabling you the sit on benches that are located outside the rooms. The view of the bay for many rooms is a "distant view" broken up by a major road. Nevertheless, benches are abundant and there is even a patio area on the second floor that has the best view of the road and bay.

We were fortunate to cancel our second night and move on. I really thought this hotel as being "over-priced," the parking fee tacky, but the bed very comfortable and the room clean.

Room Tip: Maybe a good price can be had in the off-season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Marty: Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not making your stay wonderful. As the leader of our Best Western team, it my job ensure that all guests have the best stay possible. We hear you loud and clear and will take the proper steps to improve on the area you mentioned. Thank you! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Room was very shabby with ancient carpet and small, outdated bathroom. We had reserved for 3 nights, based on the hotel's bayfront location within walking distance of the historic sights. Our room was so awful (and overpriced), we checked out the following morning and drove over to St. Augustine's Beach where we stayed at the far superior Castillo Real for less money.

We understand that this hotel was built in the 30's and it looked as if the rooms hadn't been touched since! This was the worst room we've had in many years of travel (and just about the most expensive!) Management was unable to show us another room as we'd inadvertently arrived in the middle of Spring Break and the hotel was running full. The only good thing we can say is that the front desk staff allowed us to cancel the 2 unwanted nights we'd booked.

Although we booked a non-smoking room, we happened to be located close to a large, outdoor patio and had the misfortune to arrive at the time a cigar smoker was occupying a chair close by which we could smell.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
I would like to extend my deepest apologies for the experience you had during your stay with us. As our many Trip Advisor postings will attest, the experience you had is completely out of the ordinary and does not accurately reflect the operations and services provided by our hotel. Please contact me at your convenience so that I can properly address this matter. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed for 1 night 4/6/14. We payed $150 for the night - they graciously waved the $7 parking fee, I don't know if that's normal or not. It is a very convenient location - you can walk to all points of interest in the Historic Area. Because parking in St. Aug is problematic, this is a real plus. There is a small common area overlooking the bay which provides a nice view to those who wish to leave their rooms and stroll over to it. The rooms were clean. The bed was comfortable. BUT the rooms were small. The door was difficult to open. The bathroom was small and had the shower/tub combination which I feel should be outlawed - just too dangerous. The motel was recently purchased by Best Western and the architecture is 50/60's style Florida motor court with all the faults inherent in that style. There is an ice-machine and soda machine - that's it. No breakfast either. If you do stay there I can recommend the no-frills breakfast joint next door called "Mary's". Good breakfast, good price.

Room Tip: We stayed in 204 and it was peaceful and close to the patio area overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayfront, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear James: Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not making your stay wonderful. As the leader of our Best western team, it my job ensure that all guests have the best stay possible. We hear you loud and clear and will take the proper steps to improve on the area you mentioned. Thank you! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bayfront

Address: 16 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Bayfront 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that’s ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and BookIt.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.